We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added 21 Cordiner's Land to your Saves list.
Amazing view including Edinburgh Castle from 21 Cordiner's Land front door balcony.
Amazing view including Edinburgh Castle from 21 Cordiner's Land front door balcony.
Amazing view including Edinburgh Castle from 21 Cordiner's Land front door balcony.
Looking towards the kitchen and dining area from the living room area.
The comfortable living room has a wide screen TV and is open plan to dining area & kitchen.
We pay attention to details with our decor to make this your holiday 'home away from home'
Detail pictire of the lovely chandelier in the living room.
Edinburgh
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cathteg
Wales
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable little flat by lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed here with two friends, all of us postgrad students attending a conference. The price was quite good and Jenny's communication is fast and friendly throughout the setting up. Alas, we ended up making poor Dawn wait for us much longer than anticipated, as first we couldn't get a taxi from the station (we waited nearly an hour!) and then, when we gave up and thought we'd just walk, we got turned around and quite lost. But we found our way there in the end, and all was well--she was very understanding! Just keep in mind that the queue for the taxi rank at Waverly is sheer madness, and it may be worth informing yourself ahead of time on the directions or the bus routes!

The flat itself is small and cosy--it was big enough for our needs in any case. The beds are comfortable, and the electric blankets are very welcome on a damp autumn night! Everything works, and if you forget how it works, there's a very detailed instruction book. I appreciate this, because when you get into a new place and you're hungry and exhausted, it's hard to keep track of all the fiddly details of an individual flat in an historic building. When we forgot things, we could just look it up. (We're students; this comforts us.) The towels are fluffy, the bathtub deep, and the water pressure in the shower good. The master bedroom is quite big, the second bedroom less so--probably better for kids than adults but it actually worked fine and we adjusted.

The welcome basket was quite generous and kept us in breakfast for our whole weekend! Because we were working, we didn't end up having a lot of time to cook, or to a make use of the DVD collection or library. The stairs are daunting, but they seemed to get less so the longer we were there.

Because the previous review talks about the rules, red tape, and electricity, I thought I'd share our experiences there. I think we were part of the 'trial run' of short-stay guests not keeping track of electricity, because we didn't have to do that; we just turned off the heaters and such when we went out for the day. I'm glad for this! I have only the vaguest idea how the metres work and would probably also have been stressed by that, but as it was we just tried to be sensible about it. Also, based on our experience with arriving quite late, I get the idea the rules are a safety net, but not inflexible--Jenny and Dawn are very nice people who understand that things can go wrong and really do seem to care about their guests.

Finally--it's in a great location off Grassmarket, near a variety of restaurants, pubs and interesting shops. Try the bookshops directly downstairs, the vintage clothes shop down the road, and the Fiddler's Arms pub a few minutes away!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2013
Thanks for giving us this great review, it was good to read your feedback. Dawn and I felt so sorry for you with the problems you had getting a taxi on arrival - there is usually a good flow of taxis through the station, so I don't know what went wrong that night. Dawn phoned to tell me what had happened and about you then getting lost whilst walking, so I was actually in my car on the way to rescue you myself, when she said that you had arrived safely at the apartment. What a start to your visit, but I'm glad it didn't spoil things for you though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Birmandt
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overall lovely, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I can't speak highly enough about the communication skills of Jenny throughout our initial consultation & before we arrived...excellent! :-)
Dawn was there to meet us at the apartment & was friendly & helpful.
As noted by all other reviewers the apartment is on the top story & is accessed by 3 flights of steep stairs, not for the faint hearted but after 5 weeks of travelling & over indulging the exercise was great!!
It is very centrally located & getting around central Edinburgh is simple. Accessing taxis was easy & we had no trouble hailing one outside the front entrance. There is a Sainsbury Local store very close by for any supplies you may need but the 'starter pack' left for you is extremely generous & kept us going for the first few mornings!
The apartment is spotless & well equipped.
Now for the but...the 'red tape' upon check in was the most rigorous we encountered during our 6 weeks in the UK(we stayed in 4 self catering houses during that time). Passports were needed, credit card details taken, electricity units measured & recorded & forms completed. We were told that we only had certain amount of electricity credited to our stay & anything over that would need to be paid for. We (myself, husband & Edinburgh friends who were with us then) were slightly stunned by this & while I was assured by Dawn that we would not use the units allocated (and we didnt), it still put an enormous dampner on our time there as we were constantly aware of what we used & were checking the metre daily!! It is not a warm apt & it rained all the time we were there, so the flat was damp (doesn't get any sun) so we needed the heat and also the dehumidifier. Also, only 3 windows can be opened, so ventilation was not great & no bathroom windows can be opened (according to the info sheet for the apt), so this we felt was a problem.
Would I recommend this apt? Yes, for communication, location, being well equipped & presented but no for the limit on electricity usage & over the top check in requirements & 'don'ts' everywhere in the apartment, that spoilt it for us I'm afraid.
Definitely a big thank you to Jenny though for your amazingly helpful communication during the booking process & before we arrived in Edinburgh, you have a lovely apartment that would be perfect if you just lost that jolly electricity restriction & lightened up the check in...too many rules & regulations! :-)
Thank you for our stay, Edinburgh is truely a beautiful city!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this detailed good review of your experience in 21 Cordiner's Land. I'm sorry that I have taken a while to respond to you, but this is only because we have been discussing the 'but' issues which you raised, as we do listen and try to act upon feedback from our guests to see if we can make changes, so I will respond to those 'buts' in point form for clarity.
1. I'm sorry that you felt there was a lot of 'red tape' on arrival (taking passport and card information etc). However, during the past 16 years we have been the victim of several fraudulent guests and as a result of this, our bank, credit card provider, insurance company and general industry good practice now recommend that photo identification also be taken from all guests as a preventative security measure. Usually, it is customary for holiday let properties to take a formal security deposit, but we do not do this, as generally we have not found it necessary. Instead, we just ask for valid credit card information on arrival (in the same way that hotels etc do, but we do NOT pre-authorise cards. Instead, we consult with guests after their stay if damage charges are necessary-which is a very rare event indeed). It is essential to have a formal system for identifying guests and also taking a reasonable measure against theft and damages occurring (particularly with our property, as you will probably have noticed that our apartment is maintained in excellent condition and is filled with homely touches, chandeliers, original artworks, antiques, etc.) We know of an owner who had his flat literally stripped bare by thieves, so of course it is necessary to try and prevent this occurring.
2. The point you raised about the electricity allowance is the matter we have been considering at length. This was introduced many years ago for three main purposes … a) for financial reasons after we received a huge electricity bill after guests booked for two months and started running their new business from our flat (yes, it’s true!); b) for safety reasons, as around the same period a guest nearly set fire to the flat by leaving wet clothes on top of the heaters, blocking the air vents, while they went out for the day (!); and finally c) this was the time when accommodation providers were starting to be encouraged to be environmentally responsible. Electric heating uses a lot of energy and we are not able to get a gas supply into our unique historic building.
Hence we introduced the allowance to encourage guests to 'switch off' when going out, as the heating is quick and effective if switched on when you return. The allowance is very generous and provides more than adequate electricity for very warm and comfortable usage of the heating and all the equipment we provide. We noticed that you hardly used any electricity at all, so this is probably why you felt the flat was not warm and was damp, which Dawn noticed too when she went in to clean afterwards (it took two days to get it dried out properly again, but thankfully we had a gap between guests). It was really cold in Edinburgh during your stay and the property needs to be heated adequately to avoid the issues you complained about. I do wish you had phoned us about this while you were in residence, so that we could have resolved this properly at that time.
We never need to charge guests for excess usage as the allowance is nearly double what we have assessed guests' average usage to be. However, as we take your comments seriously and certainly DO NOT want our guests to be uncomfortable in any way, we have decided to review how we do things. As a result of your review, we are now conducting a trial to see if we can remove the electricity allowance for all our short stay guests and just ask them to switch off when away from the property.
3. You mentioned that you felt there were too many rules and regulations, however, the information we provide in advance (info about how to work equipment etc - our do's and don'ts) has been requested by guests visiting from many countries all over the world, who do not know how things work in the UK. We have found though, that UK guests also say they appreciate having this information as it helps guests to get settled more quickly on arrival and also helps to prevent damages occurring as a result of incorrect usage. No-one wants to find their accommodation is not available upon arrival because of problems caused by departing guests and we know our information about how things work etc has reduced this risk significantly. (The information also includes details about how to work the heating effectively, but possibly you didn’t get a chance to read it through properly before your visit).
4. You mentioned that the flat doesn't get any sun, this is actually not the case. It gets direct morning sun into the front rooms and afternoon sun into the dining area, bathroom and rear bedroom. The problem was more likely that there was no sun during your stay while you were in the flat, as the weather was poor. Scotland is not renowned for a sunny climate, however, thankfully guests come for many wonderful reasons, other than the weather!
5. In regard to the last 'but' you raised, about the opening of the windows. This is an historic listed building and we are not permitted to change the windows. This can create problems which we are very well aware of, and have resolved by having the 3 easily opening/closing windows in both bedrooms and the kitchen/dining area, which provides a good flow of ventilation throughout the apartment if desired. The bathroom has a strong automatic extractor fan which comes on with the lights, so this provides a good air exchange for the bathroom. There is also a dehumidifier which can be left switched on while you are out during the day, if required. We tell guests (in that info sent out in advance) to open any window in an emergency, as actually the problem isn’t opening, it is re-aligning them to close afterwards!
Despite these points, we hope that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable. If you had contacted Dawn or me about these points during your visit, we could have put your mind at ease regarding the heating etc. I am sorry that this literally put a dampener on your enjoyment of our apartment. We do want our guests to be comfortable and strive to ensure this as much as possible. I hope your trip home was enjoyable and that overall, your memories of your time in Scotland will be very happy ones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PhillDanz...
Sydney
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed for a few nights. Small apartment and rooms but very comfortable and clean.

Historic building with all amenities close by. Walking distance to everything in the city.

Up a few flights of stairs and no lift.

Recommended.

4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2013
I apologise for the delay in thanking you for this helpful review of 21 Cordiner's Land. (It would be lovely if we could have a lift, but as you say, this is an historic building and its status as a Listed Building ensures that these type of changes can never occur - even if it was possible to fit a lift, which it is not!) Thankfully there are lots of spots to stop on the stairs, and the outlook is lovely if you take a few moments to stop and enjoy it. Many guests say the steps via the gardens are easier on the legs and there is a nice garden seat going that way too, although personally I prefer the main stairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Louise P
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quiet apartment in the old town only a short walk to the castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Gorgeous 2 bedroom apartment in the old town approx 100 metres from the grassmarket. A short walk to the castle and the royal mile. Ideally located for sightseeing. Also a close walk to the shops of princess street. The apartment is very well appointed with everything you could need for preparing meals. Washer and dryer also in apartment. Comfortable beds, living area. Heating worked well, we needed this a couple of nights. Heaps of toiletries. Large continental breakfast was provided. Would definitely stay again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfortable home away from home, in excellent location
Liked least: Climbing stairs with suitcase
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2013
Thanks for this great review. We appreciate you taking the time to give this to us and see that it will be really helpful for other travellers. We hope to see you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Maria C
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great base for exploring Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Having had a great experience in making the booking we arrived with all information needed and all queries dealt with,making the arrival smooth and easy.We were greeted warmly and soon felt at home in the apartment.Everything was catered for over and above our expectation,we didn't require a lot that was on offer,e.g dishwasher,washing machine or telephone but it was good to know it was available.Everything was clean/maintained to a very good standard and location perfect.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Standard of facilities,and location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2013
It is good to hear your experience was a positive one. It is important to us that our guests feel 'at home', so it was nice to read that in your review. Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Karman C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thank you for so much, would have stayed longer if we could!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

An extremely quiet place even at night, no worries about drunk people from the nearby pubs. A very nice landlady - she even came to pick my friends and I up when we were lost even though it was already night time. Very clean and tidy house presented to us with an extremely generous amount of welcome pack of breakfast. Everything in the house was working well with no problems. A shelf of DVDs for us to choose from to entertain us in the night, Would have stayed longer if we could. Thank you so much and yes - definitely hoping to come back again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: I can't choose, but if I had to, it had to be that fact that it has everything we could basically need in a holiday home.
Liked least: Might be slightly insignificant, but a floor mat for the toilet would be good, to avoid slipping when coming out of the bath/shower.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2013
It's good to hear you appreciated the peace and quiet in 21 Cordiner's Land. That is quite a bonus for our guests, as one usually expects such a central location in the city will probably be a bit noisy! It was a pleasure to help you on arrival - even though it is only a short walk from the station, it can be confusing navigating your way over the Royal Mile and through the Grassmarket. We hope you can return again, and thanks for this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ABCDtrave...
Oakland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Great Option in Edinburgh for Couple or Small Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this vacation rental. The location is ideal...there is a grocery store a block away, lots of take-away options on the block, and the Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile are a short walk away. There is a good children's playground in a park on the north side of the castle that is an easy 10 minute walk away. There are a few strip clubs down beyond the grocery store, giving that part of the neighborhood a seedy feel, but you generally won't be going that way if you are here to see the sites. The stairs could pose a problem for anyone with limited mobility or poor health, but we all enjoyed the climb at the end of a day, and the enclosed courtyard with its many stairways and walkways was fun for the kids to explore in the evenings. The apartment itself is rather compact, but that wasn't a problem as we were normally out and about. If you were going to be in Edinburgh for more than a week, a family would probably want a bit more space than this apartment provides. It has everything you need; a well-stocked kitchen, washing machine for clothes, and comfortable beds. Everything was very clean, and in excellent condition. The wi-fi connection was the best we have found in our 3 months of renting apartments-very fast! The owner was always prompt in responding to emails, and was easy to work with in arranging payments and check-in. Overall, a very positive experience, and one we would recommend to anyone coming to Edinburgh.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The compact size
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2013
Thanks for this fabulous review from a family perspective, it's really good to know your children enjoyed their Cordiner's Land adventure - the garden bridge is quite an attraction in itself, for young and old alike! (We have heard many tales of trolls hiding below that bridge, with accompanying squeals of delight.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$137
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Jenny S
Speaks English
Listed since : Nov 2012
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing