We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definatley stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Lauriston Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Lauriston Place to your Saves list
Premier Inn Lauriston Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DG, Scotland (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #39 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sunderland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“definatley stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Recently stayed in the hotel at end of July and as a party of 8 (5 adults and 3 kids) you couldnt fault the hotel, the staff were friendly but not too friendly (If you know what i mean). The rooms are clean and the beds are so comfy, the hotel and its facilities were exactly what you needed for exploring Edinburgh, couldnt fault it at all, no smelly bathrooms and everything spotless, when we stayed there was a large stag party but they were no bother, everyone was really nice....we would definatley book there again as its location was spot on for grassmarket and royal mile.. one piece of advice though get a taxi from Waverley train station as the walk there was definatley longer than we thought it would be. But we headed straight to the bar for a cold one, once we got there!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    422
    110
    24
    12
See reviews for
282
443
46
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Great location, great value, very clean and well equiped

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Family of 4 stayed here in mid-July for 3 nights. Location was excellent, we walked or took a tour bus to all the sites. Many good dining options also in walking distance. Did not use the restaurant - husband went out to pick up breakfast items each day.

Beds were comfortable enough. Adults had a king (two twins joined together) and kids each had a mattress on the floor. Nice flat-screen TV with large selection of channels. Toiletries provided, and extra pillows when requested.

A few negatives. As a previous reviewer mentioned, there was an unpleasant "sewer" type smell in the bathroom. Luckily it was contained when we kept the door closed. We had one night of a warm spell in Edinburgh, and the small oscillating fan provided did not help enough to cool the room. We were able to sleep, however.

On our first morning, the power went out in the hotel about 8 a.m. Husband was out at the time and said it affected most of the block. We understand this was beyond the hotels control. However, when we returned to our room much later that day, it had not been cleaned - no towels changed, no trash removal, nothing. We called the desk and they did send up towels and clean glasses within the hour. Apparently the power outage had really effected their cleaning schedule.

There is wi-fi available in the rooms and 2 computers in the lobby for guest use. Internet access is rather pricey, however. Service at the desk was very friendly. Kids were given small nylon backpacks and games at check-in.

Especially for the location and availability of family rooms, I do suggest this hotel for the leisure traveller.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Toured most of Scotland for 2 weeks with my american cousins, apart from the B&B we stayed at in Oban, this was the best of our accomadation.

Beds, were comfatable, shower and bathroom clean and a nice shower pack included

Room, clean and well maintatined

Staff were excellanct, gave good information, and advice, Edinburgh unduregoing a lot of restructuring, and many major streets closed, staff advised alternative routes

Parking poor, after 6pm to 8am free onstreet, but a all day car park nearby at a resonable rate

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Having returned to Edinburgh after quite a few years we decide to stay at the Edinburgh Premier Inn. Excellent choice. Exceptionally friendly and efficient staff, nice accomodation and the Premier breakfast was fantastic value, a must for couples with small children. Highly recommend it, 12 out of 10. In house parking would have been a plus...but then it is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

I had booked this hotel for one night. I was visiting Edinburgh with my eleven year old daughter to see a concert and do some sight seeing. Once we were in our room we checked the bathroom out. As soon as the door to the bathroom was opened, a slight smell of sewage hit us. As we were only staying for one night, and the aroma being very slight, I didn't bother complaining Also my daughter got trapped in the lift for ten minutes on her own. It wouldn't move and the guy had some difficulty opening the doors. Thankfully though he got her out with no emotional damage to herself.
The location of this hotel is brilliant. A lot of the major touring spots are within an easy distance. But the area itself seemed a little run down, with many a drunk staggering past the front of the hotel during the evening. Also be aware there are strip clubs just around the corner very near the hotel.
The beds were comfy and the pillows were nice and plump. The room was very clean as was the bathroom apart from the niggling aroma.
There was a hair dryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Also some space to hand clothing in and some shelves. A couple already had extra pillows and towels and tucked away in a corner was a large fan, for the warm weather.
Breakfast was very nice. Would have liked to have had more, but didn't bother due to the time it took for my initial order to arrive.
The staff were very helpful (especially when I told them my daughter was trapped in the lift) and friendly. I had to produce ID as I was staying with a child.
We both had a good nights sleep and weren't disturbed by traffic noise or rowdy guests.
I think my personal experience was a one off as most of the reviews here are good ones. I wouldn't stay in this particular hotel in Edinburgh again though. Due to the smelly loo and trapped daughter.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We visited The Premier Inn last weekend. It was some time ago we made our online booking for a double room. However, on arrival we were told we had a double/disabled room! The receptionist checked and confirmed that our booking had not been for disabled facilities but for standard accomodation. Much as we greatly appreciate the need that some have for this specialised accomodation, as able-bodied clientelle we were unhappy with the room and made it clear at reception. We were told it was the only room available and we had no choice in the matter other than to accept - were it not Easter vacation, we would have sought an alternative elsewhere! We thought of dining in the hotel the second night of our stay for convenience and discovered on arrival in the dining area that the restaurant grills were broken so half the menu was off! We have often stayed in the Premier Inn, Glasgow and have had an excellent experience...in comparison, Edinburgh's Lauriston Place Premier Inn was indeed a "very poor relation"!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Lauriston Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Lauriston Place

Address: 82 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Lauriston Place 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Lauriston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Lauriston Place Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Premier Inn Edinburgh
Premier Inn Lauriston Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Lauriston Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.