We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adria House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adria House to your Saves list
Adria House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Driffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“1st Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Edward and Maria gave us a warm welcome and excellent hospitality during our recent stay. Accomodation is in a beautifully maintained house, tastefully decorated and very spacious and comfortable.
Plenty of choice for breakfast, nicely cooked and very friendly, efficient service.
Edward and Maria were happy to make recomendations and give directions for places to eat or visit.
Adria House is set in a very attractive area, quiet but close to the centre of things.

Room Tip: Choose a garden-facing room for complete peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
161
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
armstrong bc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Dont look any further for a place to stay in Edinburgh.
I've spent 60 nights in B&B's throughout the UK in the last couple of years This is easily the most beautiful B&B I've stayed in.
I don't understand why it has a three star rating. I've stayed in 5 star B&B's that are not nearly as beautiful and friendy. Do yourself a favour. Stop surfing the "places to stay" in Edinburgh and book into the Adria. I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Sackingen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in Edinburgh for two days and were absolutely thrilled with our choice of accommodation. The Adria House is a most beautiful house, decorated with love to detail. The B&B is situated at the "back" of Calton Hill, so very central to Edinburgh New Town and the Royal Mile. The neighborhood is very quiet and seemed absolutely safe to us. There are lots of restaurants, bars and a cinema just around the corner. Maria and Edward were super friendly and could answer every question we had or could have thought of.
We would recommend this B&B to all travelers to Edinburgh and would by all means choose the same place for another trip to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My son and I were here on a golf vacation for 10 days. We stayed with them first 2 nights and last 2 nights. Could not have asked for more gracious or helpful hosts than Eddie and Maria. Room was double and single bed with en suite in room. Everything was clean and in very good condition, breakfasts were very satisfying. HIGHLY Recommend.

Room Tip: Call well in advance as they are almost always booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were travelling with our 2 year old daughter and booked the family room on the ground floor. The ceilings are double height and the room is beautifully decorated and very spacious - as well as the double bed and the single for my daughter there was a sofa / seating area too. The bathroom was not en suite (they do have an en suite family room but it wasn't available when we booked) but was only for our use and just across the corridor. Eddie and Maria are fantastic, friendly hosts who made us feel very welcome and breakfast, whilst simple, was comprehensive (juice, cereal - inc porridge, and cooked) and the perfect start for our day in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed at Adria House last Friday (this was my second time), and it's still absolutely top class. The bulding is stunning and so full of character, the atmosphere is lovely too. It's all very elegant just like the owners Edward and Maria who's hosting skills are just perfection. The rooms are huge and immaculate, beds really comfy and the breakfast is fab too. Can't wait to come back and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else whilst in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

DO NOT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IN EDINBURGH!
I am so glad i chose this b&b when deciding where to stay, what a gem. My wife and i have just
had five wonderful days up in edinburgh and we enjoyed every minute, and a big part of the whole experience is the place you stay at and Edward and Maria made that a fantastic one at
the Adria House. I can't fault this place on anything, so look at the many great reviews left by
others and book yourself a break up in edinburgh at this wonderful house

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Address: 11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill , New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.