We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank

Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank to your Saves list
Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   17 Beaverbank Place, Edinburgh EH7 4FB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
1 review
“A disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Misleading website advertising apartment accomodation. On arrival clearly a hostel. Staff were very rude, poor customer service. Rooms and bathroom had not been cleaned with hairs and grime. Staff kept us up until 2am with continual slamming of doors, talking and laughter. Grossly overpriced and misleading to consumers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
2
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good points
The Price
Ensuite
Eateries and pubs nearby
Shuttle Bus
Internet

Bad Points
Long discussion with 'jobs worth' about the access at 1300 hrs. Said Booking.com were wrong.
Finally another student arrived and said it was OK. Sent first student to check the room had been cleaned. The floor was filthy. The noisey extractor stayed on for half an hour every time the bathroom door was opened.
No card reader - students taking payment using laptop.
Finally allowed into room, had to collect bed linen from entrance hall. No kettle in kitchen. One was supplied later that afternoon. No cooking utensils appart from a wooden spoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Beaverbank for two nights before moving on to see the Highlands of Scotland. Main complaint was cleanliness - the place was filthy - both the room and the shared kitchen. Other than that the room was comfortable enough if not for the ear-splitting bathroom fan the last reviewer mentioned - annoying but not the end of the world. 'Reception' was a trestle table in the corridor - and when we arrived on the first day at 8am to the "24 hour reception" we waited for 45 mins before anyone appeared and we could drop our bags and go and find some breakfast - tiring after 8 hours on the London-Edinburgh Sleeper train... And no one told us about the shuttle bus the last reviewer talks about - would have been nice to know about that as we were walking in every day! All in all - my recommendation to others would be spend a few extra quid and go somewhere that gets the basics right (i.e. its clean and there is some level of service). You expect a student hall of residence to be a bit sketchy but this wasn't worth the saving.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms - you'll need to keep the curtains closed if you want any privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have just returned home from our stay at Beaverbank student apartments for our weekend break in Edinburgh. The accommodation was very basic, having to pay additional supplements for towels and parking. When added up, this was expensive to stay given this was summer student accommodation.
On the plus side all the staff were friendly, even though there was a mix up about how much we had to pay for additional supplements. The shuttle service provided for residents was excellent! The drivers were particularly friendly, helpful providing useful information about places in Edinburgh.
However, our nights stay were not great. £5 for a towel and the loudest extractor fans in the bathroom I have ever experienced interrupted our sleep. We were surprised there were no glasses in the room so we could have a drink of water. (Very basic requirement!) Although there were cups and glasses in the shared kitchen, they were dirty, probably sitting there for some time. The kitchen required a good clean and I would have been unhappy to prepare food there.
Unfortunately, we had to change rooms for our second nights stay as there was no electricity in our apartment.
So in summary, our stay at the Beaverbank was unsatisfactory. We were glad to leave for an early start on our return journey home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank

Address: 17 Beaverbank Place, Edinburgh EH7 4FB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank Edinburgh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Scotland - Beaverbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.