We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal, quiet atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackfriars

Blackfriars
57-61 Blackfriars St, Edinburgh EH1 1NB, Scotland
+44 131 558 8684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,901 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $23 - $36
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, quiet atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch during Fringe. In a city of noisy, crowded restaurants, Blackfriars was a gem just a few feet from the well beaten path. One of the best meals we ate on our trip. All ingredients were incredibly fresh, and dishes were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    32
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soap Lake, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“for a week in August 3rd thru 8th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent little restaurant just around the corner from our hotel at Holiday Inn Express. Most pleasant young ladies servers and though the menu was short the food was excellent. Very much enjoyed the black bread made on site and their Steak Dinner was excellent. Local brews were also very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a restaraunt with a bar adjoining; the menu is short and seems to be exactly the same in both but the bar is open all afternoon as well as for lunch and dinner. The food is inexpensive (dearest thing on the menu was £11) and quite excellent. The wine list good value and imaginitive and there ws also a scottish lager (Schiehallion) I had never encountered before in the bar which was very good. The staff are superb, helpful and knowledgable and we met the owner on one day who was unassuming but should be proud of his establishment. This is not a posh dining place but for an informal lunch or supper it was the best we found. Also surprisingly quiet but bearing in mind they have not been open long I expect that will soon change.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great low key restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A limited menu choice was just what we needed in the festival to fit between shows - but what they did they did very well. Delicious Hake, Pigeon and Steak had by our party. Low key style with friendly relaxed staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

this is a little of the beaten track, although during the Fringe we beat many tracks! The food is excellent - try the pork pie and the waitresses smiley and efficient. The interior is a little sparse - a bit works' canteen but more than made up by everything else. NOTE the sign outside is still that of the previous occupant "BO"

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfriars also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackfriars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.