We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for edinburgh playhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #103 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
motherwell North Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“good hotel for edinburgh playhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel las night for the second time. Have no faults. Rooms very clean, staff very helpful. Breakfast was very good. Drink from hotel bar was cheaper than restaurants nearby. Will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your show at the theatre too.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    509
    201
    57
    35
See reviews for
198
424
69
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

There are two Holiday Inn Express hotels in Edinburgh, one along the Royal Mile and this one about 5 or 10 minutes stroll from the station. This was the cheaper of the two, and for me, in a better spot. Right opposite the Omni Centre (with great restaurants, a cinema and pub) and just along from the St James shopping centre (with all the usual shops plus a huge John Lewis), it was also close to lots of bus routes which serve the city well. The free breakfast, which I think is standard in most Holiday Inn Express hotels, was continental with three additional hot items (scrambled egg, baked beans and sausages). Though bacon would have been a welcome extra it was a free breakfast so I find it hard to criticise too much! Staff were helpful and our room was tidied regularly and well. The bar wasn't too pricey and was well maintained. The luggage store was a handy extra so we could get the most from our last day after our 11am check out. I'd stay here again if I am ever in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review , we hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the city.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carnoustie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've used this hotel several times without any complaints. The rooms and bedding are immaculate and the included breakfast is perfectly adequate. Prices are very reasonable and the hotel is surrounded by a huge selection of restaurants and bars to suit all tastes and pockets. - also the hotel is just across the road from the Playhouse Theatre. Would recommend and stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for the great review , we really appreciate your feedback and 5 stars.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and all in all could not fault.
Pros :
CLEAN
All staff courteous and helpful, nothing to much trouble.
Quick check in and relevant information given.
Location, central and although we had a front room no traffic noise.
Cons :
Personally even soft pillow too hard, but my husband found them comfortable.
Water in shower VERY hot.
Some chairs in dining room for breakfast so heavy could not be moved for ease of access.
Room for my liking too hot, but this is a personal thing and some people would have been happy with it.

All in all we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and would stay again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your great review , we are glad you felt it was like home and enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just spend two nights in the Holiday Inn Express in Edinburgh. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We had a good rate which we booked through the hotel.
The location is awesome, about a 5 minute walk from the train station and city center.
We had a problem with our reservation the second night (seems they thought we were only there for one night). We had an email with our reservation and we forwarded it to them. It took a couple of contacts to get the rate and everything correct but they were very nice and very professional and it all worked out. The hotel is good for what we paid. We asked for two double beds ( two of us). The second double bed seemed to be a portable bed and didn't seem like it belonged in the room. It was not comfortable so we ended up sharing the double bed. If I wanted to two (semi) comfortable double beds, I might consider booking two rooms. The breakfast was average. It was extremely crowded when we were there (mid term break in the UK I think) and they did a good job trying to keep up and restock, right up to the closing time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again soon.

Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is in great location close to attractions, restaurants, shopping and theatre.
Staff very friendly and helpful
Room great, good size, clean and comfortable. Plus free breakfast.
Although on front of hotel and at ground level no noticeable traffic noise

Would I stay here again YES

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here whilst attending show at the Playhouse Theatre just opposite hotel, location is great and gives easy access to all Edinburgh attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and well presented. The breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast which suits us. Would definitely recommend and stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review , we hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.