We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there twice, and will stay there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mile Residence

Save Saved
You added Royal Mile Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Mile Residence
219 Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Been there twice, and will stay there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I stayed there last year with my husband and two children. The only complaint I had is the stairs. But being in an old building, the steep stairs are natural. We love our rooms and enjoyed everything they provided: washing machine, kicthen, two bedrooms and a seperate living room... One bedroom is even bigger than most of the European hotel rooms we've been to.
I came back with my mother this time. Stayed in the apartment (#4) below I stayed last time (#6). The view was not as good as # 6, but it has less stairs for my mother to climb up. It was perfect.
It's so convenient to everything. There is also a grocery store near by, if you decide to cook for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Having read the reviews we were really looking forward to staying here for 4 nights. And it certainly lived up to its billing as regards location, and the initial appearance of the flat (3). But once we looked a little deeper we were disappointed with the overall standard. There were 4 lightbulbs out, only one of which got fixed. The flat was not cleaned at all the first night, and not very well the other 3, and the WiFi signal was so feeble I could not connect. The reception staff, though very friendly and willing, were not able to resolve these problems, and there was no-one else to escalate to. The Escape Health Club was great, and we had a good time in Edinburgh. But though the accommodation is good, the service is far from the advertised 5 star, and it was seriously overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed in Room 6, during the Edinburgh Festival. We paid a huge rate, but got a fantastic apartment. The decor is really beautiful (and unusual) and everything you need is provided. Although the street below was very noisy during the festival, up in our apartment we couldn't hear a thing.

The only drawback is the stairs. They are steep and winding and there is no lift. Difficult at the best of times, but with a suitcase it was even harder. I can't see this mentioned on either their own website or Bookings.com.

  • Liked — Beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

room 3 was clean,cosy and very well presented perfect if you are looking for a place to base yourself for a busy edindurgh weekend regardless of what you are there for .the staff were helpful and straight to our aid when required.we didnt try the escape spa etc because the weather was fantastic so it seemed a waste to be inside .the bedroom is at the back so quiet later on at night (not silent but nearly but considering your location fantastic)all in all we thought great value for money and would definately return again.

  • Liked — modern interiors and cleanliness
  • Disliked — booking in away from apartment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed at the Royal Mile Residences for two nights in May 2008. We booked the two bedroom flat , which comprised of one double room, one twin room, a large bathroom, kitchen and livingroom, for £175 a night. We were very happy with the accommodation- clean, comfortable and modern. The location is ideal, central to all tourist attractions and the train station. Also, access to a local gym is included, which is lovely. Worth noting is that you have to check in at the hostel, about a block away- not a big deal, but we were not informed of this and it caused a bit of confusion/delay when we arrived- but all in all, we thought the service was good and the Residence represented good value for money.

  • Liked — Comfort and Style
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

We visit Edinburgh frequently, usually staying at the Balmoral. It was a rugby weekend however and the prices were sky high so we decided on an apartment. After reading some of the reviews, we were a little apprehensive but had absolutely no need to be - the apartment was lovely - decor and furniture were to a high standard, bed was amazingly comfortable and the kitchen area and bathroom looked brand new. The lounge area and dining area looks out onto the Royal Mile - we had the apartment at the very top - and the bedroom looks out onto the route back to Princes St (and the clock tower of the Balmoral). We even had a little wrought iron spiral staircase going up to a little viewing terrace (just a decorated attic space really, but a nice quirk, especially for me with a glass of wine in hand as I waited for hubby to get ready) where you can admire yet another view. The apartment was nice and warm but plenty of extra blankets etc were provided, the wardrobe space was small but for a short break, it's fine. The staff were very helpful and friendly indeed - in fact they carried our bags up the (several) flights of narrow stone steps to our apartment - this is the one and only red flag I could possibly mention - the steps were by no means excessive however if you have mobility problems, don't go for Apartment 11. Would not hesitate to stay here again, it far exceeded our expectations.

  • Liked — location and decor
  • Disliked — n/a - was perfect
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

We're regular visitors to Edinburgh and frequently stay at the Glasshouse. It's a very stylish boutique hotel and we love all the luxuries and little extras – but they come at a price. For a change I thought we'd try an apartment for our stay, and am I glad we did. I certainly won't be booking hotels for our future visits.

The apartment we stayed in (Number 10) was spacious and modern and came with extras such as Molton Brown smellies, tea, coffee, milk and water and even the bed was made and apartment tidied every day! There was every modern convenience such as washing machine, iron, hairdryer, dishwasher, Sky TV and a DVD player, and the apartment was decorated in stylish browns, blacks and greys. It was a real home from home.

We had views over Princes Street which was great for watching the world go by and is also quiet at night. The apartment opposite ours (Number 11) has stunning views of Arthur's Seat but despite facing the Royal Mile itself you couldn't actually see down onto the Mile, and it would be noiser I think, but it was slightly more roomy so I would recommend that apartment too (we took a sneak peek while the housemaid was cleaning after some guests had left!)

It's situated in an old building so the only access is by a winding staircase and as the apartment is at the top that is some climb! But don't be put off if you're not the fittest person in the world, it's quite manageable and the staff kindly take your bags up for you.

There's a discount card for future stays at the end of your stay and their website recommends some really good places to eat and drink. Plus, there's free gym, pool and sauna membership included in your stay too. Friendly staff, great location, home from home – what more could anyone want?

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Stylish, comfortable and in a great location
  • Disliked — The staircase
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Mile Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Residence

Address: 219 Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 177 Specialty lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and two bedroom luxury serviced apartments located in a historic building and sharing the Royal Mile with Holyrood Palace and the Castle. Each apartment enjoys views over the Royal Mile or New Town and is lavishly decorated with all mod cons. Apartments serviced daily and guests enjoy complimentary use of Health Club & Spa. Perfect for friends and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mile Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Residence Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mile Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.