We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adria House

Save Saved
You added Adria House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adria House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST RATES DIRECT
Ranked #11 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Skipton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a good find this place was. A fantastic property within very easy walking distance of the centre. Family run, with a very interesting history, it is truly impressive, and has been maintained to a really high standard. Our room was fabulous. We felt very welcome here, and wished we could have stayed for longer (it was the last night of a cycling tour, and accommodating our tandem wasn't a problem) so we will have to return. Very good value, particularly for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
145
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent four nights in this excellent B&B and liked everything. Very nice owners, a true family run B&B, fantastic building with very high ceilings, good location just under Carlton Hill, good breakfast, wifi and everything. Second time here, and I am sure we'll be back. Great place, highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at Adria House for 7 nights with my sister, and wow. It was one of the best, if not the best place I stayed at on the whole trip. Ed and Maria are delightful. Breakfast superb. We left early one morning for a day tour, I let Maria know the night before and she had a packed breakfast/lunch ready for us the next morning. Location was great, we spent 6 out of 7 days in the city area and not once did we catch public transport. Walked the Royal Mile, visited Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh Castle, Calton Hill and surrounds all from the B&B.

Room Tip: Ground floor (#5 or 8 I think) that has the external bathroom. It is a huge room (double & singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent two nights in this very nice B&B. Great location, nice owners, super breakfast, comfortable high ceiling room and a beautiful garden view. Easy to walk anywhere and a short walk up the hill to amazing views of the city and Arthur's Seat. You will love your stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very welcoming hosts. The B&B is very central but set back from the main road so there is little noise. Breakfast is served until half 9 which is great if you like a lie in. Look forward to returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Double en-suite has huge bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Normally I would give a wide berth to anything that described itself as "a family run bed and breakfast" - but the Adria House is truly unique and exceptional. A quick look through all of the other reviews will give you all of the plus points. Credit for this impressive list has to go in large part to the brother and sister who run the place, and who do so with true dedication to both the building and to ensuring the needs of their guests are meet.

Having searched for some criticism (and not found any) I will add the only disappointment that I experienced during my stay: the sausages at breakfast seemed to be more filling than meat, but perhaps that is the way they like their sausages in that part of the world.

I would recommend the Adria House to almost anybody - if I am ever staying in Edinburgh again it will be at the very top of my list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

a couple of years ago, I just had to stay there again! Edward and Maria are simply lovely and their guesthouse is immaculate and stunung. The rooms are spacious, well decorated and extremely clean. Located a few minutes walk from the train station, shops, and restaurants it is very convenient. The breakfast is delicious and sets you up for a wonderful day. I have seen many B&B's and this is right at the top of the list. Stay here while in Edinburgh and you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Address: 11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill , New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.