We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments to your Saves list
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments) (Southside & Holyrood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dundee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartments...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the three-bedroom apartment. We are a family of six. Our children loved it, and so did we. The apartment was very spacious, clean and with beautiful decor. It was very welcoming and comfortable. Cosy beds, great showers and a brilliant kitchen. Couldn't have asked for better. Excellent value for money.

The apartment complex was in a beautiful location. It was right next to two Starbucks, Sainsburys, and some amazing sandwich shops. It is about 10-15 mins walk from The Royal Mile. It is also within easy walking distance of a lovely park, which our children really enjoyed.

The staff were very friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. We visit Edinburgh a lot, and were very pleased with how welcome we were made to feel. Communication before, during and after our stay was top-notch. It was just a really nice touch and the staff really went out of their way to show they valued our custom.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Thistle Residence. They are beautiful and in a fantastic part of Edinburgh. Our only regret is we couldn't stay longer. We hope to be back very soon.



  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We're pleased to hear that the apartment worked well for your family. We think that this is where apartments really excel over hotels, more space, freedom and generally easier for families to spend time together.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    89
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
138
109
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A few steps through the chill of a dark winter morning and I’m back in the warmth and luxury of the apartment with fresh baguette and a coffee. What a treat! Overlooking the Meadows, I can watch Edinburgh come awake through the huge wall of windows. These apartments are bang in the centre of the city, within walking distance of all the interesting parts of the old and new town while offering an elegant, contemporary retreat to unwind in (the bathrooms are great!). Plus a supermarket and cafes literally on the doorstep - and parking. It’s a perfect combination.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is very much appreciated.

Best Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a little trouble using GPS to find the office but when we finally arrived we got high class attention. Very nice apartment -- with a lousy view of a building site; the Quatermile -- :-P but well equipped (but as in every other: no sharp knifes and no garlic press) . We actually even got the heating to work. This use to be a problem in English apartments. Who needs heating in this subtropical climate ??? We are from Sweden and are used to have comfy warmth (20-22C) at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for your feedback.

Views to one side, i'm pleased you were happy with your accommodation. Some of the deluxe 1 beds do have an outlook that encompasses some building work but only if you look sharply to the left from your windows. This banding of apartment is less than 1 year old which is why there is still some work underway at that end. I'm glad that it didn't detrimentally impact your stay.

We'll look to ensure knives are sharpened and thanks for pointing this out.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We arrived and were greeted by Scott who helped my husband carry our bags and all the equipment require for our baby. He showed us around the apartment which was everything we hoped it would be and more! It was spotlessly clean, very we'll equipped including dishwasher, coffee machine and washing machine which sadly got well used as our baby was unwell. Scott contacted us the first day to check all was okay with the apt which was nice. The apartment was a 15 minute walk to the centre where the shops are and to the castle but the weather was dry so it was not a problem, there was a Malaysian takeaway nearby which was lovely and a coffee shop, Starbucks and sainsburys local too which was very handy. If we came to Edinburgh again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the mention. Considering i'm too lazy to attend the onsite gym, assisting with luggage is welcome exercise.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in Edinburgh for 3 nights as part of a bigger trip having come over from Australia. The location was perfect as we could leave the car and walk everywhere. The apartment was clean and modern wih facilities close by for self catering. We had a lovely view over The Meadows. The staff were really helpful and helped print off boarding passes for flights for one of our daughters who was traveling on. Highly recommend and looking forward to staying there again on another visit to this beautiful city.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Owner at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Julia

I'm pleased that your stay was enjoyable and you fell in love with our beautiful city.

We are always happy to offer concierge facilities to our guests, from printing documents to tours, transfers and dinner arrangements. Please don't hesitate to ask it we can extend these services, or others, on your return.

Best Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The apartment was fantastic - well appointed throughout and in a great location. And the staff were really friendly and helpful - thank you. I would have no hesitation in staying here again - and I have recommended the apartments to several friends and colleagues already.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks Alastair. Referrals and recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for only one night and it was wonderful. We wish we had stayed for the whole trip. Good furniture, good location, walking distance from the castle and the Royal Mile, very clean. We srongly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistle R, Manager at Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for your feedback.

We also wish you had been able to stay with us longer. If you are coming back please don't hesitate to contact us and we'll help to coordinate your itinerary if required.

Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Address: 2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 187 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotia Grand Residence offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom immaculately presented apartments in the prestigious and sort after Quartermile development. Situated within walking distance of the city centre and Royal Mile, these luxury apartments have been finished to the highest standard and make for a relaxing and memorable stay. All apartments offer lift access and are entirely self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.