We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ceilidh-Donia to your Saves list
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here whilst at the Edinburgh Fringe. Clean with good refeshments in the room.

Very hospitable hosts and a good breakfast choice which is freshly made / cooked./

My wife was struggling with stairs and Annette moved us without any hassle.

The dogs are also very friendly and the puppy is a joy

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and glad to know our Breakfast are still hitting the spot, to be honest at first Tripadvisor was an intrusion into our small but orderly world with Guests commentating on the Good, the Bad and the Ugly, yea how dare they, tee hee heee but now four years on from our first review Tripadvisor is the Sharpest Tool that we have in our Toolbox and helps us immediately to remedy faults that our Guests point out to us in their Reviews, and thanks to all previous Reviewers and our puppy says hello..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    177
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
91
345
86
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely quiet and relaxing place.
Go here if you are looking for something traditional and comfortable.
We stayed here only for 3 nights but next time to sure we will stay longer.
its a good distance from the centre but it better that way as there is not alot of noise.

10/10 experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
To be able to relax and enjoy your Holday is to me what it is all about, at the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia we have rules, for sure but the most Important rule we have is to make sure our well Traveled Guests find a quiet relaxing atmosphere and a Guid Scottish Breakfast to see them through the Day and a Wee Dram of Scotch Whisky to help them dream later..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at the Ceilidh-Donia for three nights during the Edinburgh Festival. It was my third stay at the hotel and it was just as good as i remember - if not better. My room was clean and well-equipped, breakfast was excellent and the owners were friendly and approachable. I like the peace and quiet after the bustle of the Festival, and it's not far to the city centre - easily walkable, though there are frequent buses as well. Good value, too, especially compared with some hotels which charge ridiculous prices during the Festival.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, bye the way our name translated means, A Gathering of People to enjoy Food, Music, Dancing, Singing and Friendship, oops got a wee bit carried away there, if we have managed to improve since your last visit we all take that as a great compliment, my Father always said Son the day that you think that in Business you have Finished ! then you surely will be..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a lovely place to stay .Max and Annette were great hosts ,breakfast was brillant such a great choice .Lovely walk in to edinburgh through the park .Room 16 was really nice and comfortable and very quiet as it was at the back of the hotel,would stay here again when visiting edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Many Moons of thanks for a refreshingly light review, short and sweet, hey but not a Tweet, tee hee hee, seriously though I think our location is very good, next to Tennis Courts, Golf Clubs, Uniiversity Campus and Arthurs Seat our Ancient Volcano and Park, and great to know that you found the Hotel comfortable and quiet.

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Great place with excellent service and delicious breakfast! City centre is just 10 minutes taxiride, or 25 mInutes walking. Arthurs Seat is also within walking distance with its surrounding parks.

We stayed there during The Fringe Festival, and being out in a residential area, you really enjoy the quiet surroundings compared to the noisy city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Great to know that my thoughts about our Hotel and its Location are as described in this review and yes indeedy The Worlds Largest Arts Festival is on in Edinburgh and can be noisy, so to be able to come back to our almost tranquil neighbourhood can be very rewarding after a long day in the City..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Not far from the center, great selection of bottles of scotch. Nice host philosopher. Typical scottish breakfast. Confortable room and big bathroom. I suggest to stay here in case you visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks to this reviewer for his lovely comments and all the perfect three's, and nice to hear that my ramblings have come across to make me look like a Philosopher and because the review is so succinct with the review it leaves me a Wee Space to say !

The Man that ends a journey that he never began will be the Smartest Man in the World..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

A great spot a couple of miles outside the city center. This suited us perfectly, as it was very quiet while sleeping, and yet an easy walk (for us, we like walking!) to the city. We stayed for 5 nights, and our room was on the third floor (American). The quaint stairs and decor added to the charm, and we didn't find the two flights of stairs to our room a problem.We had a family room, with three beds, which were comfortable and a large bathroom (by European standards). All very nicely appointed. Breakfast were great, and we even tried some of the haggis and black pudding... Hmmm... my daughter enjoyed, but the parents thought haggis and black pudding best left to the locals! The hosts were very helpful, and were always around to get a cab for us, or to offer advice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Beauty is indeed in the eyes of the beholder and for everyone the World is indeed different and for such an old saying to be so true today with all the Information on our Computers, Phones, Ipads and all at our Fingertips, to be happy with your chosen purchase as this reviewer has written certainly makes me very happy.

It is hard anywhere in the World to be perfect all the time and wee in The Hotel Ceilidh-Donia while striving to achieve our best know that we are fallible so for this Guest to find so many happy aspects of the Hotel from our endeavours is very, very pleasing indeed, their comments from Sleeping, Walking, oops nearly wrote Sleep walking there, tee hee, quaint stairs, location and our legendary breakies, then Wow Wee, thank you Reviewer..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.