We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Edinburgh-Royal to your Saves list
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1 BL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel was a bargin find. We were very surprised to also find a stylish, modern and very comfortable hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated and provide everything you need for a pleasurable stay including free wifi. Usually stay in either premier inn or travel lodge but can honestly say will chose motel one for all future stays. The staff were amazing too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    339
    108
    23
    15
See reviews for
76
390
88
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in feb first impressions were good nice cosey lounge and modern decor . Rooms tiny could even swing a cat and hotel layout a nightmare on 4th floor and you have to go to 5th floor on lift then along round along n down a flight of steps to 4th floor , can't even get a direct lift to where room is situated . Very confusing. No telephone in rooms also so can't get help when needed , also no parking on site so costs 3 pound per hour on metre or 20 pound to park overnight and hotel supposedly give you 20%off once you collect your car however when we u collect car you have to put ticket in machine to get car out dnt therefore need to pay , was told to go and collect car and come back and they would validate it however this is not the case so overall reasonable hotel and reasonable price but with added extra if you need to drive here

Would try somewhere else next time however location is fab

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My friend and I were in Edinburgh to see War Horse at the Festival Theatre. when we tried to book a hotel a few months ago, they were all very expensive, because the Scotland/England rugby international was on that weekend. My friend found this hotel a couple of months ago. We were amazed at the reasonable price and even more amazed when we arrived and saw the high standard of accommodation and service. We paid £10 extra for a front facing room with a lovely view. The room had twin beds, bay window and separate shower room and toilet. when we returned from the theatre we had a coffee and a liqueur in the bar. ( They had no Amaretto - the only fault I can find! But the Baileys was fine. )The buffet continental breakfast had a good selection of bread and pastries and cold meat and cheese. checkout was not until noon, so we had time for a stroll around Princes Street before checking out.

Room Tip: The front facing room had a great view, but the street noise until the early hours might keep you aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was the second time we stayed in this hotel and again could not fault it. The room was clean and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Also an excellent central location, it meant we could walk back from our restaurant without having to grab a taxi, a brilliant advantage as the night we stayed the rugby was on and the city centre was busy. £84 per room per night is a brilliant rate for an Edinburgh hotel, especially one so central. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotlandwell
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are great supporters of the Scottish Rugby Union team and we decided to make a week-end of it. My better half got on the internet and found this newly renovated and refurbished hotel in the grassmarket at a great price through bookings.com. Obviously there was no wear and tear and the staff were very friendly. It is so handy if you are going shopping in Princess Street and so accessible from Waverley station. The room we had was clean and comfortable with television and shower. Being centrally located meant that all the great features Edinburgh has
are on the doorstep and 10 minutes from the imposing Edinburgh Castle and the other tourist attractions. Mary Kings Close is one not to miss. BTW there is no phone in the rooms but Wi-Fi is available. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try and get a northern facing room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostock, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here twice with a friend for a city trip over the weekend. Situated right in the heart of the city center this hotel lies within a stone’s throw to Waverley station and the airport shuttle bus stop and is just a within a few minutes’ walking distance to Princes Street and the Old and New Town.

The rooms were quiet, clean and equipped with all necessities including a nice and spacious bathroom, kettle and a Euro socket. We had lovely continental self-service breakfast with a variation of foods to choose from.

At night the bar in the lobby is a nice comfy place to have a few drinks and relax. During both our stays the staff at the reception and bar have always been friendly and efficient. Kieran at the bar was helpful to recommend places to visit in and around Edinburgh apart from the usual attractions, which enriched our stay a lot.

All in all a great hotel at a good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

£69 per night for a central hotel in a major city is excellent. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. As the hotel is where the airport bus leaves/arrives it is a prime position. Not to mention it is easy walking distance to everywhere central. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Edinburgh-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Edinburgh-Royal

Address: 18-21 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1 BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Edinburgh-Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal has prime position in the hub of the city, on bustling Market Street, a stone’s throw from the Waverley Railway Station and the Royal Mile, close to the shopping strip, main attractions, businesses, and popular nightlife.Based on the concept "Great design for little money" the Motel One brand offers high standards of service and great design for budget conscious guests in city centre locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Edinburgh-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Edinburgh-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.