We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kariba Guest House

Kariba Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kariba Guest House to your Saves list
Kariba Guest House
10 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“exceptional facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Kariba Guest House for two nights in October 2012. The location is good as it's a short walk to Haymarket, and on a sufficiently quiet street. The breakfast was superb (best bacon I have ever had), and the room was clean and very comfortable. The wireless internet worked perfectly and by all metrics this was an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    12
    12
    23
See reviews for
22
39
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a lovely stay at the Kariba. The manager was very friendly and helpful with her recommendations. The guesthouse was central with a regular bus service that stopped right outside the door. The room was clean and the breakfast was amazing, lots of variety and catered for coeliac. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfect B&B experience. Great atmosphere. Clean rooms. Good location. Yummy Breakfast. Especially the owners are super friendly and helpful. They are a great source of information.

Next time I am in Edinburgh I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Kariba was a great find. Lovely, friendly guesthouse in central Edinburgh. Close to centre- only 20 mins walking. The big downside is that the breakfast was so good that I ended up putting on half a stone!
I will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Kariba. It is a lovely, friendly guesthouse 15 to 20mins walk to the center of Edinburgh
or there is a bus stop right outside the house too!
Breakfast was generous- lots of tasty food to set us up for a day of walking around beauitful Edinburgh
Room was clean, comfy bed.
Owners are friendly
and very helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the cleanliness of my room. There was a huge layer of dust under the bed which I discovered whilst looking for an electrical socket. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. There was also a pair of shoes under there which had been left by a previous guest.And a beer bottle top too...
When I emailed a booking inquiry I got a reply saying that A room/Private bathroom and Breakfast was £45.
I DIDN'T get a private bathroom or breakfast. It wasn't included.
On the plus side I did receive a friendly welcome..and goodbye..
Will look elsewhere for my next visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We made an e-mail booking with this guest house after choosing it from the Edinburgh Guest House list. We had an e-mail confirmation of a double room en-suite with off road parking, what we got was very different!
As we approached the guest house there was a young woman sat on the house steps smoking a cigarette, we said we had a reservation with off street parking, she said we had not booked off street parking and she wanted £8!! After insisting we had booked she looked very disgruntled and said she would take it up with the owners. She then wanted £100 in cash for the room - we didnt have that amount of cash on us, so she told us we would have to go to a cash machine and get some!! To keep the peace we did but then could'nt find anybody about when we returned!
We were shown to room 11, which although we were told was not technically 'en suite'(that's because its across a corridor from the room!) We were informed it was for our sole use - except someone else had obviously been told the same thing because when we returned late that night there was urine arround the toilet bowl and the towel was dirty! The bathroom was tiny and the shower cubicle broken.
Unfortunately we were in a rush when we arrived and did'nt inspect the room thoroughly - our mistake! The room was dirty, tissues were visible under the bedside table. The twin beds, (which I'm sure having read previous reviews the owners will say they could have pushed together to make a double if we'd told them we booked a double!) were SOLID and terribly uncomfortable.
There was no information in the room as to breakfast times etc, and the young lady we met initially did neither inform us as to the whereabouts of the dinning room or times. We did however notice the sign on the back of the bedroom door asking us to point out any problems/issues (I'm guessing now, rather than vent your dissatisfaction on this forum!!)
The breakfast was acceptable. We would have made a complaint at the time however there appeared to be only the young lady serving several guests breakfast, she was very busy and we thought it unproffessional to tackle her infront of other guests.
On our experience I find it very hard to believe we stayed in the same guest house as some of these other travellers!! We spent at least half an hour discussing whether we should just drive home.
I did e-mail the owners who stated they were out of the country at the time of our stay and offered us a return stay. Our leisure time is precious and limited and I think it very unlikely we will chance another stay .

Room Tip: Room 11 is dire!! Its neither en-suite or double, and the decor is tierd!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kariba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariba Guest House

Address: 10 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kariba is a family run guesthouse 15 minutes walk to the city centre, conference centre, and castle. The rooms are bright and comfortable, with tea/coffeee facilities, colour TV and hairdryers, most rooms have ensuite bathrooms. We serve a buffet style breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, fresh ground coffee a selection of tea and a choice of cooked breakfast. We can help you during your stay by booking bus trips and providing information about our city. we look forward to your visit and hope to make it a memorable one. We offer excellent value and are a non-smoking house, and provide private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kariba Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariba Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kariba Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kariba Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.