We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Dick`s” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirty Dick's

Dirty Dick's
159 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4LS, Scotland (New Town)
00 44 (0) 131 225 4610
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 191 Nightlife in Edinburgh
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dirty Dick`s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

lovely relaxing atmosphere perfect for dropping in for a rest while shopping in the streets of Edinburgh.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    9
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was having a short citybreak in Edinburgh away from London`s rush. I popped into this very nice and charming pub to see what a scottish pub looks like. It is amazing! The interior,the service they provide (however I just had some shots, I can`t pronounce about food). There was a very nice and kind young lady with red hair behind the counter-unfortunately I don`t know her name, who even put my phones to charge for a while! Thanks a million, I will definitely return if in Edinburgh!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
“its a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

visiting edinburgh and not poping in here is a sin !!! brilliant, quirky, atmospheric, bit alternative music, hard to say what it is !!! amount of stuff gathered in here is impressive.
i would put more stars if it was an option

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not happy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

ive got to say dirty dick every time i visit edinburgh i always give you my custom and have recommended your menu and pub to friends.i was in your pub yesterday 22/12/14 ans was very disapointed.thare was flies around the bar next to the kitchen ! i ordered steak pie as i usually do,the veg was cold,got about a dozen chips the pastry was soggy not cooked right and the steak was full of fat and grease,very disapointed. the staff didnt ask us how our food was and didnt even thank us for our custom,wont be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Quaint, Quirky with bar staff who know their stuff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very quirky little pub, with anything and everything located on a shelf or attached to a wall or cieling. Has the feel of a genuine place. Bar staff knowledgable about their whiskys and as the place has so much atmosphere they need staff who can match it. They certainly do with abundance. Very nice draft beers as well, worth going in for a drink or two.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dirty Dick's also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Dirty Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirty Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.