We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 52 Canoes Tiki Den

52 Canoes Tiki Den
13a-14 Mellville Place, Edinburgh EH3 7PR, Scotland
0131 226 4732
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #218 of 1,899 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Polynesian, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the atmosphere very chilled.Nice food good drinks good music.

I had a burger which was nice.Cloudy cider superb

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A definite place to stop for lunch. The menu seems to change daily and is not only extensive for pub food, but also very imaginative. The quality is excellent and the staff friendly.

If you're hungry, order the nachos, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome nachos and lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Walked past this place a thousand times and finally went in. What were we waiting for?! The decor is fun and relaxing and there are lots of lovely little hidey-holes to sit in.

If you do go order the nachos. They are amazing, as said by plenty of other reviewers before us. They are crispy, clearly freshly cooked and not microwaved and the pineapple salsa is genius. Plenty of cheese and guacamole and sour cream. Personal favourite was the pulled pork version which was to die for.

We also had a cider and a Guinness and the cider was proper cloudy cider rather than branded semi-beer. The bar staff were also lovely.

To recap: Best Nachos in Central Scotland

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best nachos I have ever eaten.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I eat nachos. I eat a lot of nachos. I have eaten a lot of nachos in a lot of restaurants all over the world. I have never had nachos that I enjoyed as much as in the 52 canoes.

They. Were. Incredible. I was quite literally speechless as I ate them. I don't consider myself a selfish person at all, but when it comes to nachos it is, in general, a case of "if you touch my nachos I will kill you". These were so good I felt I had to share them, I couldn't keep their awesomeness to myself. They were that good. They were served in a rectangular bowl. Every corner a delight. Sour cream. Guacamole. Jalapenos. Salsa. I could understand some people taking offence at the pineapple content of the salsa. They would be wrong.

Cheese dispersion was perfect (people don't take enough notice of cheese dispersion). Quantity was perfect. Price was stunning. And the remaining point that sent them soaring above any other nachos I have ever eaten was the temperature, which is so often a failing in other establishments. They were piping hot throughout.

The other food looked to be of a similar high quality (granted I've only seen/tasted the burgers, but they too are at the top end of pub food (whereas the nachos are at the top end of food. Period.)

Also, whether it's coincidence or not I don't know, but the first time we were in the barman asked what sort of beers we'd like to see on the taps. At least 2 of the specifically named beers we mentioned have now been on.

I have never had, but I have heard, that the cocktails are really very good.

So, to conclude, my 5* review is based on what this place is. It's a (slightly) themed pub, with top end pub food, and the best nachos you will ever have. If you have better then please let me know where because I want, no I need, to go there.

The staff are friendly. The prices are sensible. The nachos are awesome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“52 Canoes rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This has to be one of my fave bars in Edinburgh! The cocktails are awesome, to food is great and served pretty quick, the staff are really really friendly. It's the kind of place where you feel really relaxed and intimate with the group you are with even when the bar is packed and busy. The staff are never uncomfortably over attentive but always instantly there whenever your glass i empty. Think of everything you could want from a classy, city centre bar and the Deb has it in buckets. Long may it rock on xx

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 52 Canoes Tiki Den also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to 52 Canoes Tiki Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 52 Canoes Tiki Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.