We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful experience, do yourself a favour and avoid this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)
91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Clifton Upon Dunsmore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dreadful experience, do yourself a favour and avoid this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The bedroom looked outdated, lights missing in the bathroom, mouldy bathtub and tiles, bathtub clogged with hair (erww), tiny TV with no remote control, room temperature kept on resetting to 17 degrees (max allowed was 23, but could not reach 23). There was no minibar, no telephone in the room and there was no room service. There was no food available after 9:45 pm. You can buy beverages from a vending machine in the hallway. They charge for WI-FI!!! The whole experience was dreadful.

Room Tip: Do not choose cheap hotels or 3 star hotels hoping they are clean and decent. Forget it, you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    99
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
95
107
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

we had an overnight stay the room was clean tidy as was the rest of the hotel but food was expencive the hotel is easy to find and very close to trains and busses and shops the pub is next door but a pint and a glassof wine £7,20

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, General Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your posative review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and comfortable. Our housekeepers are trained to the highest standard. I am very happy to hear you found our staff so helpful and I will pass on your comments to the Cuddie Brae next door. We hope to have you staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our first stay at the Newcraighall Premier Inn, after staying at many other Premier Inns in Edinburgh. The location is pretty good. Not central to the city which isn't ideal if you are a tourist but it is on a good bus route (LRT provide an excellent network of buses and routes for Edinburgh). The staff on the reception desk were exceptionally welcoming and were happy to help with any queries we had. It has a very pleasant and roomy pub/restaurant adjacent. Although, it was rather disappointing that it had stopped serving food at 5pm as it was New Year's Day. We decided to travel to the Premier Inn at Inveresk, 5 miles away where they were still serving until 9pm that night in the adjacent Craig House Brewer's Fayre. Despite this, breakfast was fantastic. As mentioned, the restaurant/pub was very roomy and furnished well. The breakfast staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast items of usual high quality and choice of Premier Inn. The rooms have not been updated to the very high standard of some, but nethertheless, was clean and comfortable and was excellent value at around £20 on this occasion. The staff really make this a premier inn we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Our reception staff are elated that you found them so helpfull and pleasant throughout your stay. We are always happy to assist in any way possible. We will also pass on your feedback to the Cuddie Brae next door, who I am sure will be delighted with such positive comments from yourself. I am so glad to hear that you were happy with the standard of the room you were provided with and hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A generally good hotel attached to a good restaurant. Highly recommend the restaurant especially for lunch or dinner. Breakfast not so good.
Booked family room. The second smaller bed for the children not very comfortable but I guess maybe for £29 a night you should not expect Claridges standards!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will also pass on your feedback to the Cuddie Brae team who I know will be happy to take all your feedback on board to help improve their customer experience. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

when first arriving here the receptionist on the front desk was very welcoming, and provided me with any information required. When first entering my room the first thing I noticed was how spacious and clean the room was. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. The only problem I had was with the shower as it had no hot water when I contacted the receptionist, she was excellent did everything she could to rectify the problem but unfortunately the water only went luke warm, however the receptionist deserves praise for her handling of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Becca, we very much appreciate you taking the time to write your kind review and we are so glad that you found our reception staff to be so helpful. We aim to assist our guests in any way we possibly can. I will also pass on your kind words to our housekeeping team who will be delighted to hear you were so impressed with the level of cleanliness found in your room. I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with hot water and our maintenance team were advised of this and all action has been taken to avoid this in the future whenever possible. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Newcraighall in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Have stayed in city centre Edinburgh hotels and paid for the privilege. Premier inn Newcraighall, if booked in advance, is often available at £29 per night, is within short walking distance of the train into Waverley, thus allowing you the freedom to have a drink and enjoy all the wonders of this fabulous city at Christmas. The "Cuddie Brae" restaurant attached offers good food at reasonable prices. Second time at this hotel and will be back again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Keith. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location ideal for you. I will also pass on your praise to the Cuddie Brae team as I am sure they will be thrilled to hear your positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here when visiting Xmas German markets and to see Thin Lizzy. Although it's about 25 miles from the Forth bridge, there's no parking problems or cost and only £3.70 return on the train and 10 mins travel time. The ticket machine on the platform only takes cards but you can pay on the train, (children free at weekends!). The room was huge as was the bed, comfortable too and controlable heating with a great power shower. Receptionists were friendly and efficient. Always good value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Alistair,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in ensuring all our guests receive the best experience they can, and we are thrilled to know that we delivered for you on this occassion. The team were particularly pleased to hear you found them friendly and efficient, and enjoyed the spacious room, comfortable bed and our excellent power showers!

We will look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh A1 Premier Inn at Newcraighall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)

Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.