We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreary & Sad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)
91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dreary & Sad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of days whilst visiting Edinburgh. The first room we were given had a terrible smell of urine coming from the bathroom, we notified reception and they changed our room straight away. The next room was better but still drab and dreary. The rooms are tired and bare and could really do with a facelift. Unfortunately our room was right next to the railway track so was very noisy. The bathroom was bare with no shampoo or soap except for the dispenser on the shower wall which didn't work anyway. We required an iron and ironing board as we were meeting friends for dinner at an upmarket restaurant, however these are few and far between as they have to be requested through the front desk and unfortunately were all in use. The staff said they would deliver as soon as one is returned however we had to leave before it was available. Wifi is £10 for 24 hours which is extortionate given most hotels provide this free of charge. The three things I would say positively about this hotel were the restaurant attached which was great for dinner and service. I probably wouldn't prepay for the premier breakfast again as you can purchase breakfast without prepaying for less. The location is great for traveling into Edinburgh City only 10 on the train which is just a few minutes walk away and last but not least, the wonderful staff who were always polite and willing to assist with every request, we couldn't fault them and they even refunded a nights stay due us being unsatisfied with the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    100
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
95
107
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Used this hotel as a basis for a trip to Edinburgh. Across the road from the station and regular trains into the city centre. Staff were lovely, with great knowledge of the area and transport links.

The bed was a bit hard (something I have found in other Premier Inns) but when I mentioned this to the staff, they arranged for extra pillows and additional bedding between the sheet and the mattress to soften things up.

We didn't have the breakfast on this occasion, so can't comment on it. Have had it on other occasions at other Premier Inns and it was fine.

Room Tip: Other people have mentioned that trains go round the back of the hotel. They do, but we had a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn

I am so glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and found the location so accessible.
Thank you so much for your kind words on our staff. I will ensure these are past on accordingly.

We would love to have you as our guests again!

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel is situated 'out of town' but very near the Fort Kinnaird shopping centre. Just across the road from Newcraighall station it is ideally placed for the 'park and train ride' service to Edinburgh Waverley (watch the times though as the trains only run every half hour or so). Very clean and comfortable it was slightly better than other Premier Lodges we have stayed in. Little touches like the curved shower curtains and hooks in the bathroom, airconditioning unit and extra big bed. Meals at the pub next door were good value and service was excellent. All in all the best Premier Inn stay we have had and better than the 4 star hotel we stayed in in Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be so clean & comfortable.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we we love to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Easy car parking easy check in and out
breakfasts bit pricey

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn.

Glad to find you liked the easy check in/out at the reception and you enjoyed the Peroni next door.

Hopefully you can join us again soon!

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Visited with friends for a day at Musselburgh races. Easy to find, just off the A1.
Standard Premier double room, clean and tidy with a King sized bed, very comfortable.
Management provided extra desk fans due to warm weather, but the air-con in the room did the job.
Rooms either face the front car park, or rail lines at the rear.
We had a rear facing room on the 2nd floor and, being a Sunday, no early trains to wake us up.Ground floor rear rooms suffer some early train noise though.
Full cooked breakfast in the adjoining Cuddy Brae pub was pre-booked ( £8 each), seems expensive, but operates as an "all you can eat" and really did set us up for the day.
Being in Scotland, porridge also available as well as continental breakfast option (£6 each).
Had an evening meal with our friends here, all had main course, desserts, with 2 bottles of wine and quite a few beers.Large menu, good selection, and we all enjoyed the food.
Cost about £60 per couple.
All in all, a pleasant nights stay and from what we saw of transport links, ideal for Edinburgh with railway station just over the road.Frequent trains, journey time 10 mins to Waverley Station.
Also had 4 winners at the races, so a great time had by all !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn Hotel & attached Restauant.

Im glad to hear that we managed to keep you cool during the hot weather spell & that you enjoyed the breakfast & food in the attached restaurant.

Well done on the win at musselburgh races! Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was one of the few hotels with reasonably priced rooms available when we got around to booking our stay for the fringe festival. We were really happy with the hotel room. It was reasonably sized, clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

As for getting to and from the hotel, it was a little more trickly than we had throught. Having read the other reviews on trip advisor we were aware that this hotel was a little way out of town but was close to a train station. Actually, the hotel is just across the road from the train station, which is perfect on the days and times that trains run. The trains run once every half an hour on weekdays and Saturdays. It takes about 10 minutes to get to Newcraighall from Waverly (the main station in Edinburgh), which is great.

However, if you're planning to stay in town late or stay around on a Sunday, the following information might also be useful. The last train leaves well before midnight. After that there are night buses, which run once an hour. These buses run right past the front of the hotel. Please note that the buses only take exact fares.

On Sundays the trains to Newcraighall do not run. However, there are buses that leave every 10 minutes, from a bus stop about 100m down the road from the hotel. These buses take about half an hour to get into town.

Failing buses and trains, taxis cost about 10-15 pounds from the centre of Edinburgh to the front door of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during the Edinburgh Festival & we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here as a family to see Edinburgh Tattoo. This hotel is in a great location with a train station directly across the road. 10 minute train journey to Edinburgh. A massive thank you to the member of staff who greeted us a 11.30 pm on Wednesday 24th. He was great, giving us train timetables etc. A great asset to this hotel. My only complaint would be the area which serves breakfast. It seemed a little dirty at times and the coffee and hot water were cold on both mornings, but food was great. Would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretAuld, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel & attached Restaurant

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh & enjoyed the Edinburgh festival.

You comments regarding out team member Adam have been passed on & he is more that happy he could have helped out on this occasion.

Within regards to your comments on the attached restaurant, I would like to apologise on behalf of The Cuddie Brae, you comments have been passed on to there management team.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest during the Edinburgh Festival & we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind Regards

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall)

Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.