We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and warm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ceilidh-Donia to your Saves list
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cosy and warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We loved this place - it has a warm, friendly, family-feel to it and the owners and incredibly helpful and lovely. The two dogs are great fun too and enjoyed a good belly rub of an evening in the bar area. The breakfasts were absolutely outstanding - cooked to order eggs benedict and deliciously fresh smoked salmon and scrambled egg options were the highlights. It benefits from being a little out of the way and therefore very quiet and calm but there are plenty of buses to get you the short distance into the city if you get tired of looking at Arthur's Seat out of your window!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Reviewee

Many Moons of thanks for your compliments, it really does Smile Me Up after these long Winter Nights to know that our Wee Family Hotel helped you to unwind. Glad you liked our Eggs Benedict, we introduced that and Eggs Florentine as an easy and light choice for our Guests Breakfast.

On a very Sad note, our Puppy Dog named Ruaridh has sadly went to the Heavenly Kennels, when we brought him into our Home he had unfortunately a Heart Problem but rather than take him back to the Breeders to an uncertain Future we knew that we could give him all the Love that he would need and so we let him be a Puppy Dog and not wrap him up in Cotton Wool, oh boy and was he happy Puppy, even when he was out of breath and had to watch the other Dogs play in the Park.

MyKy Ruaridh..

Maxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    183
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
93
354
86
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia. The staff were friendly and helpful with lots of recommendations for places to see and things to do to get the most out of our stay in the city. Breakfast was a real treat with a wide selection of options including cooked-to-order dishes as well as continental breakfast options, too. Our room was lovely with an amazing view of Arthur's Seat. If you fancy a walk up this famous landmark (which I would definitely recommend) then the hotel is ideally situated. Travelling into town was very easy with regular buses and taxis that can shuttle you back and forth to the city centre if you don't fancy the walk. We especially loved the dogs! I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review

I am glad you loved the scenic views from Arthurs Seat, there are many things that make my Beautiful City called Edinburgh special, Robert Burns, Robert Louis Stevenson, Walter Scott, Ian Rankin, Harry Potter ! Who , Darwin Studied here, James Clark Maxwell, Simpson (Chloroform), Arthur Conan Doyle, phew and there are so many more but hey they are all Human, Edinburgh also has, Concorde, Royal Yacht Britannia, Forth Bridges, Europe’s longest artificial Ski Slope at Hillend, Botanical Gardens, The Zoo with Two Pandas, Phew and there’s more but my Favourite place is Arthurs Seat, a magnificent Ancient Volcano that has stood for almost 500 Million Years and I believe Edinburgh is the Only City in Europe with a Volcano actually in its Heart, so eat your Heart out Naples, tee hee hee.

Seriously though there is a lovely Bird Sanctuary nestling at its base called Duddingston Loch and also has a 700 year Old Pub called the Sheip Heid next to it, aha but it also has a 1000 year old Church, aha but I will mention One more human, his name is James Hutton and he studied this Volcano and decided that the Earth is always in Flux and so he is credited with Inventing Modern Geology, this Influenced Darwin who now found a suitable Time Frame for his evolution Theory, phew and there’s more, why don’t you come and see like this Reviewee

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Hotel Ceilidh Donia. The owners (and their lovely dog) are very friendly, offering a warm welcome that makes such a great difference from soulless big chain hotels. The location is about ten mins bus ride from the city centre - the buses are very convenient and regular, we used them throughout the stay and never had to wait for more than five mins. You could walk in in less than half an hour but as the weather was bitterly cold during our stay we preferred the warmer option! Down a quiet side street, there was no noise at all, so it was lovely to return to true peace and quiet after busy days and evenings out exploring all the wonders of Edinburgh.
The room was lovely and warm, even in the middle of the night. The bed was extremely comfortable, making for a great night's sleep. The bathroom was very clean, with a powerful shower. All in all a very good room!
Breakfast was included and there were lots of options, ranging from a full cooked breakfast to croissants to eggs benedict, as well as a full buffet of cold options. The hot choices are cooked to order. A nice touch was the well stocked bar and comfy seating area - we unfortunately didn't get the chance to use this during our packed stay but if we visited again I'm sure we'd try to squeeze in a whisky or two!
Highly recommended, and well deserving of its many excellent reviews.....

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Many Moons of Thanks for this review, we know that you never met our Puppy Dog Ruaridh but as you mentioned Keilidh we thought we would let previous Guests know that unfortunately our wee Puppy Ruaridh was born with a Heart condition and we knew he had problems ahead but Annette and I decided to let him be a Puppy and sadly he is now Weeing on Heaven’s Gate but we made sure he had a good life being a real Doggy.

On a Happy note thanks for describing our Hotel Location perfectly, we believe we have the best of both Worlds, a walk and a talk into Town, or a skip and a hop into Arthurs Seat, Prestonfield Golf Club, Swimming Pool etc, etc and def glad that the Room and bed were warm, we never ever scrimp on heating bills as a Cold House is as bad as having a Hot Lolly Pop, tee hee hee.

Ifn you come again my dear Reviwee we may indeed have a Dram or two of my favourite Water of Life of Life of Life of Life, hhmm did I just say that, tee hee heeeeee..


Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my adult daughter. Taking into consideration that we only paid a budget price, we were both impressed with the quality of our accommodation. The room was spacious, clean, cosy and warm. Tea, coffee and water provided in the room. Toiletries in the shower room were also provided.

The breakfast options, both hot and cold, were plentiful. I chose the vegetarian option, which was mushrooms with melted breakfast cheese, tomatoes and scrambled egg but you could choose your egg preference. The presentation could show top class hotels a thing or two!

Yes, the hotel is out of the city centre but hey no problem at all getting in and out to Princess Street. The buses are regular 14, 30 or a 33 all just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. My daughter paid the £3.50 for a day ticket as you can use that for as many journeys you need.

Will highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Annette and I thank you for this review, you said a we were a good Budget Price and we concur, we have run this Family Hotel for 15 years now, and for 14 years before that a Guest House in Edinburgh called Dunedin House that we had started from scratch.
What our ethos is, if we had one that is, is to present the Hotel as a real place and def unpretentious, we are not Flashy, Boutique, Designer or indeed 5 Star we are def Happy being a Quality 3 Star Metro Hotel, not in the City Center but close enough to amble into Town in 15-25 mins.
We are currently upgrading Rooms, 3, 7,8,9,10, and 15 (we have 17) and like other Hoteliers its hard in this economic climate but as you have said we do provide all the little Luxuries that you expect in 5 Star Hotels, quality toiletries, bedside drinks and nibbles and free bottles of water all day any day.

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel represents great value for money in a handy part of town. The room was spacious and well equipped and the breakfast was delicous with plenty of options both cold and hot.
Would definitely come here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Reviewee

I like saying that, it seems to roll right of my tongue, hhmm reviewee, or it could be review-we for a review from you about we, hhmm anyway My Dear Reviewer, oh no I did not mean that you were a Review-er, a Guests that Erred, tee hee heee, anyway I digress, thanks for you thoughts, i have said a few times that when Guests use the word Value in their review that I always think of that word as the guardian word for many others as it brings, Costs, Location, Comfort, Happy, Cleanliness, Service, Ambience and Cozyness all into the one Guardian Word called, aha you guessed it VALUE, thank you.

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a few mates while up in Edinburgh for the rugby - we won by the way!
Full marks - can't fault it at all - clean, tidy, welcoming, breakfast, good selection of whiskey, friendly staff etc etc
Highly recommended and will be staying here on our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Stayed here for 3 nights with a few mates while up in Edinburgh for the rugby - we won by the way!
Full marks - can't fault it at all - clean, tidy, welcoming, breakfast, good selection of whiskey, friendly staff etc etc
Highly recommended and will be staying here on our next visit!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends

Thanks for a Lovely Review Guys

I see that you said you Won, HHmmm at Rugby HHHhhmmmm I am sorreee Guys i will have to tell the World that you came home early every night had 1 Beer and Played Trivial Pursuits and went to Bed Early, HHHmmmm yea you did WIN ! ? at Trivial, and I don't want to seem Trivial by saying that, Haa haa haa, Tee heee..

Maxx..

P.s Its Whisky bye the way not Whiskey, hhm unless you visit our Celtic Irish Cousins, oops I forgot you are Celtic too,

Miss You Kiss You all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is a bit tricky to find at first (we took a bus), but friendly locals pointed us in the right direction. Breakfast was fabulous and home cooked. The room was great and very clean with a tea pot and complimentary tea. The best part of it for me? The friendly golden retrievers who were always game for a good belly rub! It felt like I was staying at my family's house instead of in a hotel, which to me is always a good feeling when you're on the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you indeed for a great revue, I am sorry that you had problems finding us, if Guests have booked direct with us we will e-mail them a Map and lots of Travel Tips and other useful Information and this year we are also trying to make sure that everybody that Books with Online Travel Companies such as Booking.Com and Expedia to name but a few will also receive all this Information.

Sadly one of our Two Dogs, our Puppy Ruaridh (Rory-Red) Died while out walking, he was just 11 Months and sadly for our Family and everyone who had got to know Him, went to the Heavenly Kennels on Sunday, when we became his proud Owners he unfortunately already had a Heart defect but we decided to encouraged him to be himself and be a Puppy but it was just too much for our Beautiful Wee Doggy, Sadly Missed..

Maxx Annette and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.