We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Spacious apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 to your Saves list
Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lower Gilmore Bank | on Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Spacious apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on Friday 5th December for 2 nights for my daughters 18th birthday.
Check in was quick, apartments are very spacious with one room even having ann em suite bathroom which is handy. All bedrooms have tv's.
Shops bars and restaurants a short walk away.
Only thing that let our stay down was we had a ground floor apartment which looked onto waste ground which wasn't a very nice view. But apart from that very nice apartment everything u need for a weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review you have given to our EQ2 apartments. It is great to see that overall you had a good experience with ourselves, there is some construction work going to improve the area at present. We certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh.

Best regards,

Colin Mackay,

Fountain Court team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    56
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
91
59
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights in November and found the views from the rooms overlooking the castle amazing. Everything catered for with the room and the beds were very comfortable. Only wish could of stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review you have given to our EQ2 apartments. It is great to see that you had such a positive experience and that you enjoyed the castle view. We certainly look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh.

Best regards,

Colin Mackay,

Fountain Court team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the end of October 2014 and I can't recommend it enough. The location is quiet, but only 15 minutes' walk from Princes Street. The apartment was very spacious, clean, well-equipped and well decorated. The staff were very helpful: I rang to ask if we could leave our cases after our flight (5 hours before check-in) and when we arrived to drop off the cases our room was ready. We could also leave our cases after check-out and collect them on the way to the airport.

We had a lovely view across the canal and could see the castle. The beds were very comfortable, with plenty of pillows.

The apartments are very convenient for the centre of Edinburgh. With five of us, it was pretty much the same price, and much more convenient, to take a taxi to and from the airport rather than the bus or tram.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Thank you for the great review you have given to our EQ2 apartments. It is always good to see our guests having such a positive experience during their stay, and it is especially good to see you enjoyed the view over to the castle. We look forward to welcoming you on future trips to Edinburgh.

Best regards,

Colin Mackay,

Fountain Court team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I stayed here for some time during September 2014. We had a 3 bedroom flat with nice big kitchen and living room. Kitchen was well equipped with wine glasses and all. I would say that the overall feeling of the place was very modern and nice. There were though some things that would remind you that this isn't a luxury apartment hotel but just a nice new-ish hotel with large rooms.

For example the MP3 sound system didn't work at all (I kinda get that it's nice for them to say they have one but... who needs it for real?) The frying pan was is such a condition I wouldn't use it. One night we had water dripping from the bathroom ceiling (as it turned out somebody was having a bath upstairs) and during those about 4 weeks we stayed there our boiler stopped functioning three times. Every time something like these things happened the staff was very helpful and the boiler for example got fixed straight away. So I'm not really upset but... yes, we are quite far from luxury here.

Location of the hotel was quite nice in my opinion. Lots of new office building and restaurants near by. We had a lovely castle view from our living room. There was a lot of noise during weekends and my bedroom was facing the courtyard where all the entrances are. I wouldn't want to stay on the ground floor.

If I remember correctly bus 35 services the airport.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Thank you for the review you have given to our EQ2 apartments. It is good to see that you had a positive experience overall during your stay, however it is regrettable to see that there were a couple of issues even though you found the staff to be helpful and quick to respond. We hope that we shall see you on future trips to Edinburgh.

Best regards

Colin Mackay,

Fountain Court team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

it is a good place to stay you are near all the shops and eating places and bars it has underground parking which cost £10 per day which i think is to much it should be free for the price of the rooms are to high £299 per night some are cheaper but not by much the rooms were spotless but good do with a upgrade the beds were great but the noise was to much it was 3am when i got to sleep reason being you are next door to students accommodation but that's the price you have to pay it sits on the canal which is nice when you look out the windows all in all it is far to costly by the time you had paid everything you could have gone to Spain all inclusive for a week

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for the review you have given to our EQ2 apartments. It is great to see that overall you had a positive experience and enjoyed the location and facilities. Our rates are continuously checked against our competitors to ensure we are competitive at all times, however we are sorry to hear that your sleep was interrupted during your stay. We certainly hope to see you on future trips to Edinburgh.

Best regards,

Colin Mackay,

Fountain Court team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We've been staying for five nights. Perfect located for visiting the city, modern, neat and proper apartment but of course effected from the visiting guests. Big kitchen equipped a little scanty. Okay surroundings but not what you would call charming. (You cannot look out of the windows sitting on a chair if you would like to see more than the sky). Very kind staff, eager to help you, but more kind than effective. (Lack of local experience). Large rooms, fine beds, comfort better than many other places in UK due to good isolation, but in winter, I doubt the apartment would be warm (only three radiators). Neighboursite is prepared for building. That means definitely problems for Your stay in this hotel, when they begin the project. Over all: Nice place but somewhat overprized in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you for the review you have given to our EQ2 apartments. It is great to see you had a largely positive experience with us. The building work will not impact too much however we will be able to give more information when it begins, we certainly hope to see you on future trips to Edinburgh.

Best regards

Colin Mackay,

Fountain Court team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Thank you Caroline for coming to our rescue with last available apartment in EQ2. We had a 2bed apartment for a x3 night stay for a group of ladies visiting Edinburgh for long weekend. Location great - only 10 mins walk into town. Spotlessly clean, spacious apartments with all kitchen facilities. Management couldn't do enough for us to ensure our stay a success - even booking restaurants etc on our behalf. See you all again soon!!

Room Tip: Request waterfront view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Sales Manager at Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Thank you for the very kind words. It is so good to see you had such a great time, we are always glad to help out wherever we can and we shall look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with Fountain Court.

Kind regards,

Caroline Macintyre,

Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2

Address: 1 Lower Gilmore Bank | on Union Canal, Edinburgh EH3 9QP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments Eq-2 Hotel Edinburgh
Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2 Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountain Court Apartments EQ-2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.