We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time bad experience with Premier Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh East
228 Willowbrae Rd., Edinburgh EH8 7NG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #63 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time bad experience with Premier Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the worst night I ever had with Premier Inn network , I do use them a lot as we have business account with them.
First of all tiny rooms and they do need refurbishment ,could hardly see TV due to it size , was very hot outside and I do understand they do not have air con but when I told them it is extremely hot in my room about 30 degrees Celsius I was told there is fan in my room , when I check it I wasn't sure whether to laugh or cry as size of it was just ridiculous and was not giving any air at all! I wasn't even able to fully open window and staff never mentioned that they can unlock them if I want.There is no lift in this hotel I had very heavy bags and it was nightmare to get into 2nd floor.
Food wasn't nice when asked for medium stake I was given one full of blood.
Overall wouldn't recommend to anyone and to be honest I expected more from this hotel after previous experience with them really shame as I will look to change places I am staying in.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can for this price you can get better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh East, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    80
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
79
89
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having previously stayed at this hotel we specifically asked to have a room away from the kitchen's extractor fan - we stayed in room 107 and was reasonably quiet which enabled us to have a good nights sleep. We ate in the restaurant on one night for a family gathering and were well looked after. The only reservation was the loud music played in the bar which made it difficult to hold a conversation.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the kitchen's extractor fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, Essex, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose this Inn as it was close to where friends live, previously we had stayed at the Inn in Leith. Willowbrea Inn is an old stone-built house and our bedroom was musty, possibly through the outside stone attracting moisture and not properly drying out. We could not fault Premier Inn's usual standard of service. We would not go to Willowbrea again, always Leith as we did once again last May.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh East, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms clean and tidy, staff friendly and food very good. Recommended.

Good location with frequent bus service into Edinburgh, only about a 15min bus ride into city center,

Large car park
Taxi fare around £8 from city.



  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Premier Inn provide a consistent quality throughout all of the hotels we have visited. I was once again part of a 13 strong biking club and from the first contact at Reception to the final checkout we received a professional and courteous service. For what many consider is a budget hotel they surpass our expectations. The receptionist took time to listen to our needs and the bar staff were attentive. The waitress in the restaurant for breakfast was always on hand to help and make sure we were looked after.

Although not normally a problem we were once again allowed to take our bikes into our room overnight. A big help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during our tour to Scotland, rooms and hotel were very clean and comfortable for stay. Location was great for passengers travelling at airport. I would recommand it for travellers with day journey as its quite relaxing and peaceful.

Good value of money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the worst ever hotel as far as Premier inn is concerned. Rooms are cold n there is no lift, away from city centre.. only good thing is there is a tesco next to it..i would not recommend this hotel . pay 10-20 extra and get a better hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Edinburgh East, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh East

Address: 228 Willowbrae Rd., Edinburgh EH8 7NG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.