We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Initial Promise faded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #103 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Paisley
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Initial Promise faded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The reception/bar area of this HIE is above average/similar being quite olde worlde and looking out onto the streets of central Edinburgh - especially pretty in last nights snow However once past reception it reverts to standard HIE fayre and is actually not up to standard of others I have stayed in. First the lifts are not on a level with the first floor (entrance/reception) or ground floor - you need to go up/down 4/5 steps in each case which is hardly helpful when you have luggage. I was given a room on ground floor. These are actually just below street level and you literally have people walking past less than a few metres away . Ground floor rooms at front are also very close to a busy roundabout so you can hear the traffic Room was lovely and large but bed was uncomfy and the curtains didnt quite meet in the middle without me mountainerring on a chair to persuade them to do so . Due to its location this HIE is by no means a budget hotel - and there are several small local hotels in the same area that you can get cheaper and that are in far better condition

Room Tip: at the back probably
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Zany,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay, I am sorry if you felt it was below the standard you were expecting.

Our hotel is located within a Georgian style listed building therefore is slightly different to standard express property's as you have mentioned our reception is located on the first floor and the hotel does have ground floor rooms, these we normally find are quieter rooms as they are located below street level however we do apologise if you were unhappy as this is not the intention of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your review we do hope you will return to the hotel on a future occasion and allow us to accommodate you on a higher floor.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    510
    201
    57
    35
See reviews for
199
425
69
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife & I returned last night after a 3 night break in Edinburgh. We stayed at this hotel for it's convenience in seeing Edinburgh for our first time. It is conveniently placed for all the main sights, the main railway station (Waverley) and is surrounded by some good value restaurants and bars. It is right opposite the Playhouse Theatre, and the Omni Centre so is therefore well capable of satisfying most entertainment needs. As to the hotel itself:- It is a pleasant looking building, the staff are welcoming & friendly, the rooms are quite nice but certainly qualify as small, they are not especially well heated (and it was extremely cold whilst we were there) and they are not well sound-proofed. On our first night there we heard almost everything that went on in the next room, and they were certainly enjoying themselves keeping warm in the time-honoured fashion!
We had breakfast there each morning, and it was tasty but was certainly a little on the crowded side with little room between the tables, which meant that you could not have a peaceful breakfast as someone was almost always pushing past your chair.
Would we stay there again - Yes, but I would have a check on others available to see how they matched.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (we had 622) but in doing this you cannot guarantee that they'll put someon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here in Edinburgh however disappointed to see that you were cold within your room, Edinburgh has been extremely cold of late and although this is not an excuse our heating may not seem sufficient for our guests and for this we apologise, we are always happy to provide extra duvets and blankets.

Breakfast I agree can be busy at peak times and I do hope you were not inconvenienced too much, I do hope you will return to us on a future occasion and again thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed one night on the 16th of this month, I wish it was longer. If anybody is ever attending the Playhouse across the road don't look any further this is the place to stay. Staff efficient and very welcoming, room of a high standard and the breakfast was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

Its always great to receive feedback and we truly appreciate the time it takes our guests to write reviews, tripadvisor is a great tool for guests to use when looking for somewhere to stay within our city.

I will ensure our team read your review, and once again thank you - please do return soon.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent location, everything clean and fresh, friendly staff at reception, small car park (lucky to get in) and others nearby. Taxi rank opposite. Quiet room on 5th floor. A bit small but adequate. Accepts dogs. Now the down side. 1) Couldn't find any extra blankets in the room. I slept well with my jumper on. My husband was cold and hardly slept at all. Keep the radiator on all night? Room gets stuffy. Open the window. Room gets cold again. 2) Terrible coffee. Cool rubbery scrambled eggs. We'd like to stay here again and hope these very fixable problems can be fixed. Until then, bring a hot water bottle, warm jammies and go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask if any of the rooms and bigger and ask where the extra blankets are kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Bogleburn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am very sorry to hear you were cold in your room, however if you had contacted reception we would of course provided you with another duvet or a blanket and I am sorry to hear you had an uncomfortable nights sleep due to this.

Breakfast is a standard set to IHG's regulations, we generally receive great feedback regarding this and again I apologise it you were not satisfied I will ensure your feedback is given to our breakfast supervisor.

Once again many thanks for your review,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel for central Edinburgh and smoking rooms are available;thank you.We had a top floor room with a good view of the firth over the rooftops. Reception was friendly and the room clean. Breakfast was good and there are several restaurants of all types close by. Drivers should be aware that the car park at the rear is small with few spaces. It was freezing and very slippery;a little salt would not have gone amiss. Nonetheless a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: smoking rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear CojacQ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review following on from your recent stay.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here and certainly hope you will return in the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As has been said, the hotel is in a great location. It is an easy walk to the Royal Mile and all the attractions there. Buses stop outside and are regular, plentiful & cheap.
The facade is very attractive as is the reception/ bar area. Once you get into the guest corridors, then it is a standard Express, but comfortable enough with it. I stayed on the sixth floor and the only mild grumble was the noising flooring in the corridor. Squeaky boards abound!
The Express breakfast was continually being restocked by friendly staff and though very busy, we always found a table and plenty to eat.
I stayed here with a group of friends for the recent rugby international. Whilst the hotel was full, there was never any noise and I never got the impression the staff felt under pressure.
I would happily stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Welshman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

Indeed the exterior of the hotel is something we are very much proud of and it is great that your comments agree with this, I know our team work hard and it always great when feedback is given to compliment them, I will certainly ensure it is passed over.

Once again many thanks for your kind review and I certainly hope to be able to welcome you on a future occasion,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel, but it was very nice, very clean, very comfortable. The only downside is that it is about a ten minute walk uphill to the old part of town, where the majority of the sights and restaurants are. Other than that - it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tlawish,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay at our hotel, I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your time here.

We are as you say about a ten minute walk from the Royal Mile which is as you have mentioned the older end of the city we do however still have a fantastic central location and are close by to Princes Street, Carlton Hill, The Edinburgh Playhouse and many other attractions and beautiful sites.

I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion and again many thanks for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.