We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Wetherspoons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standing Order

The Standing Order
62-66 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2LR, Scotland
0131 225 4460
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 191 Nightlife in Edinburgh
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Average Wetherspoons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Not a bad place, the impressive traditional decor makes this large pub/restaurant. The usual extensive range of drinks at fairly reasonable prices. Gets busy of a weekend, as you'd expect but the service isn't that good. We returned for a breakfast the following morning but breakfast wasn't up to the standard of other Wetherspoons. Service was speedy on this occasion but the food was dry & had maybe sat under lamps or kept hot on a hotplate for far too long. In comparison to a similar meal we had enjoyed in Newcastle the previous week at another of the chain's hostelries, it was poor. Dry & overcooked. Try harder.
You could maybe try the food at The Alexander Graham Bell, a few hundred metres further along George St, another Wetherspoons.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    50
    31
    13
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dont miss the ceiling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've spent Sat evening for pre dinner drinks with my folks. Great interiors, very spacious and noisy :) Reasonable prices, great location. Pop in, evening for a one drink.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Amazing surroundings and setting. The value for money on food and drink makes this pub a must visit when in Edinburgh.

Get the mixed grill and you won't need to eat again all day!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a Scottish breakfast in this tasteful place. The prices are reasonable, the cook too; you have to order at the bar and they think about the rest. Friendly staff.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just your average Wetherspoons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nothing particularly special about this place. It tends to get very busy on weekends and match days so you will be unlikely to get a seat even if you do intend to eat here.

The food is the same stuff you get at all Wetherspoons. Nothing spectacular but I've never had a particularly bad meal here on the few times i have visited.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standing Order also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Standing Order? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standing Order, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.