We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful guest house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adria House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adria House to your Saves list
Adria House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #11 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful guest house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at Adria House with our Russian friends for 3 nights. The décor of the guest house was beautiful and everything was immaculate. We were very pleased with our rooms and the breakfast was excellent. Eddie and Maria made us very welcome and we would not hesitate to stay there again. The location is very convenient to Princes Street and also to fine restaurants and shopping in the New Town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
166
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Adria House was a perfect start to our family's visit to Scotland. After an overnight flight, we arrived at Adria House to drop our luggage before setting off to explore Edinburgh. Maria graciously offered a rest in the lounge, and a tray of tea and biscuits soon followed. Exactly what was needed after a night of travel. The room itself was spacious and immaculate. Being close to Calton Hill allowed for a short walk to watch the sun set over the city. Walkable distance to all attractions, including Holyroodhouse. Learned a bit about Georgian architecture from Edward during breakfast; obviously a great sense of pride and love for their beautiful B & B. If we are ever able to visit Edinburgh again, Adria House will be our first choice for lodging!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Adria House for four nights in late June/early July for my birthday, and it was absolutely lovely, thanks to the careful attention and excellent service provided by the brother-sister team who run this family B&B.

Our room, on the top floor at the front of the property, was spotless and comfortable, with a private, lock-and-key bathroom right across the hall. The bathroom was a nice departure from what we are used to as Americans traveling in Europe, with a huge shower, plenty of room, and great water pressure, too! They also provided soft bathrobes. The room had its own sink for our convenience, as well.

The breakfast was very tasty and served in a beautifully decorated, green breakfast room overlooking window boxes filled with flowers. We were happy to be given take-away breakfasts of yogurt, cheese, fruit, granola bars, and juiceboxes on the mornings when we had early appointments and had to leave before the hot breakfast was served - so thoughtful! The sitting room was also well appointed, with a flatscreen TV, gas fire (in summer!), big windows, and comfortable antique furniture, along with 24/7 internet access on a handy laptop. We also enjoyed the excellent, free wifi through the house.

Adria House is well located for walking all around central Edinburgh, both to the Royal Mile (~15 minutes) and within the New Town. It's only a ten minute walk from Waverley Station. We made the trip to the Castle and back about four times, and it was a wonderful walk. There is also a large park behind the property, with access on a public footpath just at the bottom of the block; the park has huge, 18th and 19th century monuments, an observatory, and a breathtaking view of both the Firth and Castle hill. Scurry down the other side of the steep hill path to be right back on Princes Street!

We would highly recommend the Adria House for anyone visiting Edinburgh. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stathelle, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent one night at Adria House, and will definitely be back. This is the best place I have stayed in Edinburgh. The owners are very nice, the breakfast is excellent and the location is ideal. The room and en suite bathroom were clean, well maintained and very comfortable.
I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights in June, and was very pleased with our choice.
Building and decoration is very impressive, as was our bedroom.
Breakfast was excellent. Eddie and Maria were lovely hosts, couldnt have asked for more.
would recommend to anyone staying in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: we had a wonderful garden view, very peaceful and pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a good find this place was. A fantastic property within very easy walking distance of the centre. Family run, with a very interesting history, it is truly impressive, and has been maintained to a really high standard. Our room was fabulous. We felt very welcome here, and wished we could have stayed for longer (it was the last night of a cycling tour, and accommodating our tandem wasn't a problem) so we will have to return. Very good value, particularly for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent four nights in this excellent B&B and liked everything. Very nice owners, a true family run B&B, fantastic building with very high ceilings, good location just under Carlton Hill, good breakfast, wifi and everything. Second time here, and I am sure we'll be back. Great place, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Address: 11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.