We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandaig Guest House

Save Saved
You added Sandaig Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandaig Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 441 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our second visit and Marina and her lovely staff made us very welcome. Despite it being the run-up to Christmas she took the time to stop and chat. On-street car parking wasn't a problem and being a group of 5 meant a pre-booked taxi was the quickest & cheapest transport option into the city. The location, overlooking the historic Leith Links, was also a plus. Breakfast was splendid with the haggis and marmalade being the highlights. The rooms were clean and comfortable although they did vary considerably in their size - this was especially true for the bathrooms. Overall, a lovely stay with lovely people. We will return!

Room Tip: Room 4 (on top floor) has a very small shower cubicle and low water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    148
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
104
259
57
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Myself & my girlfriend stayed here over 5 days for Hogmanay 2013. It's a very nice guesthouse with modern finishings and friendly staff.

We dock a star just for a number of small things. Our room's furnishings were nice but slightly worn in parts. One of the floorboards was very squeaky at the side of the bed. Although it wasn't that annoying for us, it may have been for those in a room underneath. The lighting in the ensuite could have been better for using the mirror, it was just a little on the dark side.

They're the only downsides and wouldn't put us off staying again. We would recommend Sandaig for sure.

Breakfast was great, lots of choice and very tasty. The free bottle of Port on arrival was also a very nice touch and makes the experience all the better. It was also a very nice tasting Port.

It's location is great. Taxi into city centre was about £7 while the bus from outside Sandaig is £1.50 each way or £3.50 for a day ticket. We walked into city centre via Leith Walk one day, the main road into town and took about 35-40 mins, which isn't bad at all.

Overall, very happy with our choice of accommodation in The Sandaig and would most certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

2nd stay at the Sandaig , again great size of room , love the Sherry by the bedside. Great place to stay ,can leave car and get bus into center of Edinburgh to explore. Brilliant breakfast to start the day, porridge with cream highly recommended !!
Always try to stay here when we are in Edinburgh but very popular so not always possible.
Goes without saying that recommend highly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

From location to breakfast we cannont fault the Sandaig guest house! Parking is onstreet and safe fro your car and its free!

From our arrival we were met with a warm welcome and shown to our room (8) which was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Ensuite was spacious and considering its on a busy road we both slept soundly!

Great selection at breakfast all foodf freshly prepared and plentyfull and the service was brilliant.

The location of the hotel was about 20 mins walk from the city centre or jump on a bus(25 or 12) just outside for £3.50 all day ticket you really cant go wrong. The night bus also drops you off just round the corner and the buses are so frequent you really dont need taxi's!

Even new years eve the buses ran until 4am!

Will definatly recommend this guest house and wont hesitate visiting again for next hogmany!


Dave

Room Tip: we stayed in room 8 and cant complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Spurssupporter

It was a pleasure having you stay with us over New Year. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again!

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed all family and the room was so beautiful so feel you in 4-5 star hotel. The breakfast was good and freshly cooked. Only not in the city but bus next door and you don't need wait for a long. So we really don't have anything against and definitely will stay again. Nice service. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was I think my fourth visit and the welcome and room were as warm and comfortable as before.

We stayed over Christmas Day and were charmed to find a card and present on our bed when we got in on Christmas Eve, a very kind gesture much appreciated. Due to the large amount of food we consumed at my daughter's, I was too full to try the excellent marmalade this time.

We shall stay again, many thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, yorkshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Booked The Sandaig last minute through Booking.com having checked the impressive reviews on Tripadvisor.

Stayed 2 nights weekend leading up to Christmas and felt disappointed as we do not consider we experienced the "wonderful" experience we had read. This is classified as a 4 star B&B and photos demonstrate a contemporary almost boutique view of the establishment - or at least this is the impression the owners are attempting to convey.

Our journey to Edinburgh took an exhausting 5 hours drive from Yorkshire, a beautiful scenic route which I would recommend! We were emailed by the proprietor after booking to enquire time of arrival which when your destiny is in the hands of wintry bad weather, icy roads, heavy wind and rain coupled with traffic it is anyone's guess! On our arrival home on 23rd Dec, we had an answer phone message on our landline left an hour after we were due to arrive on Sat 21st stating the proprietors had to go out and asking when we would be arriving......!!!!! Why?? We clearly wouldn't receive it!

There is ample free street parking outside the B&B facing the park and a bus stop several doors to the left of the B&B with a bus taking you to Princes Street. We didn't use this and despite the weather adorned sturdy footwear and strolled into the city to absorb the atmosphere.

The staircase and carpet need overhauling, very dated and the carpet through the 1st floor fire door is threadbare adjacent room 1 and 2.

Initial impression of our room (2) as we entered was good, large long room with dual windows and a statement bed with large padded headboard. Really liked the wallpaper however due to its dark shade created a tunnel effect in the room and would have been better placed at either end of the room to bring it "in".

A small decanter of sherry awaits which is a nice touch, although one shot glass each and the decanter was empty. A chocolate each awaits on the bed and a biscuit for coffee. Well! that was the first night, no chocolate or sherry the second.

Bathroom tiny compared to size of bedroom, I'm 5ft 1 and a size 8 dripping wet and even I struggled to use the tiny wash hand basin and dry myself in the room. The room was modern, contemporary - the bathroom mirror above the basin a novelty with its LED row of lights down each side - no use or ornament to a contact lens wearer! It's smokey hue prevented me from seeing clearly enough to remove and put in my lenses. Impractical. Liked the shower.

Didn't sleep particularly well, the double bed is twins fastened together and in the dead of the night the "dripping" starts - behind the boxed in part of the wall above the iPod dock you can hear a leak intermittently which drives you mad. Half the bed is firm and comfy, the other half too soft.

The wardrobe is no use or ornament, 2 winter coats and you won't fit much more in! Had to remove the middle shelf to fit them in. The remote for the tv didn't work and the "piece de resistance" the kettle! The cord is not long enough to plug in and place the base on chest of drawers, couldn't plug in by the settee as it meant moving the furniture and as such had to plug it in on the floor next to the bed..........health and safety! Trip hazards! And so to fill the kettle - you cannot get the kettle under the tap of the wash hand basin and had to bail water into the kettle using the coffee cup!!

The UHT Milk provided was out of date by 3 weeks or more, mostly dated 3 Dec and one the end of November.

The final straw for me was returning after a long day in the city on day 1 to find my wet bath towels were still hung on the back of the bathroom door - too wet to use again that day. There is no heated towel rail to dry them on. 4 star B&B leaving wet towels, in all my travelling have never known this.

Again, after day 1 the bed was not made, I had thrown the duvet to tidy the room before going to breakfast, the maid hasn't even straightened the fitted sheet or plumped the pillows on our return to the room.

The dining room is tastefully decorated, glad we were seated in the boxed bay window otherwise may have felt a little impersonal sat closely to other tables. The full Scottish was average, didn't rate at all. The sausage (1) was non descript , a rasher of bacon, fried egg pleasingly with runny yoke, grilled tomato that was barely cooked it was hard, haggis which was sloppy and wet, black pudding, chopped morsels of mushroom,potato scone and baked beans which were bizarrely served in a tiny coffee cup! Toast was brought with your cornflakes so was cold by the time the mains arrived.

Day 2 I sampled scrambled egg which was not seasoned and bland.

I did enjoy the yogurt, granola, honey and fresh fruit however where was the fresh fruit on day 2? My husband wondered where his mushrooms were on day 2 and stated his breakfast was luke warm yet we were the only ones dining for breakfast day 2!

The informative guest book in the room with places of interest was helpful for those who have never visited Edinburgh before..... The pages giving B&B info interesting particularly instruction for early wake up call and how to set with the phone................what phone? There is no phone!

Most B&B's rated 4 star would provide complimentary bottled water in the room and on occasion tissues, not Sandaig.

Reception has a small sign selling bottled water for £1, you can go to the pub around the corner and buy a bottle for 75p as we did.

Finally, check out - service with a smile, no! Arrival with a smile - no, I certainly was not smiling at the £2 charge for payment by debit or credit card.

I would not stay here again, I was disappointed and would not recommend to others because of "all of the above".

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaig, Manager at Sandaig Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear merc9SLK

I am sorry to hear that you were not totally satisfied with your stay at The Sandaig.

Firstly, with regards to your arrival time – We ask all guests to give us an arrival time. As we are not a hotel, the guest house is not manned 24hrs a day. In your confirmation it does state “If your arrival time changes then please keep us informed” As you just mentioned, we left a message one hour after your given arrival time as you had not arrived and we had not heard from you to say that you had been delayed! We called you on the contact number you gave us; maybe a mobile number would have been a more suitable contact number?

We offer “A complementary welcome drink on arrival” So yes that is exactly what it is – just one complementary drink on arrival and not replenished – again this is stated on our web site. – However your tea and coffee and biscuits would have been replenished on a daily basis.

I apologise for you not being able to remove your contact lenses in the shower room, however there is a very large mirror in between the two windows in your bedroom.

Yes, the beds are zip and link, like many hotel beds, so they can be used as double or twins – however we may look into changing the mattresses so they can be used only as double beds it was brought to our attention by another guest this week that this is not ideal.

We apologise for the remote control not working – however if you had mention this to us we would have just replaced the batteries instantly.

There is a sign in the room saying if you would like your towels replaced then please put them in the shower – however you hung them up so that is the reason they were not replaced after your first night.

We do not bring your cornflakes – it is self service – if you had preferred your toast to have been served with your main course – then it might have been an idea to have mentioned that to the waitress when she took your toast order?

You will find that many hotels (never mind guest houses) do not provide complimentary water – unless you are upgrading to a superior room. The £2 credit card surcharge is mentioned on your confirmation and upon booking.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, I Pod Docking Station, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandaig Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.