We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh East
228 Willowbrae Rd., Edinburgh EH8 7NG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #63 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bury St Edmunds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

i have just spent the night at this hotel, and found the staff to be friendly, helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble, and helped me with buses taxis etc to get into edinburgh. very close to the centre and the bus costs just £1.40 to travel anywhere (single) or £3.40 to travel all day . meal at restraunt was lovely and the service the best for ages.

Room Tip: stay at the back of the hotel, near car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    79
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
78
89
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEVON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely warm and friendly welcome from the young lafdy at the reception. She also rang upto our room to ask if we had settled and was there anything we needed, never had this service before, much appreciated. She got another quilt as i was feeling a little cold, she also offered us another heater if we needed it, which we didnt. Great location for City Centre on good bus route, only took 10 mins to get into the City Centre. Restaurant very pleasant, we had a meal one of the evenings which was very relaxed and staff very helpful, we stayed until 12 midnight and did not feel rushed at all. Also good free parking facilities. Made use of the Tesco Express right next door also nice chip shop across the road. Bar staff at the Beefeater were happy to give us a couple of wine glasses as we bought a bottle of wine at the tesco express next door. Would stay at this Premier Inn again when visiting Edinburgh. Quiet apart from building work during the day which you dont mind as usually out and about, will be lovely when reception is finished.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for my husbands birthday. 1 mile away from city centre woth a bus stop 2mins walk away costing £2.80 return or £3.50 for a day rider. Cheaper than driving and finding a car park which will be expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Was welcomed by a very friendly lady at reception arrived early to drop bags off but were offered the room early as it was ready. Her customer service os a credit to the company, a rarity these days! Building work going on but we were informed of this. Hotel is 10-15 mins by bus to Edinburgh city centre. Shop next door pub on site. Had a great stay at a bargain price many thanks

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Room was spacious and basically decorated. All twin rooms in a premise are one double bed and one single bed. Bathroom is of good size and clean. However, we found the room wall at this hotel is incredibly thin as we were told by the staff that guests who were in the room below us made a complaint about our loud music, despite the fact that we literally kept our TV volume low in a merely audible level at all time. Apart from that, the staff at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. One of them gave us a recommendation about a good place to dine in town which we followed and found it literally great. The location, however, is not so great as it is not located in the city centre - wouldn't recommend to those who do not have their own transportation.

Room Tip: Request a family room if you want more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights before heading off on holiday. Had booked well in advance, so was able to get the two nights for £29 each. The reception staff are incredibly efficient and friendly. The only down side was that the room was cold when we arrived and it didn't heat up well. There's no heater in the bathroom either, so that was particularly chilly!

We ate in the adjoining Beefeater one night and thought that the service was great, as were the menu choices too. Would go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff both on reception and in the restaurant are the friendliest staff of all the premier inns we have stayed at, the food was the usual standard of a beefeater, good tasty and hot.

The room however was not up to the usual premier inn standard. The room was cold on arrival-it was December and the max temp was only 23c. I feel the cold and had to ask for an extra heater, which was provided. The matress was very hard, thin and uncomftable and the bedding was more suited to summer temps-not Scotland in December!

Our room was right above the main entrance-no 115, I would not reccomend this room as we were constantly disturbed by the front entrace doors slamming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh East

Address: 228 Willowbrae Rd., Edinburgh EH8 7NG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.