We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #48 of 146 Hotels in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One night stay on Friday 1st May.One of the very best hotels i have stayed in .The room was spotlessly clean, bed huge and very comfortable loved the layout of the room curtains when closed left room in complete darkness which was great no internal or external noise at all .Staff impeccable , polite , friendly. Overall a gteat stay and looking forward to returning

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    208
    69
    20
    8
See reviews for
88
276
28
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found the hotel to be a bit of a mixed bag. The free wifi is a big plus (logs you out after 15 minutes of not using it but not while you are) and unusual for the Hilton brand. All the staff were pleasant and professional. The location is sufficiently central that all the main attractions are within easy walking distance. In spite of facing onto the road there wasn't much noise - certainly not enough to cause a problem. The room was long and thin with the window at one end so really quite dark, however it was of an adequate size and the only other issue was the air conditioning, which had a mind of its own. When I switch something off, I expect it to stay off. We didn't bother to mention this to the staff. Breakfast offered the typical hotel wide range of options although I am not keen on tiny packets of plastic cheese. The main problem was the service. We were there for 4 nights; for three mornings we had to wait far too long for someone to take the tea & coffee order, and complained to a server on the third day. The fourth day they had obviously taken note as we were pounced upon on arrival and there was no delay at all (although we still had to call someone over for a refill on the coffee, rather than it being offered). We raised this when checking out and to be fair the receptionist dealt with it appropriately without having to 'go and ask her manager' first so seemed empowered to deal with it herself. It's just a shame that she had to deal with it at all. There are probably better hotels to stay in, but no doubt much worse too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on business, found the hotel to be very average and as a result overpriced. I had a nice view of the castle from an average room, small bath but no outstanding features. Breakfast was also ok. The meeting rooms are in a separate building just down the street, clean modern rooms with all the facilities you need. Lunch again average!

Room Tip: Castle room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

During our trip to the UK we decided to spend a weekend in Edinburgh because the forecast was rainy. Though it never rained, we had the ultimate pleasure of staying at Doubletree By Hilton. Wow, what an amazing hotel!!! A true jewel. Superbly clean, appropriate sized rooms, wonderful breakfast and truly hospitable staff. They are not just professional hosts, they actually care about you. Highly recommended.

The City of Edinburgh should include Doubletree to the list of recommended sites. Would love to come back without a second thought.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Armughan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for also bringing the weather.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to Edinburgh on Sunday afternoon after having spent Friday/Saturday in Glasgow. It was a quite a long (but interesting) walk from Waverley, it took around 15 minutes but it was pleasant as we got to take in a lot of Edinburgh on the way. Haymarket is closer and there is also a closer bus stop for the airport link which the kind reception staff told us about. Loved the cookie on check in and was exactly what i needed after a long train journey! The staff from check in to check out were so friendly and helpful. We were there on a Sunday night so didn't experience any street noise, in fact i don't think i heard another human being (apart from my partner) once in the room until the next morning around 9am when you could hear guests making their way down the corridor. The room was ample for us, and we loved the King Bed - ridiculously comfortable! The design of the room was masculine and very sleek, the arm chair and art work were nice touches. The shower and bathroom were compact but all functional and the pressure/heat was good. The breakfast buffet was ok (not as good as the Glasgow hotel we'd stayed in) but we found ordered items fantastic, the pancakes were light, fluffy and delicious, and i've never had such a big bowl of porridge! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear JenH1984,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent visit.

Although I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am sorry to read that we have been pipped to a 2nd place in terms of breakfast offering.

I appreciate your time and glad to read that the a la carte offerings were appreciated and hit the spot.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I remember when this hotel was The Point & I must admit the hotel has been done up really well

It is much lighter & the rooms have all been done to a higher standard

The rooms are large mine had 2 doubles / large bathroom / tea coffee in hand

The breakfast was fresh and a good choice
The haggis was great

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Davidjohn,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst on business in Edinburgh and for sharing your experience.

I am happy to read that the hotel met with your needs and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed three nights during a weekend holiday together with my sister in a twin room on the second floor, with breakfast included in the price.

The staff was overall very friendly and helped us with whatever we needed which is always very appreciated (and anticipated). Hilton beds are, as always, very comfortable, even though I would have liked one of the pillows to be smaller. A big plus for the kingsize blankets though!

The food was a big drawback, and I can honestly not understand how the overall Tripadvisor user can rate the breakfast as "excellent" and "amazing". My only explanation to this is that most of the reviewers are from Great Britain where food overall sadly seems to be on a rather low level. During all three days, the overall breakfast rating could not be considered to be anything else than significantly below international average. Here are just some of the issues:
- The bacon was cold. Not lukewarm, but cold.
- The selections of bread was very boring - just plain, withe toast bread and one darker loaf. No bread had nuts/fruit/seeds on or in it, making the taste very blend and boring.
- The selections of items that goes with the bread, such as cheese, was almost non-existing. Two types of pre-packed cheese, one type of sausage and two types of jam. No ham, vegetables (like cucumber, pepper or tomato) that goes with the sandwiches, sliced cheese, etc.
- No ice provided to the lukewarm drinks (juices).
- The belgian waffle, ordered from a menu, was undercooked, had a lack of colour and was poorly presented straight on a plate. No garnish what so ever besides a small bowl of chocolate sauce.

The food from the roomservice was equally bad - blend, boring and felt like it was pre-cooked and packed in a factory a week earlier.

I am honestly surprised of the low standard of a Hilton hotel. The Hotel Management and Head Chef should go to Hilton Prague, Clarion Stockholm-Arlanda or any other western-european hotel that knows how to serve a proper breakfast. Here are some images, just as an example:
http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/01/ec/18/8d/breakfast-in-executive.jpg
http://frontface.se/magazine/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Frukost-2.jpg
http://www.tnetnoc.com/hotelphotos/570/117570/2631759-Clarion-Hotel-Amaranten-Dining-1-DEF.jpg

Besides the bad food, the hotel lacks a good interior. The floor space outside the elevator on the second was floor was completly empty. A big flower, some couches or anything else would really add a valuable touch to the non-welcoming environment. Again, have a study visit to Hilton Prague and you will find what I mean.

The room layout was a little strange, but still OK except for that the TV was not in front of the beds. The bathroom was small.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronald_little, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Brumbler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us allowing us an opportunity to make changes to our offerings.

Although there are items which do not suit our regular clientèle, we can clearly add more to our breakfast offering to enhance the buffet to suit more of our guests.

We will review this in the coming weeks and start to make changes to our offering, adding more meats, fresh cheeses and a greater selection of breads to be more inclusive.

I appreciate your feedback and apologise that the breakfast offering we currently have in place did not match your needs.

Kind regards

Ronald Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.