We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsburgh House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsburgh House to your Saves list
Kingsburgh House
2 Corstorphine Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HN , Scotland (Murrayfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed in the Campbell room with a magnificent 4 poster. On arrival Andy produced coffee and biscuits and chatted with us offering advice on good restaurants in the city.

We left the car in the car park and took the bus, from right outside, to the city centre: a cab back after dinner wasn't expensive.

Breakfast was huge: Andreona produced a meal we simply could not finish, which was a shame as it was so lovely.

We felt very welcome and comfortable: please don't stay when we are visiting as we don't want to find that there is no room at the inn.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    11
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
115
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Kingsburgh and it certainly lived up to the rating. Room was wonderful, breakfast wonderful and hospitality wonderful! Really convenient for city centre - bus stop just up the street. Really loved the extra touches ie decanter of sherry, chocolates and the fabulous selection of toileteries. Have already booked a second visit!

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed recently for 2 nights in May '08 and had a very relaxing and pleasent stay at the Kingsburgh House. The owners were very helpful, breakfast was fantastic and the accomodation was very clean, well presented and comfortable.

Nice touches to the rooms were a decanter of sherry, bottles of water each morning, chocolates and plenty of toiletries. We even had a free upgrade to a Four-poster room on arrival which my girlfriend thought I had done on the quiet but that was just down to Alan so I couldn't take the credit for that!

Only 10 mins on the bus to the centre of Edinburgh which cost just over a £1 each way. Private parking was good to have at the Guest House.

There is plenty to do and see in Edinburgh that 2 nights was probably not enough, well worth a visit.

A recommended place to stay just out of the busy City centre.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and we felt very well looked after.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I had the enormous pleasure of spending some time with my disabled mother at Kingsburgh Hotel.
Warm & caring welcome with an immediate feeling of being invited into a luxurious home. Lived up to 5* status decor & attention to detail. Breakfast fresh quality food perfectly cooked

Thank you Andreona & Andy we hope to repeat the experience soon

  • Liked — warm caring approach from owners - quality accomodation
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

My wife took me to Edinburgh for my birthday and mentioned it to the owners of the Kingsburgh when she booked. On our arrival I was presented with a card and a wrapped box of (delicious) chocolates. Only a small thing but typical of the perfect personal touch we found from start to finish.

Rooms really comfortable and nicely furnished, wide range of toiletries and great variety of teas and coffee (inc decaff), even a decanter of sherry sitting on the dressing table.

There is parking in front of the house so no worries there, it's a 20 min walk, a bus ride or a £6-8 taxi into town.

The food may only be breakfast but it's so tasty and there's so much on offer it can cover lunch too. We had a full Scottish breakfast on the saturday morning, including a delicious haggis, and didn't feel like eating again until the evening despite walking round the hills of Edinburgh all day.

All in all this was the best guest house either of us have ever stayed in. It's luxurious but it never feels formal or uncomfortably posh, just friendly and nothing is too much for the owners to make you feel welcome.

  • Liked — Personal touch
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

It was the most relaxing and beautiful B&B I've ever stayed in. First class service, a beautiful room with a personal touch. It was my husband's birthday and I wanted to take him somewhere romantic and lovely, which the B&B fulfilled and surpassed. I look forward to my next visit!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

We stayed at the Kingsburgh during our Honeymoon in 2001. We will always remember it as a fantastic experience. Just a short bus ride to the castle, and the staff was so kind. We were hesitant to stay in a "bed and breakfast," but Kingsburgh House felt more like a small boutique hotel than a typical bed and breakfast. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to any traveler!

  • Liked — Service, room
  • Disliked — distance from the city
  • Stayed June 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsburgh House

Address: 2 Corstorphine Road | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 6HN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingsburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsburgh House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsburgh House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsburgh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.