We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for exploring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ceilidh-Donia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal base for exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A perfect small hotel with a very warm welcome, good facilities and great value for money. More or less by the SW corner of Holyrood Park, its nearest attraction is Arthur's Seat, so the hardy types can set themselves up for the day by sprinting up this 250m extinct volcano, and down the other side to Holyrood Palace. For the rest of us, there are very frequent buses to the city centre - I never had to wait more than 2 minutes - but it will help you massively if you download the Lothian Bus company's app - one of the most useful apps of any description, and a must for Edinburgh's quite complex system. My (single) room was neat, clean and warm; the bathroom likewise. All in all, it deserves its high rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guests

Dear Guests

Thank you for a refreshing review and I can think of no better way than sprinting up our extinct Volcano, Arthurs Seat ( King Arthur Legend ) and coming back to the Hotel and having a fresh, hot cooked breakfast to start the day in Edinburgh. Delighted to know that our Rooms are warm and cosy for our guests on their return at night.

The Lothain and Edinburgh Bus App is a great help and we recommend that our Guests download it, it is very professional piece of Information, Edinburgh Bus Tracker by Andrew de Quincey..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    145
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
74
283
75
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had a heavenly Hogmanay in lovely Edinburgh, and at the charming Hotel Ceilidh-Donia where we spent 3 nights. Our first floor room was spotlessly clean and well presented, with an immaculate and modern bathroom, and we could see Arthurs Seat from the large bay window.The hotel has lots of character and charm, as do the owners Maxx and Annette! We spent a fun evening chatting with Maxx and sampling the finest Scottish whiskies in the bar. The delicious Full British Breakfast helped us on our way every morning, and all the guests were left mini bottles of Cava and Chocolates in their rooms on New Years Eve, which was a nice touch. The location of the hotel is good too, not far from the city centre by bus (few mins walk to bus stop) but in a lovely quiet residential street, and walkable to Arthurs Seat where you can have a bracing climb and take in some great views of the City. It's a lovely, friendly and relaxing place to stay and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Our room on first floor was great, and not too many stairs to climb... room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Hogmanay Heaven, Great to know that Edinburgh's self-proclaimed Best Hogmanay Party in the World lived up to its billing for you, Scots love this time of year more than any other, it’s in our Blood it’s in our Hair its everywhere, I like it because it is the one time of the Year that when someone offers you their Hand in Friendship no matter what your differences or arguments you have had, you must shake their Hand, as the legend has it that if you don't then you will have bad luck next year.

Aye as the Scots say, we had a guid blether over some beautiful Whiskies in the Hotel Bar; I think it is like tasting God's Breath

Ahh the marvels and the mysteries of a Guid Scottish Hogmanay, Christmas was banned by our King in the 15th Century so the Scots Folks being a Canny Race of people still kept Hogmanay alive and in guid health ye ken, aye and the people were still working on Christmas Day in the 1950s in Scotland, hey ho but now we have two weeks to Party, yahoo..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our 4-night stay at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, with a great shower. Annette and Maxx were very helpful whenever we had questions regarding getting to/from the sights, restaurant recommendations, etc. (it's a 30-minute walk or an easy bus ride to/from the main tourist areas). We highly recommend this place, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for a positive review, Annette is delighted that your Family enjoyed the Hotel and Edinburgh, aha our Showers, we have so many people saying how good they are, I am an Electrician to Trade and many years (37 yrs and 25 yrs) ago I Installed and Electric Shower in our Flats, they were not very good then and only slightly better now, I hated having to run about underneath it to get wet, so when we came into the Hospitality Business that is the one thing I promised that our guests would not have, so we Installed Power Showers that only pump the hot water from the Hotels Gravity fed system, so there should always be hot powerful showers for our Guests, oohh I do go on a wee bity don't I, Tee hee hee..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Quiet location, very clean, tasteful presentation and a friendly welcome gave me a very good experience.

There were a couple of things that might niggle you in a chain hotel. Make sure someone has seen you arriving in the breakfast room, or it may take a while to get your order in! But this is not a chain hotel and the overall quality was excellent.

I walked from Shandwick Place - it took about 40 minutes - and caught a bus back in the morning, which, despite arriving almost immediately took 20 minutes to get to the same place.

Room Tip: Even the ones at the front are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We are delighted that our quiet location suited you and of course you liked to walk to many places when you were here, I think Edinburgh is great City to walk in; it is a very safe City with impressive architecture to set the mind wondering about its past Inhabitants and Its History.

I will tell the Girls that their handy work in the rooms certainly does not go unnoticed, sorry about the Breakfast; you were so quiet that Annette forgot that you were there; we will do better next time..

MyKy

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Sometimes the location is not all that matters; although this Hotel is not in the center of Edinburgh did not bother us, wonderful staff and service in the hotel more than made up for this little minus. We actually enjoyed walking to the city, altough busses were easily available as well. Really enjoyed the made to order breakfast which also brought an unhurried feeling to our vacation.

Room Tip: Had a room facing the back of the house, was very quiet, but hotel is in quite neighbourhood, so noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest

It is great to know that our Hotel feels so nice, cosy and friendly that it feels like a Bed and Breakfast, if all our guest every day walked the same distance that we are from Edinburgh City Center and Back again which is 3 Miles then they would certainly greatly benefit fitness wise, so from now on we have a New Fitness Award i.e. The Ceilidh-Donia Award for walking 3 Miles every Day, Tee hee just joking but not a bad Idea either, hhmmm methinks I will get Medals made for hose Guests that manage it every day..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

we stayed here for a weekend so we could visit the christmas market in edingburgh, we were both very happy with the hotel, the staff and owners were very welcoming and friendly, breakfast was lovely with a huge choice and freshly cooked to order, its a little way out of the city but has fantastic bus routes very close by, we were very happy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Glad that may return in the future, there is no better compliment.

We hope that you well enjoyed Edinburgh's Christmas atmosphere, the City Center is a hard act to beat anywhere, the Centuries of Ghosts, memories that are generated from this Historic City and its Buildings and Topography add a certain Romance that then blends with our Traditional Hogmanay Festivities helping make me feel that there may indeed be no better place on Earth to be for these glorious two weeks that the Scots have celebrated since our Country first existed, Christmas and New year.

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The owners are warm, friendly and full of Scottish personality. The hotel is in a residential area on a side street and is very quiet. Parking is available on the street. We walked into town but buses are available just a short distance from the hotel. We had two rooms on the 2nd floor that were spacious, comfortable and most important, quiet. Breakfast each morning was a treat with so many choices. Scottish and English breakfasts were cooked to order and were the perfect way to start the day. There is a bar and snacks can be arranged. There are many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and our favorite was the Salisbury Arms, an upscale pub with a great menu and bar. Thank you Ceilidh-Donia for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Many Moons of thanks for a lovely review, not much I can add to your review you seem to have written a very thoughtful response to your stay with us, as you say we are a short walk into Town and after a Breakfast made to order I would suggest it is the ideal way to start a day in Edinburgh. Edinburgh is a Walkers paradise everything is almost within walking distance, with the exception of the The Botanical gardens, Royal Yacht Britannia, Concorde, Whisky Distilleries, Forth Bridge’s, Bass Rock, Roslyn Chapel, oops I can go on a wee bity sometimes, Tee hee hee, thanks again for a great review..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.