We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything on you doorstep!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland (Broughton & Calton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #105 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Everything on you doorstep!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited with my daughter - shopping trip!! Our room was quite small and basic BUT clean and comfortable. The breakfast was more that adequate. Just across the road is the Playhouse Theatre, a multi sceen cimema and loads of eateries lke La Tasca, Weatherspoons etc.There is also a night club so we did here a little noise.Opposite is a shopping centre which more or less leads you to Princes Street in a few minutes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Kavishh,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your time in the city and our hotel and we hope we can welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    564
    221
    61
    37
See reviews for
223
472
73
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1night in February. Hotel was brilliant, clean, well equipped and friendly staff. We were in Edinburgh to see Cats at the playhouse and thought a nights stat would be perfect across the road. Would recommend to anyone staying in Edinburgh who wants to be near shops and landmarks.

However!

We saw online the hotel had some parking reserved for guests. I called in the morning to double check this and they said the parking was full but the Omni ncp parking across the road offers a discounted rate for HIE guests. We arrived at 16:00 on the Sunday evening and left on Monday night around 22.00 with a parking charge of £29.00. This was an extra expense and more than we had expected. We would like to find out if the receptionist discounted our parking token correctly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear YFB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

With regards to the car parking that does sound slightly high, however the car park is independantly owned by national car parks and although the hotel has negotiated a discount of 10% this is not a set rate and is only discounted from the final rate, our team member would have swiped your token which would have allocated the discount from the total amount due therefore I can only assume the price they charged you was correct as I am confident the discount was given at the hotel.

Thank you for your review and I do apologize if you were inconvenienced, I hope you will return on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We try to go to Edinburgh at this time each year to see a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse, this year the Drifters.

We have always stayed at this hotel mainly for the proximity to the Playhouse (just across the road) and a few minutes' walk to all amenities, ie Princes Street, St James centre. Also very convenient for eateries. A wee bit further takes you to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Typical HIE brand, not much different from others - comfortable and providing all necessities.

Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Buffet breakfast is better than some HIE's we have stayed in, always being replenished. If you arrive at the right time, you can park in the hotel's car park, cost £10. However if it's full, they have an arrangement with a car park across from the hotel (NCP?) which also costs £10 for 24 hours.

A big influence is the fact that they still have "smoking" rooms on the sixth floor. It's not much fun in the winter having to stand outside, especially when we were there this year with freezing northerly windy blasts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

I am delighted to see that you are a returning guest to our hotel, we do indeed still provide smoking rooms and we do have a car park with 9 spaces priced as you have correctly stated at £10.00, however the NCP prices have now increased to £13.50 which is given when a token is handed to reception.

I hope you enjoyed the Drifters and we look forward to accomodating you on your next visit, Edinburgh is very much looking forward to the performance of the Lionking at the Playhouse!

All the best,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A short walk from Waverly station this hotel is in an excellent location. The Holiday Inn express are much the same everywhere, the decor in the bedroom to the "pod style" bathroom. This one doesnt disappoint, near most attractions this hotel is a must for the night life, some good restaurants - a stone throw away.
However, like most Holiday Inn expresses, you dont really want to spend vast amounts of time in the hotel, basically because it (and neither do the chain of expresses) cater for the "stay in the hotel" visitor and it isnt what its about in a city location. Breakfast excellent and even provides a small hot selection of sausage, egg and toast.
Downside is we couldnt get a drink after 12 but that isnt a big deal! I would definitely go back on business or pleasure. Paid around £50 for the room excellent value

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following on from your recent stay.

You are correct that we are just a short walk from the train station and nearby tourist attractions aswell as carlton hill which has beautiful views of the city, I am sorry to hear however that you were unable to get a drink at our bar as it closes at 1.30am, I will certainly investigate as to how this happened as this is not the time the bar should close.

Once again many thanks for your kind review, I do hope to be able to welcome you on your next visit to the city,

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for one night as we were going to see a show at the playhouse. Check-in was easy and simple. Staff were welcoming and full of info. You can park in the hotel car park for £10 per day. On check out, the staff were the same: asking if we enjoyed our stay/needed a taxi/wished us a nice day.

The room was big, comfortable bed and very clean. The heating could be turned up/down and there was a tv and hairdryer too. Bathroom clean and shower was good. It was a quiet room and i slept well.

We used the bar in the evening. It had a good atmosphere and was fairly busy. Breakfast was good but the hotel was very busy and therefore there were a lack of tables although both breakfast areas were open (to be expected on a saturday at 9.45!). There was 'help yourself'
tea/coffee/juice, cereals, pastries and sausage/egg. It was nice.

The hotel is right across from the playhouse theatre and St James Centre. Its 5 minutes walk to Princes Street and St Andrews Sqaure.

If you are looking for a good, fairly simple hotel in Edinburgh - stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Siobhan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review following on from your recent stay at our hotel.

I am so pleased to hear you found our team to be helpfull and friendly, they work very hard and I know they will be delighted to see this has been recognized, thank you for your detailed review I'm also sure this will be of great help to our guests when researching our hotel.

We certainly do hope to be able to welcome you once again on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on the evening of the English floods following 4 1/2 train delay ! No food on the train past Doncaster so arrived a little peckish at 21.30 to find no restaurant -I was advised there was a tesco express around the corner didn't want to chance heating up a microwave meal with a hairdryer so consoled myself with the thought of a cup of sweet tea and surely a complimentary packet of Edinburgh shortbread! Not a biscuit in sight not even a custard cream.....what a disappointment and not even a sneaky vending machine don't the Scots have a sweet tooth couldn't believe it ...come on Edinburgh give us something to dunk and turn the heating up for us southern softies a bit chilly too did use the hairdryer after all to warm the bed up !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are a Holiday Inn Express hotel therefore I am not sure if you are aware of the brand standards for our type of our hotel, unfortunately we have no restaurant, we are however centrally located with a wealth of restaurants and takeaways seconds from the hotel, again due to our brand standards we do not offer biscuits within our rooms however they are available at reception to accompany bar tea and coffees and I’m sure our front desk team would have been happy to provide them for you, we do have a vending machine on the first floor adjacent to reception.

Again we do have a kitchen and the team would have assisted you with heating your meal up had you wanted something from Tesco as I am aware that the 'Hairdryer' would not have been sufficient.

I do apologize that you were inconvenienced however I believe given the chance our team would have happily helped you.

I certainly do hope you will consider returning to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to see the city for the first time. We felt really welcome, the staff was friendly and helpful at any time. The beds were comfy, the rooms clean. I felt really relaxed at this hotel and it was so easy to get to the centre by foot, the Waverley Station is a 10 minutes walk, this is also where you have to get off if you take the airport bus Airlink 100 (the bus takes approx. 25 minutes from the airport).
There are two small negative things I need to mention but I will stick to the 5 stars because the overall experience was really good. So number 1: It was a bit cold if you slept next to the window because they didn't close properly (but the heating worked fine and the blanket was nice and warm). Number 2: The breakfast area is too small, thus it was very crowded and there were queues in front of the toasters, and one of the two toasters started to send up black smoke after a while. However, these things seems to be a general problem at Holiday Inn Express hotels, both the small breakfast areas and the burning toasters. Here's my advice for the hotels: Take a look at Belfast's Holiday Inn Express. They used to have a small breakfast area, but refurbished a few years ago and it's just perfect now (not sure about the toasters ;) ).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review following on from your recent stay, we certainly appreciate your positive comments I am however sorry to hear you were inconvenienced at breakfast we do understand the area can become busy at peak times I wasnt aware the toaster was broken and i will certainly follow this up with our breakfast supervisor.

Once again many thanks, and I do hope to be able to welcome you to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.