We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend away! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland (South Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #52 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
1 review
“Lovely weekend away! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a weekend just before Christmas. We were able to get into our room before 2pm and had a beautiful room with views of the castle. Location of hotel is brilliant for city centre- about a ten minute walk to Princes Street. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    139
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
178
17
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Got a room a few days before christmas for £60 for 2 of us including breakfast. Lovely hotel and we were warmly welcomed at reception with a cookie. The room was big with a large comfy bed, widescreen tv free wifi and a big bathroom. Got a great nights sleep in the massive bed. The breakfast was also great plenty of everything even when it was busy

Room Tip: Go for one of the highest floor possible for castle views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The warm (calorific!) cookie was a nice touch. Check in took quite a long time as we asked if we could change a twin room to a double so that our 2 rooms could be closer together. Receptionist said they wouldn't be able to and despite the fact that earlier that morning, the online check in process was showing 20+ rooms free in the hotel, she told us that they were fully booked. I said it was fine and that we would take the allocated rooms but a lot of time was wasted when she checked with her manager, who then basically told us the same thing.

On check in, only one of our rooms was ready and we were told it would be another 30 mins for the 2nd room to be ready.

We went up to the twin room to leave our bags etc. Room was clean and spacious. The two beds are a good size.

Unfortunately, there was no mirror at the work desk which was a bit inconvenient. Quite often, people use these desks for drying hair etc. and most hotels do have a mirror positioned there.

The bathroom was clean enough, though had strange marks over the walls, which I found a bit off putting, considering the hotel was only refurbished in January 2014. We had a shower over the bath, with a shower curtain. Why, oh why, don't hotels invest in shower screens?! I dread to think about how often the curtains are cleaned or replaced...

Bathroom didn't have any plastic cups or glasses which was inconvenient and we had to ask housekeeping for an extra couple of glasses to use for toothbrushes, mouthwash etc. For me, this is a basic requirement but the staff seemed to find this a strange request. Tissues were provided but they were up on a really high shelf, which I had no way of reaching!

The bins in both the bathroom and bedroom didn't have plastic bin liners. Surely by using these, it means that housekeeping can save some time? Also, I dread to think about what ends up in the bottom of some of these bins with no liners!!

Our other room was a double and it said H Honors on the door so we expected there to be a little perk. Apart from the view of Edinburgh Castle, there was no difference between the two rooms. No bottled water or anything complimentary. Same level of housekeeping found in this room.

We had breakfast the following morning and the usual hot buffet style with continental options was available. We were seated but not asked if we wanted tea or coffee! We had to go and ask a member of staff for this. Also, the cups on our table were dirty so we had to ask for 4 new ones. Breakfast was fine - potato scone, sausages and scrambled egg were all really nice.

Check out was very efficient and the receptionist booked a taxi for us.

The hotel is in a good location and close to local restaurants and shops, with Princes Street being about a 10 minute walk away.

As we stayed the weekend before Christmas, there was a lot of noise around the hotel as there are bars right next door. There was also a lot of movement in the hotel itself and you can hear every footstep in the corridors so if you value a good night's sleep, then it maybe isn't the hotel for you.

I do think the hotel could up its game a bit. It's fine for a one night stay but I wouldn't rush back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts. Ask for floor 4 as it's the highest floor in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Breakfast was poor. Selection is limited and expediency and accuracy in order was limited. Had a heating problem in the room - not resolved adequately. Staff response at check out was great but a bit late.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was perfectly located in the City Center. Easy walk to all the major sites. Hotel staff friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and quiet. Had a great view of Edinburgh castle! Trendy, comfortable bar for drinks.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed for a couple of nights for a pre christmas weekend in Edinburgh. I had been a little concerned when booking that the location may be a little out of the way, but it is literally a few minutes walk to Princes Street and easy access to the Castle and Royal Mile. Overall, the location was excellent.

We were on the 4th floor in a Castle View room, which was very nice. My wife had a couple of comments about the layout of the room (lack of storage for example), but they were all quite minor things.

Breakfast was very good and the staff were all very helpful. The bar was good and the staff there were friendly.

I'd certainly stay again next time we're in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed the breakfast (although I went out for coffee at other coffee shops nearby). Good variety and delicious. The in room service was excellent and food was warm and good. Fluffy pillows and duvet. Had a good rest except for street noise (very busy this time of year so people were out all hours of the night, and very loud about it!) - Room 308 Extremely helpful staff

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre

Address: 34 Bread Street, Edinburgh EH3 9AF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh enjoying beautiful views of the city and castle, the iconic listed hotel boasts 138 modern guest rooms, Bread Street Brasserie, Monboddo Bar, roof top terrace and conference centre with 3 meeting and event rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HotelsClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.