We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first-class B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellesmere House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ellesmere House
Save
You added Ellesmere House to your Saves list
11 Glengyle Terrace | Bruntsfield, Edinburgh EH3 9LN, Scotland (Bruntsfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“first-class B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A lovely place to stay in Edinburgh for a comfortable Fringe visit. We (mum and daughter) found our room very comfortable (twin beds with snuggly quilts and plenty of pillows) and stylish, and loved the touches of chocolates, tea and biscuits and carafe of port. The bathroom was spotless and had its own special touch of Highland toiletries! Lisa was a charming and friendly hostess, helpful too - as was everyone, including the well-behaved and friendly Jack. Breakfast was excellent and set us up each day, with a choice of the best smoked salmon ever and scrambled eggs, or a full Scottish (there were other choices too). Glengyle Terrace was an excellent location within easy walking distance of the city, and near the wide open Meadows park. We would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm4 so had the advantage of a nice view over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere H, Owner at Ellesmere House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It was so lovely to meet you and your daughter. I can't thank you enough for posting your kind review. I'm pleased you were comfortable and that you noticed the care we take over the bedding.

Thank you, also, for recommending a show at the festival to me. My Husband and I really enjoyed it, although he struggled with some of the "in-jokes" as he's never seen The Killing or read any Stig Larsson, (I had to whisper explanations through-out!)

I know it was a trip down memory lane for you on your return to Edinburgh. I do hope you'll stay again sometime.

Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
29
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for our Fringe break - very convenient location, within easy walking distance of city centre. Lovely outlook onto the park/free golf course and exceptionally warm welcome from Lisa and Jack the labrador. Our room was spacious, well equipped, with quality bed linen and a really comfy bed. We particularly liked the bottled water, Lindt chocolate each day and small carafe of sherry. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a timely manner. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate recommending Ellesmere House for a short or long quality break in Edinburgh

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

stayed here on a road trip. Had the nicest welcome from Lisa, was a bit star struck as she's a well known opera singer! Very friendly and chatty and had the nicest welcome from her and the family's dog, Jack. I love the way they have his own page on their website!

My room was the best Ive stayed in in a long time, a superking bed and welcoming carafe of rose. Old-fashioned furniture and victorian style ceilings and windows. Only problem was I was there such a short time it was almost a waste!

After a few too many beers the night before a hearty breakfast in a dining room that was just as nice sorted me for the day. Enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've spent three nights in this B&B and it couldn't have been more perfect. Bedrooms are just stunning, very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Well-cooked breakfast was served in an equally lovely breakfast room. Jack the Labrador was incredibly friendly and well behaved, a lovely distraction!
Most importantly though, Lisa was an amazing host. Our itinerary was a bit complicated, with two-nights stay, a couple of days in the Highlands and coming back to Edinburgh for one more night. Checking-in, checking-out, changing bedrooms, leaving luggage, packed breakfast.. Lisa took care of absolutely everything. Coming back after our Highland tour felt almost like coming back home!

Room Tip: I thought room 4 was the most beautiful one, with garden-facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere H, Owner at Ellesmere House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. It was great to meet you, and I hope you visit again.
Regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the moment we got to Edinburgh (exactly on time for once in my life!) everything was absolutely perfect. There was a parking spot available directly outside the building, Lisa was there to greet us as we arrived and the house was beautiful.

When I was trying to decide what room to go for I was told that this room was a bit smaller than the slightly more expensive rear room, however upon getting inside I found out that it was still huge! The bathroom was gorgeous, everything was clean and new, there was a little chocolate treat and glass of something-or-other waiting and - it's the little things - the TV in the room was a high quality Sony Bravia model and not the usual budget-line you get in many places. Not going to lie, I never use TVs when i'm staying anywhere so it's not a big deal for me, but for some people this will be a nice treat.

Breakfast in the morning was full Scottish, expertly cooked; exactly what we needed after a heavy night dancing at a Ceilidh! Unfortunately Jack the dog was feeling under the weather so we never got to meet him, but rest assured next time we will stay longer than one night and say hello.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend Ellesmere House. Location was ideal - we took a taxi to town as it was raining, but we could have walked it easily. We were genuinely struck by how nice everyone in Edinburgh was, and they could all have gotten it from Lisa who we both agreed was one of the nicest people we met :)

Room Tip: Don't be put off if you don't like dogs - you're unlikely to see him unless you ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere H, Owner at Ellesmere House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
What a fantastic review, thank you so much! It was lovely to meet you both, and I hope you'll stay longer next time. You were very lucky with the parking space, and since you arrived in the evening the parking was free. I'm pleased you liked your room, perhaps try a different one next time?

Thank you again for your kind words.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a gorgeous B&B with such a great welcome. Lisa was so helpful and made us feel so at home, it was lovely. The breakfasts were great and cooked to order. Furnishings/finishing touches all beautiful. Even port and chocolates in the room :)

Our room had views over the (36-hole!) pitch and putt course - we only managed 10 holes! (Take your own clubs and it's free to play, or hire them from the Golf Tavern across the road!)

All in all a really relaxing stay. Great location for getting into town too - only 15-20 minute walk to Princes Street and loads of eating/drinking places to choose from on the way.

Will definitely be going back...........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere H, Owner at Ellesmere House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. Your compliments mean a great deal to me; it's a wonderful feeling to know that our guests had a great time and want to return. Please, the next time, let me know that you are playing golf on the Links and I'll let you borrow some clubs - no need to hire them from the Golf Tavern.

Haste ye back.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Ellesmere Guest House in Edinburgh. The proprietor, Lisa, was very friendly and helpful, including bringing us tea upon our arrival after 4 hour train trip from London. Our room had 12 foot ceilings, the bed was comfortable, Breakfast is served in large well-lit dining area on lower level. Multiple breakfast items including fruit, pastries, eggs, full-English breakfast,cereals. While there is no common sitting room, this was really not needed since we were out of the house all day, every day.
House is well-located near several city bus stops which provide fast service to all areas of Edinburgh including Waverley train station. No car needed in the city. Best dinner (salmon on skewers) was right around corner at Apartment restaurant. Get day bus pass on bus each day (exact change) for unlimited riding that day but does not include fare on airport bus. If staying longer, can get one-week bus pass at bus office that does include airport bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellesmere House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellesmere House

Address: 11 Glengyle Terrace | Bruntsfield, Edinburgh EH3 9LN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Bruntsfield , South Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Town House offering Boutique Bed and Breakfast accommodation located in central Edinburgh, beside the historic Bruntsfield Golf Links & the Meadows. Within walking distance of all major attractions - Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Royal Mile, Museums & Universities. A surprisingly peaceful and scenic city centre location. Breakfast includes pastries, cereals, fruit and a 'Full Scottish' cooked breakfast. Wherever possible all produce is local or from within the British Isles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ellesmere House Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellesmere House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.