We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a two day trip away from the hullabaloo of a busy family life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Park Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Ferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH6 4NN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #114 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Took a two day trip away from the hullabaloo of a busy family life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took a two day trip away from the hullabaloo of a busy life and have to say, this hotel shone for its friendly staff and service and this venue didn't disappoint, in fact the only things I could criticize it for is there wasn't a soap dish in the new shower! and possibly secondary double glazing to lessen the road traffic noise - but this didn't affect my better half so it must just be me :)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this on the journey from Inverness to Edinburgh when deciding to break up our journey. The photos make it look super nice.....and it's not bad... it's just maybe not as super nice as the photos make it look. Quite small rooms. Nicely decorated, clean bathroom, really friendly staff and good value for money. My boyfriend left his coat there, and they are sending it down to Brighton for us.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Small ran hotel with 10 bedrooms. Rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel. The hotel has a lovely bar and the food is great. The hotels location is the Leith District just a 10 minute bus ride to Princess and it was £1.50 for any journey. But stop only a few metres from outside the hotel. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

I can’t say much more as this was bought before Christmas as a gift for the in laws.

The deal was from Living Social and included:

• 2 nights stay for 2 people (Sun-Thur and arrive by 31 March 2015)
• Breakfast both mornings
• Dinner on the first night

All at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We had our Wedding here on Fri, with everything being brilliant. Both our meals and buffet food where not only tasty, but served on time with generous portions and friendly waiting staff. Disco at night was well organised too with the DJ being very helpful and accommodating towards our wishes. Rooms are not only comfortable, but nice as well! We will certainly be back and couldn't recommend Victoria Park hotel highly enough to anyone thinking of either visiting or having a celebration there! Special thanks to Marya for all her help and support organising our day!

Mr and Mrs Cunningham

Ps thank you for arranging the eclipse too!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I bought this deal on living social and what a bargain it was . lovely large room with a bath
very comfy bed and very clean . ideal location if you do not want to stay in the centre of Edinburgh ( 10 mins in heavy traffic to Princes street from bus stop just around corner from hotel ) also very good for royal yacht etc . would definately stay again .

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Had a very pleasant two night stay here. Very welcoming staff, comfortable beds and good food. Nicely situated,easy walk to the Ocean Terminal and bus (no11) for Princes Street at the corner. Ate in the hotel both nights and very much enjoyed what we had, pup grub fare but nonetheless good quality ingredients well cooked and presented. Breakfast was also very nice but did find the coffee thermos only served lukewarm coffee though I am sure that would have been remedied had I mentioned it at the time. We only really dealt with the female staff and found Justina particularly friendly and helpful. All in all had a nice time would like to re visit and would recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Had a room facing the front of the hotel which overlooked the park, road was busy but not bad enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We stayed for two nights monday and tuesday just gone . the hotel is a work in progress with some areas newly decorated and others needing attention . our room was clean, big and beds comfortable and nice new towels and ample shower room . limited menu for dinner but for a small hotel this was adequate , quality ok . breakfast was the usual standard fare and good except for the bacon which was not cooked properly . thermos flasks for one with ready made coffee and other with hot water for make your own tea . people can decide if this is good enough for them .
Service on arrival was great and same italian girl attended to us evening meal . she was excellent , just wish all the other staff could have been as professional .
Finally ( and i have thought hard about writing this , but aged over sixty and this is the twenty first century , i cannot let it pass ) . on the second night we ate elsewhere and came back relaxed and happy . my wife went to bed to read and decided to go and have a drink in the Gosford bar and watch the football . the first evening as i said the service was great .
On the second evening ( tuesday )there was a different barmaid . she seemed busy putting away glasses etc. so i waited . in the meantime another couple came and stood at the bar . when she was ready to serve she served them first without asking who was next . fine . i waited . having served them and me stood in front of her still waiting , she asked out loud who's next ? someone ordered a drink speaking from behind over my shoulder . i said the first thing that came into my head " i must be invisible " immediately the bloke apologised . the barmaid did not acknowledge my remark let alone apologise , and continued to serve him ! there were several more people in the queue behind me who witnessed this . this is not incompetence but racial prejudice .having lived in the u.k.since the age of eight and worked as a doctor in the n.h.s for thirty six years , i do not deserves this . to be treated like as second class citizen .
It gets you down ......

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Park Hotel

Address: 221 Ferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH6 4NN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Park House Hotel in Edinburgh is ideally situated within the vibrant and cosmopolitan Leith district, the area is steeped in local history and boasts a variety of attractions including shopping at Ocean Terminal where the Royal Yacht Britannia is docked, Inverleith Park and The Royal Botanic Gardens. A five minute bus journey will take you into Edinburgh city centre to tourist attractions such Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, The Whisky Heritage Centre, Dynamic Earth as well as shopping on Princes Street and experiencing the old town on The Royal Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Victoria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Park Edinburgh
Hotel Victoria Park
Victoria Park Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.