We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths' Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths' Guest House to your Saves list
Smiths' Guest House
77 Mayfield Rd., Edinburgh EH9 3AA, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Smith's Guest House & would definitely go back. It's close to the centre and easy to use public transport, Neil is fantastic and helped us out with directions & advice on things to. Breakfast was delicious, the room was very clean and had an ensuite. Toran (the Smiths' dog) was also a hit with us, we asked to meet him & were lucky enough to have cuddles and photos as well - overall it was an excellent experience with loads of charm!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
23
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

One night stay. Great place located not far south of city centre.

Very informal, great value at £30 for an ensuite room (I actually booked the small single room with separate bathroom but was given the slightly bigger room which was nice). TV and wifi in room as well as tea / coffee making facilities.

As I was leaving very early, owner made up a breakfast tray which was more than adequate and he was also very helpful in getting my bike stored securely.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Thanks to late-rooms, I found this charming little guesthouse. I was made to feel very welcome and the single room is perfect for a solo traveller. The decor is nice and clean, blue with original wood was a great contrast, and breakfast was perfect, it filled me ready for a day in the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Smiths Guest House in July 2013 and would definitely stay there again. It provides very clean and comfortable accommodation, and an excellent breakfast. Service is prompt and friendly, and you're allowed to meet and greet Neil and Moyra's Newfoundlander (gentle, quiet, so big), if you like. Buses are within a short walk, run frequently and are great for accessing all the tourist areas. We bought bus passes for our one week visit and that worked out well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed at Smiths Guest House for one night on 13 December.

Really enjoyed my stay though it was only for a brief moment. Niel, the owner, is super friendly and doesn't trouble you with any formal documentation and what not.

Payed 30 pounds for a night.

Pros:
- Good and comfortable room with a TV and private toilet
- Great breakfast to start off the day
- I heard they have an adorable dog but didn't manage to see him cos apparently he just took a shower
- Bus stop a couple of steps from the door
- Friendly host

Cons:
- May be a bit far from the city centre but there's always the bus
- Early check out time (10am)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Smiths Guest House for two nights and we thoroughly recommend it (=would stay again when we return!). First off, if you're a dog lover, you HAVE to meet Torin the Newfoundland. He's a lovable big bear! Secondly, the breakfasts were sumptuous and tasty. Third, thick Egyptian cotton towels in the bathroom. Sure, the bathroom was on the small side but we weren't in Edinburgh to spend it in the room. Clean room, comfortable mattress, and a friendly host with great travel suggestions. What more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was an amazing find! Although a little way from the centre of Edinburgh, it's only a short walk from bus routes with a very frequent service and there are plenty of good eateries close by. Our room was equipped with all the facilities you'd expect in a 3-star hotel, but at a fraction of the price. The warmth of the welcome and the delicious hot breakfast have convinced us it's the best deal in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths' Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths' Guest House

Address: 77 Mayfield Rd., Edinburgh EH9 3AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smiths' Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths` Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Smiths' Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths' Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.