We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leith weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront to your Saves list
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 - 53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Inverurie
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Leith weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

excellent well appointed Premier Inn. Liked their electronic check-in. Hotel is set in the rebuilt Leith docks area with an excellent view up the Forth with bridges in the distance. With fantastic public transport links to the centre of Edinburgh. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I’m thrilled to read that you enjoyed your weekend break with us at Edinburgh Leith Waterfront. We are very fortunate that we are able to offer such fantastic views to our guests and I am glad you were able to appreciate them. I am pleased that you liked our Quick & Easy Check in facility – it definitely speeds up the check in process allowing you to spend more time out enjoying the sights of Edinburgh. It is always rewarding to hear our hotel is excellent value and this 5 star review is testament to that. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    332
    68
    25
    13
See reviews for
276
402
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Like all Premier Inns the one in Leith is not glamorous but it is efficient, great value (especially during the Edinburgh Fringe Festival) and convenient. The Leith hotel is in a great location right on the waterfront and our room had a view of the Firth of Forth, the Forth Bridge and the lighthouse. Short distance from the Royal Yacht Britannia, walks along the waterfront and near some good restaurants. The staff were very helpful and our visit went very well - at a time when hotel rooms in and around Edinburgh were stupidly expensive and hard to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea/Firth of Forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments Ian. I am thrilled that you appreciated our fantastic location and we were able to secure you a room with a view. These stunning views are highly sought after, and we are very fortunate to be able to offer them to our guests for no extra cost. I am pleased we were able to do this for you and you enjoyed your visit with us. The team are thrilled to see you found them helpful, particularly in August when it is a busy time for us. Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked 3 weeks in advance so got a good price. Comfortable room but would have appreciated a few toiletries as there was just the liquid soap in a dispenser.
Healthy breakfast option could have been cheaper - it was the same price as the "all you can eat" option

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Jean,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with Trip Advisor and us.
At Premier Inn our brand standard is to provide Imperial Leather shower gel and Carex hand soaps in our bathrooms. This is what you had with us, and for consistency is provided in every Premier Inn bathroom. I will pass your comments onto our Brand Standards team for them to review.

We do have different price options for our Premier Breakfast. I am sorry that these were not explained clearly to you and will re-address this with the team to ensure they are explaining our breakfast offerings to our guests clearly and concisely.

I am glad that you found our rooms comfortable and good value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having stayed in a number of hotels in Edinburgh and being sorely disappointed - Premier Inn in Leith was a revelation. The Inn was immaculately clean and the staff at reception were polite courteous and very helpful. The bus stop is just across from the premier Inn, and whether it be shopping or eating out its a great location. At only £40 for a double room - Brilliant pricing, comfortable bed - what more could you want. Did exactly as it said on the tin!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments Lesley. We do appreciate that there are many hotels to choose from in Edinburgh and the team and I are thrilled your stay with us was a revelation. Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to share your comments. The reception team are delighted you found them helpful and the housekeeping team are pleased the comfort of the bed met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A great location, bus stop just across the road with buses every 10 minutes into the city center. Ocean terminal, Leith & lots of great eating places within easy walking distance. The best Premier Inn we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Jane! We are in a fantastic location and I am pleased you found the time to visit Ocean Terminal and the fantastic restaurants we have near us. We are really proud you found us the best Premier Inn you have stayed in – your comments mean a lot to the team! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have only ever stayed at this hotel in Edinburgh. We only stay in Premier Inns and this is one of the best. As we go to Edinburgh at least once a year, we have stayed here on a number of occasions and never had any issues with this Premier Inn. The location is perfect and is in easy reach of Edinburgh city centre as the number 10 bus stops right outside the hotel and goes straight into Princes street which is where we always get off. The rooms are spacious, clean, tidy and comfortable. A walk behind the Premier Inn is a must as the views are great over the Firth of Forth. The Premier Inn breakfast is great value for money and is self service so can help yourself at your own speed is always great on a morning. We will continue to stop here for the foreseeable future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Lorna,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with Trip Advisor and us.

I have shared your comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of our bedrooms with the housekeeping team and they are ecstatic you appreciate their standards. I have also spoken to the restaurant team who are delighted that you enjoyed our Premier Breakfast. It is indeed great value for money!

We are thrilled and touched by your loyalty. There are many choices of hotels in Edinburgh and we really appreciate the fact that you always stay with us. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are visiting Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a number of Premier Inn hotels with varying success but certainly found this one of the best - staff in both hotel and restaurant next door very pleasant and make you feel at home - I arrived by bus having flown into Edinburgh - the bus stop is very close although it is only one stop from Asda not two as described and unfortunately the details of where to catch buses in the city centre call it Princess Street a d not as it should be Princes Street - I'm sure that can be corrected

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronagh F, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for your lovely review – we are so thrilled to get another 5 star review, and to discover we are the best Premier Inn you have stayed in!

You did mention the spelling mistake on check out, and we have corrected this now. Thank you for bringing it to our attention – spell check possibly got the better of us on this occasion.

I would like to assure you that we are the second stop after Asda, but if the bell has not been rung, and there are no passengers waiting to get on at the first stop the buses will not always stop and drive straight past the first stop- which is possibly what happened to you. I am sorry about this. The bus drivers are usually helpful and if you let them know where you want to get off they will make sure you do not miss your stop.

Thank you again for you comments. They are truly valued and appreciated by the team, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh Leith Waterfront in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront

Address: 51 - 53 Newhaven Place, Edinburgh EH6 4TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Leith) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Edinburgh Leith Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.