We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravel Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Caravel Guest House to your Saves list
Caravel Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 London Street, Edinburgh EH36NA, Scotland (New Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend of the Edinburgh Marathon Festival. Greeted on arrival by the very friendly owner, for whom nothing is too much trouble. My wife was running in the half-marathon which meant we would miss breakfast. When we mentioned this to the owner he provided us with a tray of cereal, yogurts, orange juice and croissants at 6.30am. Brilliant. Ideally located for the city and brilliant service

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
24
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have stayed here several times and have found nothing but a welcome,a smile and clean rooms.
Unlike a lot of places where there is no updates going on, this B & B is constantly being kept up-to-date.
I notice a previous review where somebody complained it took 20 mins to walk to Princes Street or the Railway Station, in high heels. Who in their right mind would walk across cobble stones in heels?
The location is spot on, 10 minutes or less to the top of Leith Walk, 15 to the middle of town.
Anytime I'm in Edinburgh I stay here, that speaks for its self!
Ian Godfrey Ireland

Room Tip: Always ask a member of staff if there is a problem or query, don't just ignore it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

5 adults stayed in the 5 bedded family room on the entry floor. It was quiet, and individual single beds were comfortable. Once you got used to the colourful quilts, carpet and wallpaper, it was fine. We needed somewhere to rest after a long (more than 20 hours) flight and we got it. The bathroom was clean and adequate - bathroom lights only came on when the door was closed, which we had to get use to. Never ran out of hot water. The best thing was the breakfast!! It was extensive and we really ate enough to not have lunch! The next best thing was the owner - he was very friendly and helpful. We could leave our bags in the room after check out while we went to the city for the morning. We took a taxi from the airport to the House. Although it is walking distance to the city/Waverley Train station, be prepared to walk up a slight slope with several traffic lights and junctions, which may be difficult if you have luggage.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

For a single traveller or a couple of friends on a budget, this place is adequate. Good shower, nice free breakfast and okay location. For a couple on a weekend away, it is depressing-- walls are cracked and peeling, carpet and curtains look tired and worn and if you want a nap or peace and quiet during the day, the bloody phone in the corridor rings loudly and incessantly. The massive gap under the doors means you hear everything from the corridor and there is no feeling of privacy. For the price, all that is to be expected.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We arrived at the Caravel B & B and were welcomed by the owners and shown to our rooms. The rooms had all facilities to make our stay comfortable. The best aspect was the easy access to the centre of the city. We walked everywhere because it was close to all the local attractions. The breakfast was the best I have had with a lot of choices available. Very friendly and helpful owners. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We payed a hefty 120 pounds per night during August for a family room. The place is decorated in an old-fashioned way but is neat and clean. The breakfast was filling and we also were given an early breakfast option on request. The surprise was they did not switch on the heater despite request saying that its summer season in Edinburgh. This was slightly worrying with younger children.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Caravel Guest House was listed in a guide book (last year's 2010 edition!) as a viable "mid-range" B&B. We paid a healthy 80 Euro per night in the first days of July. The room was unattractive (as are hallways) and just clean enough. Ditto bathroom. General skimpiness was the overall feel. Breakfast could have been quite a bit better, quite easily. The owner is there presiding, with many protestations of how much he wants to please. But actions do not turn out to match words. Our first day's order at breakfast, a poached egg, was terrible. The next morning we tried a fried egg with grilled tomato and mushroom (half the 'traditional UK breakfast). How hard is it to grill a tomato?! Apparently quite hard, because the poor half tomato was still pretty raw (and quite cold). The mushrooms were not mushrooms but rather those unpalatable little things that usually come in jars and cans, and I'd swear these were from a jar and can (and only just barely warmed over). Needless to say, on our third and last morning, we stuck to the basics (muesli - kind of odd tasting, juice, etc.). Morning tea equally mediocre. This B&B contrasts sharply with the charming, spanking clean, delicious-breakfast place we stayed at in Stratford-upon-Avon, which was only 5 Euro more per night. Caravel is not a place to avoid, necessarily, but don't expect too much.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Guest House

Address: 30 London Street, Edinburgh EH36NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravel Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravel House is the ideal location for a stay in Edinburgh, set in the beautiful architectural area of Edinburgh's classical New Town. This charming Georgian house is situated in the very heart of Edinburgh, Scotland's capital city. With bus and transit available within convenient walking distance and Prince's Street within close proximity, the Caravel House is an ideal accommodation from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Caravel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravel Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.