We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #103 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Personal Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Apart from being very centrally located and providing good quality rooms and fixtures, the management were exceptionally helpful and efficient. As my plans had changed, I had made two separate bookings for consecutive nights. I contacted the hotel by e-mail and they offered to merge the bookings even though their system was not set up to do so. I also asked if would be possible to have a quiet room. When I arrived, in terrible weather, reception staff were very welcoming and knew all about the arrangements. They also advised that they had allocated me a room on an upper floor, well away from the lifts etc. Whilst Holiday Inn Express is normally very good, it is still not usual to get such service in a semi-budget hotel. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear MungoShrewsbury,

It was wonderful to read your review about the service you received from the hotel team regarding your reservations here at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre.

As you have said in your review, I always encourage guests to drop the hotel an e-mail or to call the Reception directly prior to arrival if anyone has a concern about their reservation or if they would like to make specific requests. In this case, I was pleased that the hotel team could join the two reservations together and allocate you the requested bedroom.

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for the positive feedback. I look forward to seeing you at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre again on a future trip to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Philip

Philip Taylor
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre
Picardy Place
Edinburgh
EH1 3JT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    512
    201
    57
    35
See reviews for
199
426
70
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in November 2010. For 2 nights in a double room I paid 218 GBP. Extremely expensive for what I got. Room was very small and the walls were very thin. I virtually heard everything my neighbours were doing :) The breakfast was decent, I absolutely loved their croissants, yammy! we could access internet free for 30 minutes after taking voucher from the receptionist, which was a plus! pretty close to princess street. Overall I recommend this hotel, but if you get for maximum 80 GBP per night, not more

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre. Our prices reflect other limited service accommodation in Edinburgh City Centre with our advance purchase 'book early and save rates' being our lowest rates when reserved more than 21 days in advance of stay. When the arrival date comes closer only our best flexible rates are shown and I am sorry that you were unable to take advantage of our discounted advance purchase rates on this occasion.

I was glad to read that you found the complimentary breakfast and internet to be the best points regarding your hotel experience. As the hotel is located inside a listed building, some of our bedroom floor plans are different from a purpose built Holiday Inn Express property. All bedroom types meet the minimum size requirements for the brand and some bedroom types also interconnect with other bedrooms. I am sorry if you found that there was noise from the bedroom next door. Our bedrooms are soundproofed and I hope that this did note spoil the overall stay at the hotel.

Many thanks again for the comments and I look forwward to seeing you at the hotel again.

Regards

Philip Taylor
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and can say was great! Its close to Edinburgh Waverley Train station, the Royal Mile, and the Castle, plus loads of shops nearby! You also have a nearby shopping and amusement centre with cinemas and bars across the road!
Don't forget to ask the receptionist for a free internet voucher too - 15 minutes for free, so you have just enough time to check those work emails!!

One to book again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear MrIncredible007,

Thank you so much for the great review about your stay at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. I was glad to read that you took advantage of the excellent location and that you enjoyed the shops, attractions, cinema and bars near the hotel. Many of the restaurants, bars and the cinema are located in the Omni Centre, directly across the road from the hotel as they offer a good selection of entertainment for guests making the hotel their base for their visit to Edinburgh.

I hope that you will decide to stay at the hotel again and I look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre.

Regards,

Philip

Philip Taylor
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Normally stay in "King James" on Leith Walk, but unable to do so this time. This Holiday Inn was not disappointing though. Easy walk from
shopping and opposite playhouse, several good pubs and eateries nearby, the "Conan Doyle" highly recommended. Bedrooms adequate is the worst thing I can say about this hotel, would be more than a "short stay" hotel if a small set of drawers were added. Hot and cold breakfasts that were as good as any were not a let down as we feared they might be, though they were a little more "refectory" than "restaurant" and, for a Scottish hotel, it's a shame there was no porridge. Overall we were delighted with our stay and it's value for money. Highly recommended by this fussy traveller and now our base of choice for Edinburgh. Plan to return in spring.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear LesByrne,

Thank you for changing your hotel choice to Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. I appreciate your feedback and I have passed on your great comments to our team. I was glad to read that you were not disappointed by Holiday Inn Express and thank you for the 5* review.

As the hotel is a Holiday Inn Express, our bedrooms are designed for short stays and include an open hanging space and shelves. Additional items such as a wardrobe or set of draws can be found at Holiday Inn properties as they are designed for longer stays.

Our complimentary breakfast buffet includes a continental selection and two daily hot choices and this is available in our 'Great Room', a multi-purpose self service area above our Reception area. Guests can help themselves to items on the buffet and either sit in our 'Great Room' area or take a tray back to their bedroom to enjoy breakfast in their bedroom. The area is designed as a general breakfast area rather than a restaurant.

As you have said, the hotel is located near a good choice of shops, bars and restaurants including the 'Conan Doyle' pub that serves pub food and cask ales.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself at philip@hieedinburgh.co.uk and I will be pleased to check availability and prices for dates in the Spring. I look forward to seeing you again at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre.

Best wishes,

Philip

Philip Taylor
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We recently stayed in this hotel. It was very clean, spacious and great value. The breakfasts were great for setting us up for the day. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh and look forward to returning.

PH Northern Ireland

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Dear Mke317f,

Many thanks for sharing your positive comments about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre. I was pleased to read that you found that hotel to offer excellent value and that you had a great stay. I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel on a future visit to Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Philip

Philip Taylor
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Just at the end of Princes Street, this hotel gives you a comfortable night, for real value. Book on the internet, and you can get a double room for under £40, including breakfast and internet connection in the room.

The breakfast room can be a bit crowded, but with similar hotels in Edinburgh charging £16 just for breakfast, this is a really minor quibble.

The room was comfortable and clean, with free internet connection. There is a car park for £5 a night. There is no restaurant, but there are loads of restaurants in walking distance. I really cannot fault this hotel, and would definitely use it again in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2010
Dear Jullan T,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a great review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre. As you have said, our room rates offer great value and also include a complimentary breakfast buffet and complimentary internet access. Our breakfast area on level two can indeed get busy and we now offer the opportunity for guests to take breakfast back to their bedroom to enjoy or to take breakfast in our lounge area on level one.

Thank you for adding in some comments about our car park. The hotel has 13 car parking spaces charged at £10 per night and they can only be reserved for blue badge holders. In response to guest feedback the £10 rate is now offered at NCP Greenside Row (under the Omni Centre). The £10 is discounted from the full 24-hour rate and this brings the charge in line with the hotel car parking rate.

Thank you again for the review and I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.

Regards

Philip

Philip Taylor
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We booked Holiday Express Inn at the last moment as we decided to travel to Edinburgh for New Year celebration. There were many good offers and we felt we got out money's worth with this hotel.

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious. There was no complimentary breakfast but facilities were provided to make tea and coffee in the room itself. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was like any standard hotel but with minimum facilities. There was a restaurant in the hotel also which was reasonable. The prices of ordering a meal in the room were too high though and we did not try that.

The only problem was the location of the hotel. It was too far from the train station and difficult to get to if you are new to Edinburgh. However, if you are comfortable with public transport, you can commute to and from the hotel to the city easily.

The hotel is really huge and the entrance is difficult to spot. One has to walk a long way and climb stairs which is tedious after a long journey to reach the reception. However, one advantage is you can ask for a room with a good view.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are comfortable with public transport.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.