We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Overseas League

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Overseas League
100 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 3AB, Scotland
0131 225 1501
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,028 of 1,901 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Excellent food, attentive service. Booked re a kgbdeals special offer so was definitely value for money. Very quiet so atmosphere a little lacking, but great view to compensate.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“In hotel restaurant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent food, well prepared! The choices for breakfast were especially appreciated before a long day of sight seeing!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Decided that I wanted to do afternoon tea as part of my hen party found lots of places that seemed nice but 20 to 25 pounds for afternoon tea wasn't what I was looking for so went on 5pm.co.uk and found this for 10.95 per person. Wasn't expecting something amazing but have to say it was the best afternoon tea so nice relaxed and staff were great. A bonus it looks straight onto Edinburgh Castle

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1st class food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I liked everything from breakfadst lunch thru to dinner great service and great menu choice they r very accommodating to dietry needs

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went for lunch with my girlfriends, only 2 other tables were in and we waited 30min for a menu then we had to get up and get it ourselves - service was very slow and if we needed anything we had to get up and get it ourselves as the staff were non existent or oblivious. Out of the 3 lunch menu choices one was not available which was not inspiring at all. Wouldn't recommend and won't return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Overseas League also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Royal Overseas League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Overseas League, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.