We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, cool style.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grassmarket Hotel to your Saves list
Grassmarket Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 - 96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Save 10%
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, cool style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've thoroughly enjoyed our visit at the Grassmarket. It is NOT your typical hotel... More eclectic style and set-up, but it's fun! Breakfast in the adjoining (and connected) pub next door is good, with some variety, which is nice by the end of a 2 week trip. Location is hard to beat. Turned in the car before we arrived and have been able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We'll come back when we're back in town!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Lizard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your stay with us :-)

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fun and quirky style, and I am glad that you had a great time with us.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    285
    89
    45
    23
See reviews for
104
291
85
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arrived early for check in and left our cases. This was fine except they had no baggage receipts. We returned later and were give room key card, This did not work 3 times after being re-programmed. Eventually we required a standard room key which also didn't work!!! . On all these occasions no-one came up to the room to assist.
The room itself maybe 'quirky' but small and the blind was pulled purposely as our outlook was the back yard.
We were bed and breakfast which was served next door in Biddy Mulligan's Bar. We gave ourselves an hour for Breakfast as we were getting a train. We ordered tea which had to be re- ordered as the first waitress forgot and we got it after 15 minutes. We ordered breakfast and waited a further 35 minutes BEFORE GIVING UP. . i spoke to the manager who like the rest of his staff just looked at me blankly and shrugged his shoulders.
I related what had happened to the hotel receptionist who also ignored the issue and charged us for a breakfast we did not get !!
Thankfully we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Walter,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us; we appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, and please let me assure you that the experience you have described is not one I wish my guests to have.
Firstly, let me apologise for the issues with the keycard for your room, and I am shocked that the receptionist on duty did not offer you any further assistance with this matter. I have reiterated the importance of this to my team, and I am disappointed that they did not step up on this occasion. I am equally shocked that they were not more helpful upon check out, and I would ask that you contact me directly at the hotel (Grassmarket@centraledinburghhotels.co.uk) in order to refund the erroneous breakfast charge.

I am deeply distressed by your breakfast experience at Biddy Mulligans and I will be addressing this directly with the General Manager of the bar.

I am sorry that we did not get a chance to resolve this in person during your stay, and I would like to thank you again for your comments.

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a very smart hotel. The decor is funky and still, essentially Scottish. The goodies are very good.
It was a reasonable price for such a great location but came without breakfast (cost of breakfast was too, too much) However, one rather major girn - a light in my room was flickering and sparking; the light was INSIDE the shower stall. I mentioned it twice, not as an inconvenience but as a DANGER. Nothing was done in the two days I spent there.
The attached Biddy Mulligans bar & restaurant is good - just too dear for breaking your fast.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the more light will get in as it is set in a traditional Edinburgh close, back room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Siusaidh,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and our unusual Scottish décor! I am sorry to hear of the delay it took to fix the light in your shower room (it turned out to be a faulty bulb) and I had instructed the reception team to offer to move you rooms; I can only apologise that this message was not conveyed to you during your stay.

With Biddy Mulligans having recently reopened, we appreciate all comments on the breakfast offering and I have passed yours onto their management team.

Thank you again for your comments, and we do hope to see you again on your return to
Edinburgh!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We parked in the Street and went inside to check in and asked if the car would be ok whilst we did this, to which the answer was yes.

On booking in the Lady at the desk told us that Expedia had cancelled our 2 rooms for 2 nights and they would FIT us in for one night but could not guarantee the following night?

When we asked how this could possibly be as we had already paid for 2 rooms for 2 nights?

The lady was very rude and said she doesn't know why Expedia had cancelled our rooms but they had.

We asked where we could park the hire car and was told in the street or at the public car park but could not give us directions.

When we went back out to park the car we found a 60 pound parking fine on the car.

We went up to the room and rang Expedia to ask what was going on as we had already paid for the 2 rooms. We were told that you did not cancel them and promptly rang the Hotel to sort it out.

We went back to the desk and they told us they had miraculously found our reservation, with no apology. although they offered to pay the parking fine, which I hope they honour. The lady was very rude and really didn't care about how we felt.

It caused us a lot of stress at the time as we had just come from a long haul flight and did not need the rudeness of the lady at the desk.

The Hotel was a mess with the corridors full of laundry, vacuum cleaners and rubbish.

I would never recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Holidaze,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, we appreciate all feedback we receive.

I can only apologise for the confusion that arose during your check-in, and I understand how frustrating and stressful you found it to be. Due to a glitch in the booking system your reservations were registered as cancelled by the agent which, after allocating your party rooms and contacting the agent directly, then transpired not to be the case. I am sorry you found the receptionist on duty to be rude and unhelpful, please let me assure you that this is not the standard of customer service I expect from my staff and I will be discussing it fully with her and taking the appropriate action.

I would also like to apologise for the confusion that has arisen surrounding the parking; we recommend that guests park in the pay & display bays on the street or in the secure NCP carpark located a 5 minute walk away, unfortunately there are no free parking facilities located in this area of Edinburgh. I can assure you that your £20 parking ticket was paid for on the day as I did so personally from my own account when it was brought to my attention.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope you still enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in a double room. We really loved the way it was set up; they made excellent use of the space. The TV was on the wall at the bottom of the bed and there was a window at the other end. The location could not have been better. We had a great meal next door at Maggie Dickson's and it was not a long distance to make our way to after the Literary Pub Tour.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi MaryLouise,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us :-)

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the set-up and décor of your room; we do try to make best use of the space available in our quirky building!

I am glad to hear you made use of our fantastic location and you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh.

Hope to see you again soon!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiftwater, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Grassmarket Hotel is a fun place. I stayed there on two separate occasions on the same trip. It is funky and the management has a sense of humor with funny sayings posted in unexpected locations. The stay wasn't perfect; there were a few things wrong with the room, and housekeeping didn't always supply enough of everything needed (TP), but it wasn't serious enough to give the place a bad review. There are ample pubs and restaurants wthin steps of the hotel. Bottom line is: I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are there on a weekend, request a quiet room in the back. The neighborhood is a hotspot for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi LiveToTravel,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed both your stays with us, and would be happy to come back again :-)

Thank you for bringing the issues with your room to my attention, and I will make sure to address them with the housekeeping team.

Hope to see you again soon!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the centre of Edinburgh you do not need to have a car as so easy to walk to everywhere. The hotel is different from usual city hotels very quirky and a lovely experience. Bedrooms are very different and very clean well equiped. Have stayed here before and would recommend it

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Evelyn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket Hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you back to stay again, and I do hope you enjoyed it just as much as the first time round!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the quirky aspects of our place, and I am looking forward to seeing you again soon :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94 - 96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from Cosy (single room), Comfy(standard twin/double) and Comfy Plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassmarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.