We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twelve Picardy Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Twelve Picardy Place to your Saves list
Twelve Picardy Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Picardy Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland (Calton Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 144 Hotels in Edinburgh
morecambe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here 6th-8th February! What a beautiful and modern hotel!!! Staff were really attentive and nothing was too much trouble! We stayed in room katrine and it was large, modern and spacious!!! We ate in the hotels STEAK restaurant food was brilliant!
The cocktails at the hotels bar were lovely and Ashley behind the bar was excellent nothing was too much trouble and her liquor coffees were lush!!!! Thanks for a great stay we will defo come back!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michele c, Front Office Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi there,

We are, of course, delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and I have also passed on your praise to both the restaurant and the bar. Thank you for the kind words.

We hope that you decide to return, and when you do please feel free to email us directly at reception@twelveandsteak.com to discuss the best prices/rooms we can offer to you as a returning guest.

Kind Regards,

All at Twelve Picardy Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
73
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have just stayed here for the 2nd year in a row and I hoping it becomes a tradition. We were after a little luxury for our child free weekend and we certainly got it.

We were booked in Loch Shiel which was amazing. The bath was huge and there was always hot water on the many times I used it ha ha . The shower was really cool too. The bathroom itself is so big, it even has it's own fireplace.

The room itself was gorgeous too. The bed was big and comfy, with a large TV at the end. You have to pay to hire DVD's but they are smart TV's so you can log in with your LOVEFILM account if you are a member (or sign up for a free trial I suppose if you are not). There is also free WIFI in all of the rooms. The Tea and Coffee making facilities are superb, and if you run out of anything they quickly replace them if you ask. A great plus for us was being able to control the aircon, something that a lot of hotels lack.

The hotel is centrally located so there is a little bit of noise but only what you expect staying in any city.

We didn't eat at the Restaurant as we are vegetarians so I couldn't really comment on that ha ha

Room Tip: The Hotel were very helpful when booking. I emailed them which room I wanted from the photos and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michele c, Front Office Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for the kind words. We are, of course, delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us this time as you did last time. Even I often forget the apps available on the SmartTV so I think I'll have to make more of an effort to remind guests of that little added extra.

When you're planning to visit again don't hesitate to email once more, and we'll even see if we can get Loch Shiel for you again.

Kind Regards,

All at Twelve Picardy Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This boutique hotel was just perfect, the room was quite unique with a state of the arc shower room. At the end of the bed a 40 inch flat screen 3d TV. The staff were brilliant, the customer service second to none. The whole feel was very relaxed, no worries if you were a little late checking out a little late or down slightly late for breakfast. If you had any problems they were sorted straight away. The cocktail bar super, and a cosy room with an open fire to have a drink in.If you want to eat a restaurant attached to it and the hotel offer a £10 off voucher to all guests. Location also very central for all the sights Edinburgh has to offer.
Yes would go again!

Room Tip: At the back 'Loch Ness' room very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michele c, Front Office Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Heather,

We are delighted, of course, to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

The £10 voucher is a limited offer with Secret Escapes, but we certainly always offer some incentives to encourage hotel guests to dine in our celebrated STEAK Restaurant.

When looking to return to Edinburgh, do feel free to email us at reception@twelveandsteak.com and we will always do our best to offer returning guests the best rates, and their favourite room too.

Kind Regards,

All at Twelve Picardy Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights just after New Year in the Loch Shiel grand master suite. We were excited to see whether the hotel would live up to its online photos and reviews, and we were very happy to find that it did.

The suite was absolutely stunning. The bathroom was perfect with a large double ended bath and wet room-esque rainfall shower. The working fire in the bedroom was a lovely cosy touch which we lit after returning from dinner. There was also a fancy 3D TV at the end of the bed which could come in handy in the unpredictable Scottish weather! However there was a charge of £4 a day for DVD rentals which we thought slightly unreasonable.

The hotel bar was intimate and stylish. Adding to it's charm was the lady working behind the bar who was very personable and served a lovely whiskey sour. We did not eat in the adjoining STEAK restaurant but we definitely would if we return to Edinburgh as both the decor and the menu looked very attractive.

There were only two negatives from our stay. Firstly, there is no parking facilities associated with the hotel so we ended up paying £17 a night in the NCP opposite. Although this is understandable when staying somewhere so central, we would have preferred to have expected the cost. Secondly, also as a result of being central in a city, it was quite loud at night. While this did not bother us, I can understand that it may affect a more sensitive guest.

Overall I would highly recommend the hotel and particularly, if possible, to stay in the gorgeous room we did. The central location was ideal for exploring the city, that's if you can tear yourself away from the beautiful high ceilings, sophisticated furnishings and very comfortable bed!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michele c, Front Office Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi there,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Twelve Picardy Place. And Loch Shiel really is a gorgeous room, isn't it?

Unfortunately, as we are only a 10-bedroom boutique hotel we have no relationship with NCP and no way to validate parking for our guests, which is a great pity. Parking spaces throughout the city centre are always at a premium and we always do our best to inform guests of the situation if enquiries are made.

The movies we have available are only a small selection, and at a premium price point, but the TVs also have main menus with apps for Netflix and a number of other services, allowing our guests to provide their own selection of viewing favourites at no extra cost.

We're also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the bar service, and we hope that you do dine in STEAK the next time you visit. In fact, please contact us directly on any future trips to Edinburgh and we will see what best rates/rooms we can offer you for any prospective dates.

Kind Regards,

All at Twelve Picardy Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel has heaps of character, is in a great location for sightseeing and has some charming staff. Our Suite room was comfy and warm - great for hiding away from the harsh wintry weather. I would have been quite happy to just stay in the room all day had we not had loads of sightseeing to do in Edinburgh!

Best points:

Layout of the rooms: there is so much attention to detail with the light placement, TV, dressing table etc. I’ve stayed in so many hotels where the plug socket is nowhere near the mirror, or there is no seat by the mirror etc. Small things, yes, but it makes a big difference when they’re all in the right place.

The photo murals of Scotland’s Lochs on the bedroom walls: These are so original and make the rooms look fantastic.

Bathroom: Spacious and immaculately clean. Ours had a huge walk-in rain shower – lush!

STEAK restaurant: Again, very stylish with low lighting and cool music. The food was AMAZING, it was reasonably priced and the staff were very attentive.

Other great points: 3D TV in the room with glasses, very comfortable bed, trendy bar and lovely tranquil sitting room.

Negatives:

Not really a negative but I would have appreciated a safety deposit box in our bedroom.

On the Saturday night of our stay, it was very noisy outside from the pub next door. Not really the hotel’s fault but worth pointing out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michele c, Front Office Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi there,

We are delighted that you have taken the time to review Twelve Picardy Place after experiencing the many delights of Christmas and Hogmanay in Edinburgh, which is an especially busy time of year for everyone.

We will take on board the fact that some guests do like, and value, a safety deposit box in each room, and it's certainly something we may consider adding in the future.

Thanks again for the kind words, and we hope to see you back here with us one day.

Kind Regards,

All at Twelve Picardy Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend between Christmas & New Year.

We booked through laterooms, and there was no problem with check in & reservation.

Location is fantastic, with only a short walk into the centre of the city.

We were up on the top floor, which may be an issue for some people with limited ability as there is no lift, however both myself and my girlfriend were more than happy for me to carry the bags up the stairs.

The room (Loch Rannoch) was beautifully presented, with large screen TV, VERY comfy king size bed, and a lovely bathroom. This certainly helped after spending the whole day sight-seeing around the city, and provided a lovely nights sleep.

Complimentary water and tea making facilities were nice, the only niggle I would like to see improved is a better ironing board (the ones provided are small table top items)

We did eat in one evening at the STEAK restaurant, which was fantastic also.

Staff at the hotel couldn't be friendlier, and were on hand to answer questions and book taxis when needed.

I will definitely return to this hotel when I visit the city again.

Thanks to everyone at Twelve.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are prone to both road noise and late night noise from revellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michele c, Front Office Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi there,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Twelve Picardy Place. We DO have a standard, large ironing board available, and I am sorry to say that it is often something that I forget to mention to people here for some special nights out, but the smaller boards allow for one in each room without taking up too much space.

Whenever you're looking to return to us please do email us directly at reception@twelveandsteak.com and we will always do our utmost to provide the best rates/room available for returning guests.

Kind Regards,

All at Twelve Picardy Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had booked tickets for the Lion King for my wife's 40th birthday and booked 12 Picardy Place due to its location and the good reviews. It was also our wedding anniversary. When we arrived to check in we were told there was no booking for us. You can imagine our disappointment when we were told this. They apologised and told us to wait in the lounge while they tried to sort things out. They eventually got us a room next door at the holiday inn express (a downgrade) which we reluctantly had to accept due to time restrictions. Once we got there we were horrified to find that it was a smoking room and the room stunk of smoke (please note this was no fault of the holiday inn) So please note even if you have confirmation e-mails from laterooms who we booked it through and 12 Picardy Place saying there was a reservation for us
you are not guaranteed a room. This was all down to 12 Picardy Place cancelling our reservation. AVOID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michele c, Front Office Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Hi there,

It is extremely unfortunate, of course, that this rare error occurred. The confusion stemmed from the initial cancellation of the booking (through e-bookers, I believe) before you then rebooked through Laterooms, and that led, in turn, to the new booking also being cancelled by mistake when paperwork was being processed.

I shall reiterate the sentiments expressed in our email correspondence a couple of weeks ago.

In an ideal world, this would never have happened, but we like to think that in this rarest of instances we did the best that we could by paying for your alternative accommodation, offering complimentary drinks and a meal, and also offering the chance to return later on in the evening with your friends for complimentary drinks.

I'm sorry that you didn't think those attempts to in some way compensate for the inconvenience were good enough, but I can assure you that the main aim was to turn the situation around and help you to enjoy the rest of your time in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards,

All at Twelve Picardy Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twelve Picardy Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve Picardy Place

Address: 12 Picardy Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Calton Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twelve Picardy Place 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twelve Picardy Place Hotel is an oasis of comfort, style and sophistication in the heart of Edinburgh City Centre. Centrally located in a Georgian townhouse, it is one of the most innovative venues that can be found in the Scottish Capital and an extravagant playpen for the most discerning of guests. A celebration of edgy Scottish glamour and individuality, Twelve Picardy Place is small boutique hotel with a big personality. From the modern urbanite cocktail bar and wine vault. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Twelve Picardy Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelve Picardy Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelve Picardy Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.