We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Garfield Guest House to your Saves list
Garfield Guest House
264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Saved the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

After scheduled work to our house in Edinburgh when terribly wrong, myself and my partner found ourselves in the position that we had to move out from our home for 6 nights. Thankfully we called the guest house and they had room to accommodate us. The room was a great size with a sofa and dining table and satellite television. During what was a really stressful time, I found myself relaxed and enjoying my stay in the guest house. Our Host, Martin ensured we had everything we could have wished for and breakfast was offered to us every morning before we rushed out the door to head to work. I would recommend the guest house to everyone. Thanks for looking after us!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    57
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
52
84
32
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed in the family room with our teenage son for two nights at the end of Janary 2011. This large, well appointed room was warm and well ordered, with an amazing view of the skyline of Edinburgh, including the castle. We were extremely impressed with the thought that has obviously been given to the needs of guests, with nice touches such as internet access, umberellas, hairdryers and ironing facilites being readily available. There are many breakfast options, from toast and cereal to full English/Scottish, which was expertly cooked using fresh premium ingredients. Martin was very welcoming and helpful, offering infomation on the local attractions. The city centre is easily reached on foot, although the guest house is also well served by local buses.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Arrived in Edinburgh un expectantly as my wife was taken to hospital. I required a place to stay and came across the Garfield who could luckily give me a room. The only one left was a large double and they were more than happy to give me a single occupancy rate - great value! The guest house is warm with friendly and helpful staff - was just what I needed. I would definitely return when hopefully under better circumstances. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We use Garfield regularly when attending hospital clinics at the Western General hospital. Due to awful snow and Perth being totally closed we were stuck for two hours and then had to take a huge detour to get to Garfield. I had phoned Martin to explain and he left our key in the hall and gave me the code for the front door so we could arrive as late as we needed to. He even offered to keep our room until we knew we could get home safely at the other end of the trip. Staff are helpful and very caring. It really is our home from home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

The guy (Martin?) is very friendly on the phone and in person. He also gave directions to some great local eateries. I didn't use them but was impressed to see numerous iron/ironing boards available for use in the lobby. The room was a nice bright room, nice and clean and well equipped with a flat screen. I don't normally eat breakfast but it was so cold outside I thought I needed the fuel. Glad I did - very nice cooked breakfast served almost instantly.

Would definitely come back to stay here next time i'm in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Martin, the host made us feel very welcome. He was very helpful with advice on the local area. Good size room, very clean and nicely decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and especially the cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Upbeat reception of the landlord Martin.
Clean modern comfortable rooms.
En-suite ,with plentiful supply of hot water.
TV ,coffee in the room with internet and radio down stairs.
Excellent breakfast with various options.
Dinning room is laminated and clean.
There is plentiful information for the tourist side of Edinburgh.
The landlord was always polite and informative.
On a whole i was always relaxed and ready for work.
A most easy and stress free stay.
Always settled in a clean comfy bedding,rose to a hot shower and breakfast.
With good humour to send me merrily of to work.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garfield Guest House

Address: 264 Ferry Rd., Edinburgh EH5 3AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide en-suite rooms, free on-street parking, free internet for guests, full traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfast. Tourist bus tours of Edinburgh leave from right outside the guest house. For our mouth watering cooked breakfasts we use high quality bacon and sausages from award winning butchers, Crombies of Edinburgh. Other produce like eggs and mushrooms are sourced locally where possible, so we can provide our guests with a delicious and nourishing start to the day. Vegetarian cooked breakfasts are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Garfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garfield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.