We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Save Saved
You added Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland (West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Delicious Food & drinks!
Ranked #48 of 147 hotels in Edinburgh
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small but very clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little hotel for those on a smaller budget just needing a space to sleep and shower. Very clean and friendly and although not central it is a straight 10 minute walk onto Princes Street or you can get a taxi for £8 in or even a train from Haymarket station which is directly opposite the hotel.

Be aware however that it is a basic small hotel. Do not expect more and you get what you pay for. It is literally a room with a bed and a shower. Very clean and modern with a hair dryer and TV. It is perfect for somewhere to sleep and get changed while you are out and about in Edinburgh but you could not spend time in the room and no tea/coffee provisions in room, only at reception.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and looked after our bags for a £2 charge before we could check-in/after we,d checked out.

Will use again for when we just to nip in and change visits but I would have to pay extra and stay elsewhere if need a place to wind down and relax after a busy day. Bargain for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    311
    81
    17
    8
See reviews for
58
350
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you're going to Edinburgh and wanting to spend most of your money on the Edinburgh experience as opposed to the hotel, then Tune Hotel's are the place to go. Cheap. Clean. Compact. Simple. Allows you to break the bank enjoying Edinburgh as opposed to paying an extortionate £-per-night fee. Ideal for young people and travellers who will be spending little-to-no time in the hotel, as they can be reassured on getting an enjoyable and comfortable stay when they return from enjoying Edinburgh's attractions. 15 min walk from Princes Street, although the bus stop is literally round the corner. Directly opposite Haymarket Train Station. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Clean n well located hotel, reachable by all connections for onward travel, especially, when one is checking in late n checking out early. Also, well priced, with easy walking distance towards Edinburgh centre.
Rooms,bed n bath, quite small, but neat n comfy.
Also, small facilities like box breakfast, WiFi, towels, TV come at a small extra price, that u can choose.
But, most importantly, staff was helpful n nice to guide us.
No bell desk service available at most hotels alike, means u have to shift your own luggage.

Room Tip: Having stayed a night each in both kind of rooms, kindly select a twin room, never a room without a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great hotel.Spotless.good check in.Great location and a short walk into city centre.Bus stop close by.Very good all round.Good pub opposite the hotel if you book through Booking.com you get loads of free stuff thrown in which you would pay for on tune hotels website

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Many thanks. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I think this place was great can't really fault it, Room's are spotless , clean and bright, small thou I knew before I booked this so can't complain. We stayed for 5 night's with No window and we where fine with it. The only problem's we had was it was far too warm even with air conditioning on and the bed was so hard and uncomfy for me (partner was fine with it) I was up every night with crying with back pain due to the bed. It's Close to the city centre just a 15 min walk at most. Brilliant for getting on and off the train across the road from you. We didn't pay for any of the add on frill's like towel's etc but got them anyway :)

Room Tip: Put your suitcases under the bed and you'll have a bit more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Many thanks. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

First time in a Tune hotel, and I'll be back. Spent two nights here and for 'doing' Edinburgh, it was pretty much perfect. The tramworks outside only slightly dampened our stay, but once they're done, it'll be an extra boost to stay here.

15 min walk to Grassmarket / Princes Street, directly opposite Haymarket Station, and a short bus ride to the zoo, it's ideally situated to explore the best bits of town. 3 bus routes, just seconds from the hotel, will get you into the centre in about 10 mins (£1.50 single ticket).

The staff were fab, the rooms were spotless (albeit a touch small), and although it was no-frills, I've stayed in far worse 'with-frills' hotels.

Highly recommended if you are planning to visit Edinburgh, and while you're there, book a table at First Coast restaurant just 5 mins walk down Dalry Road, lovely food in an unpretentious setting.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a high front-facing room with window, we had great views over the city to the Pen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Many thanks. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Many basic services are extra paid - like TV or hairdryer - so I guess that room can be much cheaper than what we've paid (we've booked it on Booking.com and everything was included in the room price).
Room is clean but quite small - there is enough space for one big suitecase, but it could be problematic to fit two.
It is a bit noisy as train station is on the opposite site of the road, but if you are used to sounds of a big city, then it should not be a problem. There is quite nice view on buildings nearby. Bus from the airport has its stop right behind the corner which is a plus.
We haven't ordered breakfast, but I've seen what is included and I would not recommend it. There is MILK bar nearby where you can buy tasty breakfast instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray C, General Manager at Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Space efficient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh

Address: 7 Clifton Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5DR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune Hotel Haymarket is located directly across from the entrance to Haymarket Rail Station and is centrally located to all the main attractions in the city. 15 minutes’ walk to Edinburgh Castle and Princes Street, the main shopping street in Edinburgh, a 7 minute walk to Edinburgh International Conference Centre. Edinburgh Zoo is a short 8 minutes by bus or by car and the infamous Murrayfield Stadium is just a 10 minute walk! Situated on Clifton Terrace opposite the station, we are directly on the main line train routes to and from London Kings Cross, Glasgow and Inverness. The Airport Buses stop outside the hotel for pick-up and drop-off and soon the trams from the Airport into the city will be stopping right outside our front entrance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.