We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and helpful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 53 Frederick Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 53 Frederick Street to your Saves list
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick St., Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland (New Town)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 440 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent and helpful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is an excellent B&B in central Edinburgh. We booked at (literally) no notice as 'refugees' from another, very poor Edinburgh guest house. The team could not have been more helpfuland the quality of the accommodation is very high. This is a delightful B&B, very centrally located run by a fabulous young team

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you that night and would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh. Thank you for your kind comments.

Tessa, David & Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    94
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
112
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This bed and breakfast in Edinburgh is highly recommended. It is well located, being only about 3 blocks away from the Waverely train station, right at the commercial centre of Edinburgh. It is within the new town and very close to Rose Street which is lined by a lot of restaurants. Frederic Street is not a busy street so the place is wonderfully quiet. The staffs of No 53 Frederic, Tessa and Jay are very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The room we were given at the 3rd floor is very spacious and painted white and appears to be well maintained. The room’s got a big window and is simply decorated with beautiful framed illustrations of plants which gives the room a very pleasant ambiance. The room is provided with a dresser, 2 bedside tables and 2 bedside lamps and lounge chair. The room amenities are a flat screen TV, a hot pot, hair dryer and flat iron. The complimentary drinks of coffee and tea are generously provided with basic toiletries of soap and shampoo. There is free wifi service in the rooms and is most appreciated. The bed is very comfortable and the linens and towels are very clean. The breakfast is equally very good. It is served at the adjoining Rick’s restaurant and pub.

A mini bar and power points / power outlet conveniently located for charging of electronic gadgets should be good additions to the room amenities.

Nonetheless, I agree that the 2012 Certificate of Excellence issued to it by Trip Advisor is well deserved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT_Edin, Manager at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your suggestions for the rooms.

Kind Regards
Tessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This oddly named small hotel in the heart of Edinburgh would have been ideal...if we had been 30 years younger and in perfect shape. We were warned in advance that there was no elevator and that the hotel reception was one floor above a beauty salon. What they did not say was that the salon was one floor above ground level AND that there was a Tara-like grand staircase to climb from reception to our room. If you can handle what is essentially a 4-story climb, by all means go there. The place is quaint and charming, and our room was huge and well-equipped. But it was owner David and his sister Tessa, the manager, who really made it worthwhile for us. They carried our luggage up and down those stairs, provided ice packs for my friend's ankle (a previous problem, not caused by this hotel) and were at our beck and call for any questions we had about places to eat, parking (awful, by the way - try not to drive in Edinburgh if you can help it), etc. The surrounding restaurants were fabulous (within one block of the hotel) and Edinburgh Castle was a short, steep walk away. I would return to 53 Frederick Street, but only if I was feeling in tip-top shape.

Room Tip: We had the corner room, facing Frederick Street and Thistle Street. A great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The problem with Tripadvisor is that all those little gems you really want to keep to yourself get circulated around the world!

53 Frederick Street is the perfect spot to stay particularly during the Fringe. Couldn't be more central, excellent bedrooms, very clean, good wifi access and very very good breakfast arrangement with Ricks immediately next door. Marginal down side is there are quite a few stairs to climb so could be problem for some.

Did not suffer from any of the niggles some other contributors have referred to and at the end of the day it is a Band B not a high end hotel. Value for money excellent.

Anyway now I have down it and told the world what a gem it is!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Not sure what to expect, Tess greeted us and provided us with things to know, taxi numbers, and good places to visit, was always there when we needed her, and it was the perfect location for the stag weekend planned. The rooms were what we would expect for this age of house, and whilst not the Hilton, suitably served the need to sleep very comfortably, and freshen up and relax between days and nights out, good little find, all the stag party were expecting to stay in dive for the price that was charged!! Everyone was suitably impressed..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Disagree with the previous 2 reviews. Yes, there were niggles - the "king-sized" bed was actually 2 singles pushed together, which as they were different heights, wasn't ideal, and there was only one bedside table and lamp. There was indeed some noise from the back of the hotel - however, I would expect this from a city centre hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and well-equipped, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts at Ricks were mostly very good, although one morning the sausage and haggis in the mixed grill were undercooked. We found the service in Ricks to be very efficient. The location is fabulous, only a couple of minute walk from Princes St, with many excellent restaurants close by. I thought the tarriff was very high, but as we came to Edinburgh for the Fringe, this was to be expected.

Room Tip: Be aware that not all the rooms have en suite bathrooms - ours was across the landing (not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battisford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I agree with previous review. Our room was tired, bits falling off bedstead, a broken castor wheel from an unknown item under the side table, a lop-sided bedside lamp,loose cables and extention leads, a DVD player which would not play a stable picture, and a loo that could not cope unless you intervened with a loo brush which was not pleasant. (To be fair we did not really need the DVD as there was some much to do, but if there should be one...)This place is in a great location which is a massive plus but the fabric needs keeping on top of, and an investment in some soundproofing would help improve chances of a good nights sleep - the rooms at the back overlook the industrial bins in Thistle Street and it is very noisy when they are collected. The reality did not match the expectation given by the website in our opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT_Edin, Owner at 53 Frederick Street, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our guest house. We are disappointed that your stay didn't match your expectations. We are continuously maintaining the property and will endeavour to address all matters that are brought to our attention. However we do encourage all our guests to contact us in the event that something does not work as we always have spares available.

We are a Georgian town house and therefore the building is of special architectural and historic interest. Consequently we are not allowed to install double glazing, however we are looking into secondary options. As we are located in the heart of Edinburgh's city centre, close to all the major attractions and just a ¼ mile walk from Edinburgh Castle, some noise is a legitimate expectation. Restaurants and bars have agreed collection times for their waste and we endeavour to make sure that they adhere to those as they should be at reasonable times of the day.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 53 Frederick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 53 Frederick Street

Address: 53 Frederick St., Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 440 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No. 53 Frederick Street, bed and breakfast in Edinburgh is perfectly situated in the very heart of the city centre, providing a magnificent yet unique spacious central home to explore Edinburgh, separated from Edinburgh Castle only by the Gardens! The Edinburgh B&B accommodation is an original Georgian townhouse situated on the second and third floors, that dates from circa 1820, and many of the original features have been carefully retained. This is an elegant and extremely spacious guest house, typified in a welcoming open hall with feature bow wall and staircase to upper floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your 53 Frederick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
53 Frederick Street Hotel Edinburgh
53 Frederick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 53 Frederick Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.