We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge to your Saves list
Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland (Cowgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. A short walk to the Royal Mile and Castle and around he corner from the Museum, We stayed as it was close to all the events for the Edinburgh Jazz Festival. The check in was friendly and the room lovely, spotlessly clean and modern. All staff we came in to contact with were helpful and warm. The one issue we had was that there was a club operating until approx 6am next door on the Saturday evening. I think it would have been quieter if we had a room at the front of the hotel. Overall, we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel so that if the neighbouring club is open at the rear, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review satcsouth!

I am delighted to read you enjoyed the accommodation offered, our location and of course our 24/7 dedicated team who take pleasure in delivering a great customer service. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property! Enjoy your summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    190
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
65
234
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Overall a fabulous hotel, great value for money and in a great location, just a minute's walk from the Royal Mile. The hotel is brand new so in good condition, very modern design which may not be to everybody's taste, the bathroom is a pod. I can highly recommend the breakfast, hot and cold buffet, again great value for money. Just a couple of niggles, there was only 1 towel each in the bathroom, not even a hand towel between the 2 guests and no shower cap. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anybody looking for a central hotel who doesn't want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear cbe001,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the accommodation offered along with our full Scottish breajfast at Fogg's. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property and will do our best to amaze you once again with some small changes we regularly like to do which often make a big difference. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have been to Edinburgh many, many times and usually stay with friends. There are no B&Bs in the Old Town and we wanted to be in that neighborhood. I booked online and got a favorable rate for a single room which had a double bed. The room was clean, large enough and had everything I needed. The wifi worked great which is a plus. The staff were all extremely kind and helpful. The breakfast (which is a bit extra) was very good. There are a kettle, a hairdryer and good TV in the room. It is just steps from the Royal Mile. For me, the only slight drawback was that large busloads of tourists stay there, too. So there were times when the reception was full of people and suitcases. Same at breakfast. But this would likely be true with any city centre hotel. I was on the 9th floor and the views were great. The bar is also nice and has an outside area.

Room Tip: Higher floor was good, lighter, better views. The lift was quite a ways away from my room, so if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Beckyatlarge,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted to read you enjoyed the accommodation offered, the food served and of course our free of charge wireless internet. We look forward to welcoming you again at our property and will do our best to meet all your expectations! See you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is one of several IBIS in Edinburgh but this is in an excellent location only 5 minutes walk from the Royal Mile and close to many sites and museums.It is in a converted old building so the rooms were actually slightly larger than normal IBIS but still usual plastic bathroom. No safe. Breakfast was of a good quality although a bit tight on seating. Excellent check in for A CLUB members.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Scotaussie,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge. I am also very glad to learn that my collaborators added to your overall enjoyment their warmth of hospitality, as our priority is to particulary look after our regular and loyal Accor customer. It will be a pleasure to share your review with my team.I would also like to confirm you we are extending our seating area in our restaurant in order to be able to welcome all of our customers for breakfast.

We all hope to seeing you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Incredibly nice, had air conditioning, great breakfast bar, close to the nightlife. Rooms are compact but comfortable! The food was hot and well prepares. The bar was well stocked and open all day. Location was in the center of the nightlife yet we felt very safe!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Beth W,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the accommodation offered and the food served at our Fogg's restaurant. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property and will do our best to amaze you once again! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were in room 327 which seemed to be beneath the washing machines, etc judging by the near-constant sound of running water and the back and forth of trolleys overhead. We put up with this for one evening then had to ask to be moved around midnight on our first night. In fairness, this was not an issue and the second room we were put in was fine. One smaller issue was that our kettle did not work. we reported this but received no replacement so had to follow this up half an hour later despite the hotel's much-publicised 15 minute satisfaction guarantee. We were offered no compensation for either inconvenience. We find it hard to believe the hotel continue to accommodate guest in this particular room since they must have had numerous complaints.

The rooms themselves are small and functional. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms but very little storage space for clothes.

We didn't frequent the bar/restaurant but it looked clean and welcoming, with food offers on both Saturday and Sunday evening.

We would have scored the rating higher if we had been put in the second room initially.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannis K, Manager at Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ian A,

Thank you for your review however I am sorry to read of the difficulties you encountered during your stay. Please allow my sincerest apologies as we always want to make sure our all of our guest experience a comfortable stay at our brand new Ibis. I will personally look into the matters you brought up to my attention, and will make sure it will not affect anyone else's stay. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again for a hassle-free stay. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge

Address: 77 South Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Cowgate , Old Town
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge is the 2nd budget hotel located in Edinburgh old town just off the Royal Mile.The hotel has 259 modern guest rooms and is within walking distance of the sights and nightlife of Edinburgh. The bar serves a selection of beers, wines, spirits as well as light meals & snacks 24 hours a day. Waverley railway station is just 0.5 km and 13 km from Edinburgh Airport. Edinburgh Old Town, the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.