We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butternut Squash

Butternut Squash
10 Bath Street | Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 1AN, Scotland
+44 7843 013445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,789 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a family run business that is determined to provide good home cooking at great value for money with friendly service. We go out of our way to make you feel welcome and enjoy great food at the most reasonable prices in Edinburgh. With our 11 item breakfast plus tea / Coffee & Toast for £5.50 With free refills. We are open for dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings from 5pm with last orders in the kitchen at 8pm & closing at 11pm. So with our ever changing dinner menu and our bring your own bottle you cannot get better value. We are dog friendly so bring your best pal with you. Please note we do not accept credit cards in a bid to keep our costs down which helps us to deliver our infamous value for money.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent value for money. The food was very well presented and very tasty. The staff extremely friendly - great to feel made welcome! Will definitely return for more!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    27
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever in Portobello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I would recommend Butternut Squash to anyone looking for the best food anywhere around and you will be so well looked after by Kay,Keith and their staff not forgetting Barney the dog who will give a very warm and cuddly welcome. Hope you enjoy your visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back again soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had such a lovely lunch here today, I don't normally comment on trip advisor, however the food was fantastic and the service was really good too, therefore I felt I had to recommend this place to others!

I will definitely be going back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A lovely wee place with attentive staff. The French toast with bacon and maple syrup is delicious, the best I've tasted anywhere. Coffee served extra hot as requested and very tasty.
Looking forward to having dinner soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Butternut Brekkie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our favourite restaurant , visited since the day it opened in its old location.
Has just got better and better. Wonderful, kind, funny staff that always have time for a quick hello however busy they are.
The breakfast menu has recently been changed and it is superb, my favourite 3 egg omelette with smoked ham and toast. Mega yummy
If you get a chance check out the Christmas menus. Wonderful and a wee bit different . Guess where we will be Christmas Eve.
Notice they are open Hogmany but better book quick as I'm sure it will be busy.
Thank you may and Keith and lovely people. We love you muchly xxxx

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butternut Squash also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Butternut Squash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butternut Squash, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.