We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bite in the city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Third Man

The Third Man
14Queensferry Street, Edinburgh, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #425 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent bite in the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

In the middle of all the fast food and other bad food restaurant, the place makes the difference. With a good variety of meal and a individual service if you chose to sit, we can have our meal in real plate. The sandwiches are made on the day as the soup and pastry. I recommend to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hearty soups and other bits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As soon as you walk into this place, you get an impression that a lot of thought has gone into interior design. The menu has famous Edinburgh soups, homemade sandwiches and cakes and Segafredo coffee. The place is clean and staff are very friendly (and chatty!).

A gem of a place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best mocha in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Recently had a mocha from the third man & felt compelled to write a review as it was so good!
The barista asked me more questions than I have ever been asked before about how I would like my mocha. I felt a little embarrassed. How ever I got the perfect mocha

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“italian coffee in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you're looking for a sip of real Italian espresso visit The Third Man. I wouldn't expect to find such a good coffee in Edinburgh (no offense ;-)) Good place for recharging your batteries. Brilliant interior, great service, perfect content. :-) Cheers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice clean arty lunch spot with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a long lunch in here whilst waiting for a train from Haymarket on a cold and windy day. Lovely soup, great sandwich and then followed by a light n fluffy homemade cake and gorgeous coffee. Only a shame there's so much roadworks going on so it's kind of difficult to stumble upon. All in all very reccomended tho, cheap and central, interesting decor and good art on the wall. A perfect refuge from the bustle!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Third Man also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Third Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Third Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.