We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandaig Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandaig Guest House to your Saves list
Sandaig Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights with my daughter, whilst visiting her Uni (all being well this coming Sept).

The B&B was lovely, very welcoming staff, pretty room, nice touch with the free port, very clean and the food was excellent.

Right next to a bus stop, which takes you to Princes Street - couldn't be any easier to get into the city centre quickly.

Thoughly enjoyed our stay and it helped my daughter decide she loves Edinburgh - we'll be back.

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    156
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
111
280
59
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Please read the fine print when booking this hotel or booking via Booking.Com.My office booked a King Room, single occupancy with breakfast, unfortunately the person making the booking clicked on the day of my conference and not before, a few hours after the mistake was noticed the Sandaig was contacted to try to rebook while they still had availability, but I was promptly informed that I needed to cancel and rebook via Booking.Com. By the time this was done there was apparently no availability and I was charged the full amount for a DOUBLE ROOM - not a King size, the amount charged via Booking.com for room was £37.50 plus £7.50 VAT NO CC Charges as stated on the website - the amount charged by the hotel for Double room £45 plus £2.00 CC fee......there appears to be no communication between the owners of the hotel and Booking.com - it is impossible to change a booking via the owner if you book through Booking.com and by the time you try to change the booking via Booking.com it's too late they have taken you're money, the wording on the T&C's is also different and confusing. As I said, I cannot make any statements about the hotel itself - JUST BUYER BEWARE -

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear G31LSM

You made a reservation for a double room (with king bed) for single occupancy for the 12th March in the morning and then cancelled the reservation in in the evening. As you cancelled within in our 0-7 days from arrival, you were charged for this one night's reservation. Our terms and conditions are clearly stated. When the reservation was made, you would have checked a box saying that you agree to our cancellation policy. You mention that you tried to book the previous night - however we were fully booked. You did inform me that it was your colleague's mistake for booking the wrong date as she was a novice. I am sorry to hear this.
Booking.com class all of our double rooms as king rooms, which is fine by us as this is the minimum size bed you will get as some are super-kings. All of our rates include vat. The £2 surcharge was refunded to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited the Sandaig in Edinburgh for a long weekend in February 2014. Initially we were looking for somewhere a bit closer to the city centre, but upon reflection we made the perfect choice!
The Sandaig is in a nice quiet location with a very convenient and reliable bus service right on the doorstep, £1.50 for a single and £3.50 for a day pass
The guesthouse was very clean and warm, and the bedroom that we had was lovely. Upon arrival we were informed that we had been moved from our originally allocated room due to a broken telly. Our room 10 was nice and cosy, clean and we always felt relaxed in it. The bathroom was nice and big with a lovely shower, enough room for two (if you're feeling that way :D)
The breakfasts were superb, great quality and big enough to keep you going until tea time if that's what you wanted. There was also a great choice from the breakfast menu. My girlfriend is still trying to make her porridge to the standard that we were served, it really was delicious!
The clincher in giving this destination top marks however was the hospitality. Marina was the perfect host, friendly, genuine, helpful, she just couldn't do any more for us. She was lovely and made our stay feel even more special
We did have a few issues with the TV in our room and had to play around with the aerial a few times to get it working, however this is a very minor complaint and nowhere near enough to stop us awarding this lovely place the maximum rating
When we return to Edinburgh we will be booking again and, of course, be recommending to our family and friends. Thank you Marina!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having read the many excellent reviews about the Sandaig we were not prepared for what we experienced during our stay. It oozed warmth,care and attention to customer satisfaction almost immediately.This is a very conscientiously run establishment that maintains a happy and relaxed atmosphere,Breakfast was excellent ,the service was exemplary in every way.You would need to stay to appreciate how good it really is.Marina and her staff so friendly, caring and helpful,My daughter begs us ti stay longer for we were so comfortable and happy ,we did .One of our best experiences ,we could not have been made more welcome or enjoyed our stay any more .a big thank you marina from paul ,nadine and georgia

Room Tip: everyone i spoke to was very happy staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

First time to Edinburgh and it did nit disappoint me. i chose this guesthouse because of its reviews. i was given a beautiful view of the park out of my room and a very warm welcome by the host, room was nice and clean. Decor was very new and I love the breakfast! I can't stay anywhere else in edinburgh for my next visit in summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Easy parking warm welcome comfortable and clean room and bathroom all amenities required for overnight stay, Peaceful and quiet location 5 minutes walk to restaurants and local pub food.
Breakfast in the morning excellent quality staff welcoming, very friendly and very helpful.
Next time I stay in Edinburgh i will stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Chose this based on Tripadvisor reviews and it's great. Will be back. this will be my Edinburgh base from now on. Great value. The room was very clean and bathroom was spotless. Service was excellent and very friendly place to visit and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, I Pod Docking Station, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandaig Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.