We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandaig Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandaig Guest House to your Saves list
Sandaig Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I travel a lot for my business and this for sure Sandaig is one of the top most beautiful place to stay excellent value excellent atmosphere brilliant hospitality. I highly recommend this beautiful small boutique property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    154
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
110
273
59
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent place to stay- booked two rooms re family trip - both rooms spacious and well appointed - Marina and staff very helpful with directions or calling us a taxi - our room across street from nice park - convenient to centre of town by bus - walking distance to the "Shore" with many great restaurants -Breakfast an experience with excellent service and food , many options including starters and main choices , you can't go wrong with full Irish Breakfast - Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great, helpful staff a wonderful breakfast and a fantastic room. Couldn't ask for more. Deluxe family room was tastefully decoarted as were dining areas. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Would stay again. Could have been closer to centre of town but it's only a 30 min stroll.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have visited several B&B's in UK, and Sandaig was definitly the best one. Clean room, good service, awesome breakfast. I left Sandaig very early in the morning bcz of the flight schedule, they gave me a packed breakfast and it contained more than I expected.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very comfortable and enjoyable stay. We were on the top floor with a partly sloping ceiling, so did have to take care, but this was a very minor point in an otherwise excellent place to stay. Very comfortable bed, clean room and ensuite and Marina and her staff were most helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The house was lovely and quiet and the breakfasts were really good with a great choice and variety, all served with a warm and welcoming smile! Thank you, we would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found the Sandaig a very convenient location to the city historic center and especially to the coast and the charming town of Porobello Beach. Our room was gorgeous, spacious and had a wonderful view of the park across the street. The breakfast was more than ample and in a very pretty dining room. The staff was friendly and we felt welcomed by the sherry in our room upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights for a weekend break. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The room was a adequate size for the length of our stay and had a really comfortable bed and en-suite. The room was clean and homely. The breakfast was the perfect start for the day with a varied selection including the full scottish. This meant we could explore without needing to stop for lunch but just grab a snack mid afternoon. The guesthouse is in a lovely area and I would recommend for anyone wanting a home from home stay. Thanks to all the wonderful staff there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandaig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaig Guest House

Address: 5 East Hermitage Place | Leith Links, Edinburgh EH6 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandaig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaig...overlooking the historic Leith Links park. All rooms have En-suite facilities. Complimentary drink on arrival. Free Wi Fi, Hospitality Tray, Radio Alarm Clock, I Pod Docking Station, Hairdryer, Iron & Ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandaig Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaig Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Sandaig Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandaig Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.