We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments to your Saves list
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments) (Southside & Holyrood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ideal Location and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Thistle Residence is located in the heart of Edinburgh in an area known as Quarter Mile.

There are several popular restaurants and pubs beside this establishment and the management of the hotel apartments are very kind and welcoming.

Ideal for anyone going to Edinburgh for the first time

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Khalid

We do feel that the Quartermile is perfectly placed to explore Edinburgh and appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    87
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
109
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Fantastic Apartment ! Location is close to all attractions in the city centre ..
View on to Meadow park is great !
Clean , modern apartment with everything that you could possibly need.
Very helpful staff !!
Had a great 5 day break and would highly recommend !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback Carolyn. I'm also pleased that you enjoyed your time and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It's not always easy to find a place to stay in a major city that's both conveniently located and peaceful. The Thistle Residence, however, ticks both those boxes – within easy walking distance of all the main attractions, and yet located in quiet and attractive surroundings.
The facilities within my apartment were first class. The place itself was light, airy and spacious. Unlike a lot of apartments I've stayed in, it was also fantastically well equipped. The guys overseeing the place, Scott and Craig, couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. Any problems were minor and quickly rectified.
All in all, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks Mike.

I know that you travel a lot and therefore particularly pleased that your time with us met expections. We hope to see you back again soon.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were upgraded to a 2 bed deluxe apartment on arrival and as others have said, it was immaculate. Very high spec throughout. Location was perfect and our bedroom view looked out onto Arthur's Seat. Area was full of top restaurants and lovely cafés. It took a 5 mins walk to get to the National Museum and 10mins to the Royal Mile.
Our only problem was, although shown, we couldn't quite work the heating properly until the second night. However once sorted all was perfect. Staff couldn't do more to help and were extremely friendly with great knowledge of the city. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Phil

We're pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Staff are advised to give guests a guided tour on arrival including the likes of the heating controls. Sorry if this didnt happen in your case but i'm glad all was resolved.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Thistle Residence is in a prime location adjacent to the Meadows and the Royal Mile (10 min walk) with Princes street only 20 minutes away by foot. Quartermile where the Residence is located is a quality development with upcoming shops and restuarants being added all the time . Perfect location for exploring the sights, restuarants and bars of `Edinburgh. The staff at the Thistle Residence are very helpful and ensure that your stay is enjoyable in a high amenity area.

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartments overlooking the Meadows are well appointed with good views out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for your review Jim

For reference there will be two new restaurants and a wine bar opening onsite in the next 2-3 months.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

These apartments were situated in a great part of the town - seemingly walking distance to everywhere worthwhile going to with a 3 year old! (Museum, Dynamic Earth, Arthur's Seat, The Meadows etc)

We stayed in a two bedroom deluxe apartment and it was very clean, tidy and spacious with amazing floor to ceiling windows looking out on a beautiful Edinburgh skyline. (My only gripe was that the bin pedal was broken on the kitchen bin and there didn't seem to be any toilet roll holders in either of the bathrooms - very easy things to put right though!)

We also were woken on the Saturday night by some noisy neighbours in the apartment below but nothing too alarming and the noise soon ceased - I guess this just depends on which apartment you stay in.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and it was a pleasure to stay here - we have already recommended these apartments to a couple of our friends and family members and hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for pointing these issues out. We'll ensure that the bin is replaced. With regards to the toilet roll holder, we place baskets in the properties which we feel are more in keeping with the bathrooms. On request we're happy to supply holders if it will make a guests stay more comfortable.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Fantastic apartment! The staff were friendly and helpful and the apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable. Great central location with many cafes and restaurants nearby. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the park which added to the feeling of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay Margie. I'm pleased the apartment worked well for you.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Address: 2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotia Grand Residence offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom immaculately presented apartments in the prestigious and sort after Quartermile development. Situated within walking distance of the city centre and Royal Mile, these luxury apartments have been finished to the highest standard and make for a relaxing and memorable stay. All apartments offer lift access and are entirely self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.