We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb meal, but a bit pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaophraya Edinburgh

Chaophraya Edinburgh
4th Floor, 33 Castle Street, Edinburgh, Scotland
+44 131 226 7614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 1,898 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Showcasing a rooftop restaurant with stunning views of the landmarks of Scotland's capital city, Chaophraya Edinburgh brings flavour to George Street. Presenting a fusion of delicious authentic Thai cuisine, luxurious surroundings and sensational drinks menu is the ideal place to impress your guests.
Tayport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb meal, but a bit pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This recent addition to Edinburghs restaurant scene, is definitely a big plus. We arrived early on a Saturday evening without a reservation, they were able to give us a table, letting us know it would be required in an hour and a half. We sat in a part of the restaurant with superb views of the castle and the hills behind. The outside balcony allows people to walk around and take photos.
The quality of the ingredients are second to none, the choices on the menu were varied enough for any palate and the servings were generous. Although we had a time limit, we did not feel remotely rushed, the staff are polite and unobtrusive, but quietly efficient.
We will definitely be back, this time with a reservation. The prices are a little more than some Thai restaurants, but for the quality, the views and the ambience in a capital city restaurant, it well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    156
    80
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great place!

Went for a friends surprise birthday party. The service was excellent from when I was booking the table to the actual evening. Service and food faultless and the location speaks for itself - can't wait for my next visit!

Excellent value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Superb atmosphere and just wonderful tasting food. Sit back drink and enjoy your food. Great night out. Remember to book though. Very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Amazing food, view and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went there for our 5 month traveling anniversary on Sunday, we got the best seat in the house with a view of Edinburgh Castle and the snow peaked Pentland Hills. The food was amazing, the presentation is 5 star. The service was very friendly and professional.
Great restaurant, highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent addition to Edinburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

First class attentive staff made our experience extremely enjoyable. We hardly had to ask for anything as the staff were so attentive and seemed to predict our every need. Great choice on menu and food was fresh and flavoursome. Will return again and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Chaophraya Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaophraya Edinburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.