We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adria House to your Saves list
Adria House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Absolutely perfect experience, great location, spacious and clean rooms in great shape. Owner/Manager was extremely friendly and helpful, my boyfriend forgot his belonging in our room and I got in touch at which point the manager shipped it straight to my house. Breakfast was a treat and the price is an absolute bargain! Would recommend it to everyone and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
161
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a converted mansion type guest house with rooms overlooking a very quiet and picturesque back yard. Rooms are clean and spacious with a large bathroom. Maria really knows the hospitality business and takes care of every consideration/need for you. Breakfast was great and made to order in a amazing dining room. The location as other reviewers mention is terrific for sightseeing and exploring the city. Would highly recommend this as a home base if staying for several nights in Edinburgh. Would certainly recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor room, it was very quiet, no worries about noise. If travelling with children, st...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Adria House in mid November 2012. It is a hotel in a converted mansion and the room we had was roomy, clean and had a large bathroom. We overlooked the backyard and it was very quiet - no outside noise or noise from other rooms could be heard.

If you are flying into Edinburgh, take the Airlink bus from the airport to Waverly train station right in downtown Edinburgh. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the station - but I would suggest taking a taxi from the train station as dragging suitcases up the hill would have been quite a lot of work.

However, once you are checked in, it's about a 15-20 minute walk to the Royal Mile and the castle. New town is only 10 minutes away. Its in a nice location on a quieter side street and makes a great home base for exploring Edinburgh.

The breakfast served in the morning was good too. Breakfast was served from 7:30-9:30 and you could get assorted juices, a full hot breakfast (egg, bacon, sausage, toast, tomato) along with hot porridge, toast, cold cerals, fruits, yogurts, coffee and tea. You could order as much or as little as you wanted.

The hotel is run by a brother and sister who were very helpful with any questions we had. They had maps and would point out attractions, restaurants and any other things we had questions about. They also called taxi's for us and were helpful in supplying extra blankets and soap when we requested.

Overall, we had a great experience and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikoBirt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 days and nights as the lovely Adria House. The location is great, close enough for the sights and shops but not too close. It's only about a 5 minute walk if you come out of the hotel and turn left down the hill. Come out of the hotel and turn right to for a leisurely walk to the Royal Mile with plenty of shops and if you keep going on the same road you will eventually reach the Castle. The hosts have plenty of information and tips. The breakfast is wonderful.
We stayed in room 5 at the top, a lovely double room with a massive en-suite bathroom with a large shower and a bath.
I would recommend this location and hotel to anybody.
We caught the 'Airlink' bus from the airport which takes you to Waverley Bridge right in the heart of the city (It only costs £3.50 each and takes about 20-25 mins) A taxi costs about £20.
All in all a great City and we really enjoyed our time there. We stayed in November and would love to go back in the summer. Oh yes, The Portrait Gallery was great too and there are some great places to eat. I can heartily recommend 'The Conan Doyle' pub and the food is great.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is quiet. We stayed in Room no.5. It has a great en-suite ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent two nights at the Adria and would happily have stayed for ten times as long!
The location is excellent, on a quiet and pleasant street near the centre of town (Princes street, Royal mile etc.) and for those who don't like walking there are plenty of buses nearby.
The house is immaculate and the rooms are beautifully appointed. There is a lovely, welcoming lounge with internet (wifi reception was great througout the house) for the rainy afternoons.
Edward and Maria are perfect hosts and Maria even "stood guard" to watch for nasty traffic wardens while we brought our luggage in from the car (parking is a little complicated .... there's lots of space but not all spaces are actually available for parking. Still you don't really need a car in Edinburgh anyway - use public transport).
Breakfast was excellent - lots of choice, nicely prepared and generous portions.
All in all, an excellent B&B. We're glad we (once again) trusted tripadvisor member recommendations!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor (4,5,6) are lovely, but be aware that there is no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We (two mid twenty couples) stayed at the adria house for 3 nights in November 2012. The place is as levely as you can see in all the pictures posted by others. The place is family run and Edward an Mary are really caring about their guests. It feels more like a home than just a place to sleep. If we come back to Edinburgh one day, there is no question about where to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms without bathroom inside have dedicated bathrooms outside just three steps away that you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We only spent two nights in Adria House but Maria and Eddie treated us like family. The B&B Is located on the Royal Terrace which is close to the train station, shops and great restaurants. You won't find a better place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Address: 11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill , New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.