We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland (Broughton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Norwich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for a city break in Edinburgh. The hotel itself is in an excellent location with the Omni centre just over the road offering a selection of bars, restaurants and a cinema.
The main centre of Edinburgh is a 10 minute walk away to Waverly Station that has good bus services and is ideally suited for the castle and the Royal Mile.

The hotel is typical of the Holiday Inn express style however I would advise against the basement rooms as they are small and overlooked by the street at the front of the property. However the staff were excellent and allowed us to change rooms without any fuss.

This is a popular hotel and breakfast does get a bit busy but you can eat downstairs in the bar as well as upstairs and this is generally more relaxed.

All in all this is a great little hotel, in a very good location and I would definitely recommend it for a visit to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Tommy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We do take pride in our team and location and I am glad that this reflects on the review you have made, it is important for us to receive all feedback, whether good or bad and indeed we truly appreciate yours.

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    457
    171
    50
    25
See reviews for
176
370
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was more than adiquate with lots to choose from. We went to breakfast at 8 every morning but I know that after 9 it gets very busy so the earlier the better. We had our flight in the evening so when we checked out the staff put our suitcase in the luggage room (this is free) so we could enjoy the last day without dragging it around all day. The only downside (which is a minor complaint) is that our TV control didnt work properly which was annoying as you have to go through the menu everytime you swich it on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear

Thanks you for your lovely reveiw about the hotel. I am sorry that you had an issue with the remote control i have passed your feedback on to the maintenance engineer to check.

Thank you for your kind comments about the breakfast you are correct in saying that the area does get very busy after nine,

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Max Lvov
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, tired room,un comfortable bed, quite room. Breakfast poor quality ingredients. If you get a deal maybe a place to crash, do not pay off street rate as there are better hotels in same price bracket in grass market area. Slightly better than travellodge.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Andy M

Thank you for writing your review about your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express. It is unfortunate that you did speak with the reception team on departure were they could have addressed your issue with breakfast and your bed.

Breakfast is complimentary and is "Hot Choice" sausages, scrambled eggs and beans with a full continental choice of croissants and toast orange juice, morning rolls, cereals and hot drinks and cold drinks.



yours Faithfully
Alexander Cameron
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and partner stayed at the hotel as we were going to a show at the Edinburgh Playhouse and then to GHQ club for a night out so this hotel was ideal.

Reception area is lovely, and check in was great; the staff were very friendly.

We stayed in a room on the third floor with a view of the Playhouse. Room was basic but clean and really big. Will be returning again in December.

Room Tip: Central and very good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear kevgeb

Thank you for writing a revi9ew about your recent stay at the hotel ,your positive feed back is great
for the team in Edinburgh and your comments will be passed on .

I am please to see that you shall be returning to the hotel in December.

Kind Regards

Catherine Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Crouch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night, 2 adults, 2 children. Room comfortable, sofa bed not comfortable for 2 people, but ok for one night. Service on arrival was excellent, very friendly. Great location, though I was pleased we were at the back of the hotel as it seemed a very lively area! Breakfast very busy but waiting staff were clearing tables quickly and were always smiling. Good breakfast, everything tasted fresh and you could choose whatever you wanted from the buffet - perfect with children. It was just a short walk from Princes Street so you could access everything very easily. We asked for a late checkout (2pm) and this was no problem at all. That really made a difference to us because it meant we didn't have to drag bags round with us before our onward trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Justine P

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh City Centre.

You are correct that our hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s New Town within a historic Georgian Style listed building. Surrounded by both nightlife and top tourist attraction sites makes this area of town lively both day and night.

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay. I was pleased to read your positive comments both reception and breakfast staff.

We offer a free breakfast at Holiday Inn Express allowing our guests to come for breakfast at a time of their choosing it can become a busy area for a short period of time.

I am pleased to know that you were able to check out later on the day of departure. Also I would like to add that we do have left luggage facilities in our hotel in case if you need to leave your bags after check out time.

I am very sorry that you found the sofa bed uncomfortable, but it is only a folded up bed.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope I am able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Max Lvov
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in Oct, asked for quiet rooms but were allocated street front rooms directly opposite the door to the lift and stairs. Immediately called to object as I had specifically asked to be place away from street noise but was told that although the request was on our reservation it had been missed and that the hotel was full but we could have earplugs from reception. Got no sleep at all between the street noise and the clattering door in the hallway. Asked to be moved for our second night which we thankfully were and were very grateful to actually get some sleep. Complained to the hotel and to IHG customer services but response has basically been 'sorry but requests can not always be accommodated' which would be fair enough had the receptionist not told me that our request had simply been overlooked.

Our second night's stay was actually great and had we been placed in rooms to the back of the hotel to begin with we would have had no complaints whatsoever.

The biggest issue is that the hotel obviously know there is a problem with noise, judging by the other comments on here and the offering of earplugs at reception, but are clearly not willing to accept that it is a serious issue for guests who are unfortunate enough to end up in a room at the front of the hotel or near the door to the lift!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear MumwithToddlers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent experience at our hotel, I can assure you all feedback is taken seriously and used for team training.

I am aware of your complaint to IHG aswell as the hotel directly and indeed have taken the time to read the report given by the manager on duty, I have also checked the rooms you stayed in and they were placed at the rear end of the hotel, whilst we always do our very best to accommodate guests needs we cannot guarantee that the hotel will always be quiet, we are centrally located and therefore noise can be heard from street level and sometimes guests returning to there rooms, I am sorry however that this gave you reason to complain and I am pleased that the team were able to move you on the second night of your stay, I am unsure of what other solution we can offer with regards to noise however have taken your comments on board.

Thank you however for your review, and we hope one day you will return to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night and found rooms very comfortable.Hotel is in excellent location for Edinburgh playhouse and all surrounding restaurants. Friendly staff.Would choose here if visiting playhouse theatre as its opposite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear LinLin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.

You are correct that we have the perfect location for the Edinburgh Playhouse which is directly opposite, great for catching events and shows.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.